R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-24-2013, 11:23 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,992
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default droop measurement question.

I know the Hudy setup uses a block under the chassis and measures arm height above chassis height by my question is this. Ride height will affect droop but cannot be measured using the droop gauges in this fashion. IE., you measure your droop at 6 on the gauge but you've got your collar way up on the shock for a low ride height which causes the car to have much more droop than it'd have if the collar was way down the shock body for a higher ride height. How do you measure droop and compensate for this using a HUDY gauge? Using a ride height gauge and lifting the car w/ tires on it will quantify this measurement but the Hudy gauge can't can it?
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 11:50 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TT_Vert View Post
I know the Hudy setup uses a block under the chassis and measures arm height above chassis height by my question is this. Ride height will affect droop but cannot be measured using the droop gauges in this fashion. IE., you measure your droop at 6 on the gauge but you've got your collar way up on the shock for a low ride height which causes the car to have much more droop than it'd have if the collar was way down the shock body for a higher ride height. How do you measure droop and compensate for this using a HUDY gauge? Using a ride height gauge and lifting the car w/ tires on it will quantify this measurement but the Hudy gauge can't can it?
No, it can't.

But you do know that if your ride height is, say, 1mm higher than normal, the droop block needs to give a reading 1mm less than usual to give the same actual droop.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 12:28 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,992
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

I guess my quesiton when I see people listing ride height using the hudy gauge that means nothing unless you know their ride height also correct?? IE, the xray manual says 6f//5r droop but that is only at the 5.2/5 mm ride heights they specify then correct?
If i were to go to a ride height of 5.7/5.5 I'd need the droop gauge to read 5.5/4.5 If I'm understanding this correctly.
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 12:33 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TT_Vert View Post
I guess my quesiton when I see people listing ride height using the hudy gauge that means nothing unless you know their ride height also correct?? IE, the xray manual says 6f//5r droop but that is only at the 5.2/5 mm ride heights they specify then correct?
If i were to go to a ride height of 5.7/5.5 I'd need the droop gauge to read 5.5/4.5 If I'm understanding this correctly.
It also assumes your wheel size is identical. Change the ride height, tire/wheel size and your droop amount changes for a given downstop measurement (which is what the guages are actually measuring).
cgroves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 12:38 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TT_Vert View Post
I guess my quesiton when I see people listing ride height using the hudy gauge that means nothing unless you know their ride height also correct?? IE, the xray manual says 6f//5r droop but that is only at the 5.2/5 mm ride heights they specify then correct?
If i were to go to a ride height of 5.7/5.5 I'd need the droop gauge to read 5.5/4.5 If I'm understanding this correctly.
You're correct. You would need to know the droop gauge reading, the ride height, and wheel size in order to replicate the setting. This is why people frequently specify droop relative to ride height. ie. 2mm "over ride height", or "uptravel"
__________________
Team Serpent
Steve S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 12:47 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I always measure the uptravel. It's the simplest way to do so.
__________________
Xray | Airtronics | R1Wurks LiPo | Hobbywing
hyujmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 12:53 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
C&B RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Here's an alterative method: I find this give a very accurate measurement.

http://www.tamiyausa.com/articles/fe...article-id=413

I have used droop blocks as well as the up travel method. The thing about droop and setup sheets ( plus what has been mentioned previously) is it's all depends on the point of reference, difference in uprights (f/r), etc all relate to the readings.
Jun's method keys off the important points: wheel diameter & ride height
__________________
It's all fun & games til the flying monkeys show up!
C&B RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 12:53 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,992
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys I think I'll continue to measure w/ mm above ride height for droop. Seems there are too many variables to consider when trying to compare. I don't even know what the xray t4 manual is using for tire diameter when they specifiy a starting droop.

Dave
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 01:20 PM   #9
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, don't confuse measuring droop, with measuring your downstops. They are related, but not the same thing.

I personally never measure my downstops, as it doesn't appear to be relevant to anything the car is going to be doing, once loaded and sitting on the table. You still have to set ride height, and your actual droop afterwards anyway. I measure RH with a RH gauge, and droop with a metric ruler. I fine tune my left and right sides by looking at the car at eye level, and slowly picking the car up and seeing which tire leaves the ground first. .. .make them the same, then measure the total amount of up-travel before the tires leave the ground (which is your droop).... then increase or decrease equally on both sides as you desire. Piece of cake.

Don't forget, check/reset BOTH your ride height and droop, after changing tires too, as different sets can be different sizes.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 06:42 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Timbo99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Melbourne AUSTRALIA
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Timbo99 Send a message via AIM to Timbo99 Send a message via MSN to Timbo99 Send a message via Skype™ to Timbo99
Default Yes it can.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
No, it can't.

But you do know that if your ride height is, say, 1mm higher than normal, the droop block needs to give a reading 1mm less than usual to give the same actual droop.
The HUDY gauge is stepped to allow for the blocks under the car,so yes it can.
But I measure droop either with a ruler or a Yeah Racing droop gauge running directly off the chassis.
All you need is the YRacing tool,1.5 mm tool,and you pick up the car and wander around to buy your long awaited hot dog,whilst adjusting droop!
Tim
__________________
Serpent ERYX/S411 Le#189,#024,TE/Airtronics/MuchMore FLETA 4/Ryan Dezign-
"The finest RC paintwork in Australia"/LEESPEED/Ame T-Shox/THiNK Carbon.
"If at first you don't succeed,.....tell'em it's the "Beta" 1.0 version"
Timbo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:56 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

Seems that mm above ride height the most accurate but i still double check with my hudy blocks just to make sure the setting is even L/R.
Some tires can be deformed as well so id only reallu trust orh on new tires and compare it to downstop numbers.

But i still noob. Many different ways to arrive at the same thing. One thing i like about he hobby
__________________
My stuff
| Team Associated - Reedy - Reflex Racing/RSD - ProAMPS RC |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/ - www.teamassociated.com
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 04:16 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,992
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

what is generally acceptable droop as a starting point using over ride height? I started at 2mm over ride height but I think I ended up at 2f/3r over ride height to help w/ off power steering.

Dave
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 02:07 AM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 170
Default

Below are some posts I made a number of years ago on measuring droop that may be of use:


http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-ro...ml#post4736209

http://www.rctech.net/forum/8487552-post21.html
calvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 09:04 AM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 49
Default

[QUOTE=calvin;12193647]Below are some posts I made a number of years ago on measuring droop that may be of use:




well I guess you learn something every day, it would seem I have been doing it wrong for years, no wonder the car doesn't handle well.
nmsraider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 10:22 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
TT_Vert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Streamwood, IL.
Posts: 3,992
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Default

ttt
TT_Vert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net