R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2005, 08:55 AM   #901
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 472
Default

[QUOTE=TamBoy]Just see this discharge / equalize tray from Team Wave. Looks like it can help take down the voltage to .9V and hold it there :

TamBoy, thanks for the heads up on the dis/eq tray.

Hyper1, did i IMPLY anything about trust, Stop you loquaciousness if you don't have anything positive in your mind.
Ramyuras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 09:28 AM   #902
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Sorry if it's been asked B4 but,,,,,

What cut off are you guys using for the Pulsar 2?? I know it goes per the whole pack.

Thanks,
KE
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 11:07 AM   #903
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannabee
Sorry if it's been asked B4 but,,,,,

What cut off are you guys using for the Pulsar 2?? I know it goes per the whole pack.

Thanks,
KE
Use 20mv for the entire pack.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 11:09 AM   #904
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramyuras
For the first time i cycle my packs, i never cycle my packs i just get the best numbers i can put it together and race, now for the first time i did and to find out that the numbers do not match, not even close, on the three packs i cycle the first pack runtime said 486 and after the cycle came back with 423 which to me is off, the second pack said 478 and came back with 420, and the third pack said 476 came back with 408, now this is how i set my turbo up charge at 6amp discharge at 30amp with 3.60 cutoff, these packs were 4cells with one cycle, now can someone tell me why such a big difference.

How did you setup your T-35 ?

Was there any airflow on the pack while it was charging ?

You used the packs only once ? How did you treat them after that first time you ran them ?
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 11:12 AM   #905
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC
Use 20mv for the entire pack.

Thank you danny!

KE
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 12:09 AM   #906
Tech Champion
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

I believe when a pack is assembled the solder joints cause a large resistance which can reduce runtime substantially. Correct me if I am wrong
cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 12:28 AM   #907
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cannon
I believe when a pack is assembled the solder joints cause a large resistance which can reduce runtime substantially. Correct me if I am wrong
This all depends on how good at soldering you are. I have seen batteries with cold solder joints between the cells and the bars and others with 1mm thick solder bridges between the cell and the battery bar thats NOT good!

If you use a nice hot 40W iron with a clean (non-oxidized tip), Quality solder, decent battery bars and you solder properly you could build a pack and have almost no increase in resistance at all.

You could also buy Fusion Batteries' assembled packs and have all of this done for you.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 06:54 AM   #908
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 472
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC
How did you setup your T-35 ?

Was there any airflow on the pack while it was charging ?

You used the packs only once ? How did you treat them after that first time you ran them ?
My setup was charge at 6amp peak at .02, discharge at 30amp and cycle 1,
before i cycle i put in the Novak tray and bring each cell to .06, the packs i ran about 2 time before i cycle, thank you.
Ramyuras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 07:06 AM   #909
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I've been racing for years and have been around a ton of batts. but for some reason I can't get my 3800's figured out.

Why is half my pack getting up to 160-170* and the other half 130*, I've checked all solder joints etc.

I have other packs that charge perfect...

Thanks in advance!!


KE
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 08:48 AM   #910
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramyuras
My setup was charge at 6amp peak at .02, discharge at 30amp and cycle 1,
before i cycle i put in the Novak tray and bring each cell to .06, the packs i ran about 2 time before i cycle, thank you.

How much time are the packs taking to charge in seconds when your cycling them ? It should be around 2500 seconds.

When you raced them what did you do after you run them ?
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 08:51 AM   #911
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannabee
I've been racing for years and have been around a ton of batts. but for some reason I can't get my 3800's figured out.

Why is half my pack getting up to 160-170* and the other half 130*, I've checked all solder joints etc.

I have other packs that charge perfect...

Thanks in advance!!


KE

First time I have heard of this. Do you own a discharge tray that has lights for each cell in the pack ? If so after your pack has been discharged down to .90 per cell place it on the tray and see what the lights do. You may have something wrong with some cells.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 09:03 AM   #912
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC
First time I have heard of this. Do you own a discharge tray that has lights for each cell in the pack ? If so after your pack has been discharged down to .90 per cell place it on the tray and see what the lights do. You may have something wrong with some cells.
When I put them in my Zero30 the lights are a bit diffrent, i.e some brighter than others. The pack ran fine after charging that way???

Thanks for the reply!

KE
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 09:09 AM   #913
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Make sure your pack is soldered correctly. If there is bad solder joint this will creat extra heat. We see this with the TM4s when a contact gets messed up it creats extra heat.

If all looks good then i'm out of ideas.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 09:30 AM   #914
Tech Elite
 
wannabee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: RUBBERNECK RACING Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 2,484
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC
Make sure your pack is soldered correctly. If there is bad solder joint this will creat extra heat. We see this with the TM4s when a contact gets messed up it creats extra heat.

If all looks good then i'm out of ideas.
I'm gonna go thru them and re-check the joints...

Thanks A LOT for the HELP...

Kevin
wannabee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2005, 11:09 AM   #915
Tech Regular
 
rinkrat99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to rinkrat99
Default

Was looking at purchasing some new packs from PMR but I am having a hard time deciding on which cells to buy.

I have not ventured away from GP3300's yet

In general I am running Stock TC.

As far as I can tell there are four players right now; GP3300, GP3700, IB3600 and IB3800

GP is well known tried and true but I am concerned that IB is not going to hold up in the long run. For example, I last bought packs about 1 yr ago and have probably 50+ runs on the TC packs now. They still are good but not up to the voltage needs anymore.

IB3800 have a lot of information that state these cells are finiky on care. Are IB3600 the same way?

Can anyone point to specific information for IB3600's?

Thanks
rinkrat99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intellect 3800 LIPO vazzo Australian Racing 5 06-18-2008 12:59 AM
***SMC, Integy, Intellect, 3800-4200 battery sale*** RYAN BARNES R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-27-2007 12:05 PM
Intellect 3800 Battery Packs acsubie R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 02-15-2007 10:09 PM
FS: 4 Matched Intellect 3800 Battery Packs WogBoy Australia For Sale/Trade 5 09-24-2006 05:37 PM
LRP Pulsar 1 setting for Intellect Battery 3600, 3800 and 4200 rcmnx Electric On-Road 12 01-27-2006 05:05 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net