R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2005, 03:55 PM   #166
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default What about just the escs?

Are they shipping last?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 03:57 PM   #167
Tech Regular
 
Bob Nilsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey Steve,

Would you happen to know if the GTB has a sportsman mode? Charlie no answer...
Bob Nilsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 04:42 PM   #168
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Sorry about that. The manual will be online soon. I think that's why the download section was "offline" this afternoon. I know we've been trying to get it done and posted lately. Sorry for the delay.

Thanks
Charlie
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 04:50 PM   #169
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Charlie,

Any chance you can send me your paypal account so I can buy it direct from you.

Being the thread starter should count for something
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 05:38 PM   #170
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Oh, Yeah, Sure thing. Let me get that for you........
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 06:28 PM   #171
Tech Regular
 
Bob Nilsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Nilsen
Hey Steve,

Would you happen to know if the GTB has a sportsman mode? Charlie no answer...
Actually, I called Novak today and talked with Charlie... hell of a nice guy, answered all my questions. Thanks!

B
Bob Nilsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 10:38 PM   #172
Tech Addict
 
ffactory666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Melbourne , Australia
Posts: 747
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Nilsen
Actually, I called Novak today and talked with Charlie... hell of a nice guy, answered all my questions. Thanks!

B

So does it have a sportsman mode or some way of controlling the power output.
Iv'e pre ordered mine from Tower as well so it doesn't matter either way but i'd like to know about the sportsman mode
ffactory666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2005, 11:09 PM   #173
Tech Regular
 
Bob Nilsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Charlie explained that the GTB will not have a sportsman mode.

He said that on the SS and SS+ it was pretty much just a rev-limiter, and so when the rev-limiter kicked it it caused the car to cut power to the motor in an unappealing way.

He said that it wasn't a feature that was in very high demand, and that using a hot motor with the sportsman mode wasn't very efficient so the run time was unnaturally short.

He recommended that a better solution was to use a lesser motor... something similar to the novak SS4300. He said the 4300 was still more powerful than a stock brushed motor, but it'd be closer.... perhaps close enough to have it be allowed for stock racing at some tracks.
Bob Nilsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 09:21 AM   #174
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Just ordered and paid mine from tower. Pretty cheap as you get $25.00 off with their special offer. Can't wait.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 09:52 AM   #175
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

I am more interested in its programmable BRUSHED capabilities. I hope someone can give some feedback on how good of a brushed ESC it is. All the added weight and clutter of 5- 14 gauge wires instead of 3 and a schottky diode is gonna suck-but if its faster!!!
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 02:55 PM   #176
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Midwest
Posts: 122
Default

Anyone run the new system yet?
Davenport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 07:03 PM   #177
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Danjoy did they confirm your GTB was shipping?

I ordered mine on the 29th of last month and it is still showing on backorder even though they have been saying in stock in limited quantities for 3 days.
Marman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 07:38 PM   #178
Tech Regular
 
tr1kstanc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 357
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

tower made an error with the backorders. you have to call in and reorder it because they use 2 warehouses to ship orders and apparently backorders went to the wrong warehouse. i called in earlier today and they fixed my order and shipped it asap. last i spoke there were ~15 units left in the nevada warehouse.
tr1kstanc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 11:31 PM   #179
Tech Master
 
Team Duratrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Posts: 1,674
Send a message via MSN to Team Duratrax
Default

I couldn't be bothered to search for the specs again so could someone tell me if this system is brushed capable.

Sean
Team Duratrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2005, 11:32 PM   #180
Suspended
 
GordonFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reality
Posts: 1,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes. But I can't imagine it would be better than the GTX for brushed. Saying it can run brushed (which it can) is just marketing hype. The ability to run brushed is a simple software change. Plus, whos gonna try to solder three wires together to one side of a motor?

http://www.teamnovak.com/products/br...tem/index.html
__________________
We are the borg, you will conform, you will be assimilated. You will not stalk me to another web site.
GordonFreeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novak GTB 4-cell Brusless Speed Controller Greg Amendola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-16-2008 12:59 PM
WTB: ASSOCIATED B44 W/ BRUSLESS SYSTEM levi m R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-15-2008 05:27 PM
brusless esc , maybe system jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 11-18-2007 05:30 PM
Novak XBR Brusless/Brushed ESC Delyt R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 11-15-2007 09:44 AM
Novak 4.5 Brusless System Speedo/4.5 Motor w/Sintered installed mike ivy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 10-25-2006 06:57 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net