Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Novak Brusless System >

New Novak Brusless System

New Novak Brusless System

Old 11-22-2006, 06:23 AM
  #1651  
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,337
Default

I always wondered why there was no cooling vents on brushless... I assume there is a reason. Wontdirt mess up how it works? like on a brushed motor there are two surface contacting so dirt will be thrown off even if it gets on the brushess.

Now im no expert on how brushless works but if there is a layer of crap between the two surfaces that create the magnetic field etc wont it effect performance? I could be talking a load of bull but there must be a reason for not having vents.
pheyhoe is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 03:32 PM
  #1652  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
AngryAsian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

WOw!!... vents... mesh!!, caps?!!

That's something different. What's that off? Who's car is it?
AngryAsian is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 04:23 PM
  #1653  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (239)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 33,124
Trader Rating: 239 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AngryAsian
WOw!!... vents... mesh!!, caps?!!

That's something different. What's that off? Who's car is it?
its on a Cyclone atleast!
Marcos.J is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 11:56 PM
  #1654  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Deves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Ok guys just had to post again.
I geared up 7 teeth on the pinion from 23 to 30 and down 6 teeth on the spur from a 96 to a 90 this is on an Xray T1fk and now I can say...This thing rips!!! Lots of low end torque and great speed!!!! can't wait for the next race!!!!
Deves is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 12:10 AM
  #1655  
Tech Master
 
HB Moose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Surf City, USA
Posts: 1,087
Default

Originally Posted by Deves
Ok guys just had to post again.
I geared up 7 teeth on the pinion from 23 to 30 and down 6 teeth on the spur from a 96 to a 90 this is on an Xray T1fk and now I can say...This thing rips!!! Lots of low end torque and great speed!!!! can't wait for the next race!!!!
Ok, Mark so whats that make the roll out? A few of us have been running the 13.5 at SoCal. The more we get the sooner we take over Stock.
HB Moose is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 12:15 AM
  #1656  
Tech Fanatic
 
Nexus Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 848
Default

There are already some capacitors underneath the plastic cap that covers the back endbell. I have seen someone knock one of those capacitors off and replace it with a standard motor cap, but I'm not sure why any additional capacitors would be needed . Maybe this racer just accidentally knocked his original caps off when he took the motor apart to cut the vent holes?
Nexus Racing is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 12:21 AM
  #1657  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Deves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Moose, How you doing?
I don't calculate the rollout. I see your still running at So cal.... When you gonna come out and play in the parking lot?
Deves is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:43 AM
  #1658  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Hi All,

I am new to brushless, and am going to purchase a brushless system soon.

can you perhaps tell me what the different systems to compare to certain wind brushed motors?

Like a 3.5 compares to what brushed?
4.5 compares to what brushed?
5.5 compares to what brushed?
6.5 compares to what brushed?

Also what rollout would one use on the relevant brushless motors ?

Thanks
MoonTrap is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:57 AM
  #1659  
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,337
Default

I am running the 3.5 indoor on carpet on a medium size track on 11.5.

Turned up full its about the same as a 6 turn. with LIPO its even faster
pheyhoe is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:24 PM
  #1660  
Tech Adept
 
BlueR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Hi qestion to novak...

I hard-wire the battery wire to my battery.

if we turn off the ESC by the switch, unsolder off battery wire, there will be still some residual charge left in the capacitor.

if the wires were to touch, with some charge left in the cap, it would short, would it do damage to the ESC?

i sure this has been tested?

I always make it a habbit of turing the switch on then off after i have removed the battery wires, is this necessary?

thanks

Last edited by BlueR1; 11-23-2006 at 01:41 PM.
BlueR1 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 01:45 PM
  #1661  
Tech Adept
 
BlueR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Originally Posted by MoonTrap
Like a 3.5 compares to what brushed?
4.5 compares to what brushed?
5.5 compares to what brushed?
6.5 compares to what brushed?
rough rule....

double it minus 1....


so 3.5 = 6 to 7 turn
4.5r = 8 to 9
.

6.5 turn = 12 to 13 turn
.
.
13.5 turn = 26 to 27 turn


gearing is shown in the manual. u can download off novaks website.
BlueR1 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 03:45 PM
  #1662  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,294
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Deves
Moose, How you doing?
I don't calculate the rollout. I see your still running at So cal.... When you gonna come out and play in the parking lot?
May I ask rubber or foam...? Not calulation the roll out probably only works on brushelss stock motor....if running something like 3.5.....that will be a thermal for sure.

Anyhow, I think I really need to gear up SKY HIGH to get close to those brush motor.
Solara is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 03:48 PM
  #1663  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Chicago Illinois USA
Posts: 9,294
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BlueR1
Hi qestion to novak...

I hard-wire the battery wire to my battery.

if we turn off the ESC by the switch, unsolder off battery wire, there will be still some residual charge left in the capacitor.

if the wires were to touch, with some charge left in the cap, it would short, would it do damage to the ESC?

i sure this has been tested?

I always make it a habbit of turing the switch on then off after i have removed the battery wires, is this necessary?

thanks
I was told by Charlie @ Novak and several experrence drive that use GTB....the spark is absolutely normal ( I too were new about that when that happened to me)....that spark tells me the GTB capacity it take charge and working normal, however, if I don't see the spark while soldering the batteries, that is the time to replace the cap.....that was what I was told.
Solara is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 04:24 PM
  #1664  
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,337
Default

Originally Posted by BlueR1
rough rule....

double it minus 1....


so 3.5 = 6 to 7 turn
4.5r = 8 to 9
.

6.5 turn = 12 to 13 turn
.
.
13.5 turn = 26 to 27 turn


gearing is shown in the manual. u can download off novaks website.
I found the recommended ratio from Novak was a little too low. Also the higher you gear the faster these beasts go
pheyhoe is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 06:40 PM
  #1665  
Tech Adept
 
BlueR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Default

Originally Posted by Solara
I was told by Charlie @ Novak and several experrence drive that use GTB....the spark is absolutely normal ( I too were new about that when that happened to me)....that spark tells me the GTB capacity it take charge and working normal, however, if I don't see the spark while soldering the batteries, that is the time to replace the cap.....that was what I was told.

i meant when u do this..

after the run. turn the swith to off position

un-solder the wires.

now there is still charge in the capacitor.

Now if the -ve and +ve ESC wires were now to touch, it would SHORT the residual charge thats in the capacitor.

was wondering if this millisecond short would cause problems? maybe thats why a few of them have problems?
BlueR1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.