R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-14-2005, 06:27 PM   #796
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCknight
but they are not lasting like the old GPs?

I have bought all my SMC IB3800's from Kinetix. The packs are all matched and are some of the best numbers you'll find on SMC. You can acutally request the numbers you want, if they don't have them, they email you when they are available.

I have been running the IB cells exclusively this year. So far I have not encountered any problems like loss of runtime or voltage...just as stable as any other cell I have ever run.

I cannot comment on how they are against the GP3700 cells as i have never run the GP's, but some guys at my local tracks have switched from GP's to the IB's and they say they are not looking back.

I wouldn't worry about buying from Kinetix or buying IB's.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 06:31 PM   #797
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default Orion IB3800's

I just received my RC Car Action Mag today and saw on the cover a picture of some Team Orion matched IB3800's cells.

Inside the mag, there was also the same picture and a brief description...something along the lines of "if you want the best and latest technology in batteries..." I am wondering if that quote came from Team Orion?
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 09:40 PM   #798
Tech Master
 
Mr-s413bt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,731
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Heya GUys.

Whats the best way to store IB cells?? I have just given my new packs a cycle and they are pretty impressive compared to my 3700's.

Should i stick 300-500 seconds charge in them?? They are coming off the T35 discharged to 5.4v.


Glenn
Mr-s413bt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 10:53 PM   #799
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-s413bt
Heya GUys.

Whats the best way to store IB cells?? I have just given my new packs a cycle and they are pretty impressive compared to my 3700's.

Should i stick 300-500 seconds charge in them?? They are coming off the T35 discharged to 5.4v.


Glenn
glen, depends on how long you want to store them. i just leave them .9v per cell for next weeks race.
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 09:27 AM   #800
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

danny/smc, do you reccomend the dyna pulse discharger for the IB cells? Takes freakin long time to discharge a pack, is it worth the time? Thanks!

racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 10:05 AM   #801
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have not used this device so I can't really say much about it.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 10:59 AM   #802
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Jose
Posts: 20
Default Batter management Systems

Whats the difference between the Spintex and Trinitydyba pulsa managment systems. Is one better than the other, are are teay basically the same thing. I think the spintec has a 35 amp discharge option but not sure about the trinity model.
ravex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 11:19 AM   #803
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

dyna pulse can do both 4 and 6 cells and DC at 30 amps.
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 11:35 AM   #804
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

30 amp discharge, but due to the pulse deal it takes 3 hours to discharge a pack after your run, not enough time in the day to wait if you are running like 6 packs a day. trying to figure out if it helps or not?
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 11:39 AM   #805
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer-oZ
30 amp discharge, but due to the pulse deal it takes 3 hours to discharge a pack after your run, not enough time in the day to wait if you are running like 6 packs a day. trying to figure out if it helps or not?
I think really there are really only two chargers on the market that are worth spending your money on,the GFX and the Futaba,other than those two your wasting your money and time.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 11:40 AM   #806
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Jose
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer-oZ
30 amp discharge, but due to the pulse deal it takes 3 hours to discharge a pack after your run, not enough time in the day to wait if you are running like 6 packs a day. trying to figure out if it helps or not?

Damn, 3 hrs! Are they intended to be used only after the race to keep your packs conditioned... I guess using a tubo-35 or a 30amp discharger is good to use between races an the pluse discharge in between race weeks?
ravex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 12:03 PM   #807
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by racer-oZ
30 amp discharge, but due to the pulse deal it takes 3 hours to discharge a pack after your run, not enough time in the day to wait if you are running like 6 packs a day. trying to figure out if it helps or not?
I do not think the purpose of this item is to discharge your batteries from a complete charge.

It is to be used after a run. You remove the battery from the car after your run and them hook it up.

I remember reading about the Spintech unit. It actually says in the instructions NOT to hook up a battery with a full charge!

If you are hooking up a fully charged battery to the unit , you are not running the battery but just cycling. Batteries have only so many cycles before their performance starts to degrade. Don't waste a cycle playing woth equipment...run the battery.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 12:08 PM   #808
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,580
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Is there any reason you shouldn't put a fan on a pack when discharging it at high amps?
kcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 12:49 PM   #809
Tech Master
 
racer-oZ's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Wichita
Posts: 1,485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

koabich, i agree, i am putting the battery on after a 5 minute race and it takes 3 hours to discharge. the dynapulse does suggest to cycle a fully charged pack once in a while in the instructions, has something to do with knocking around some crystals in the cell or some scientific stuff like that.
racer-oZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 03:32 PM   #810
Tech Master
 
c-lyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

racer-oz, I've been using the Spintec BatMan for a few weeks and it's definitely inproving the performance of my old 3300s. Yes, after a run it takes about two hours to discharge so I do it at home after the race day.
c-lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intellect 3800 LIPO vazzo Australian Racing 5 06-18-2008 12:59 AM
***SMC, Integy, Intellect, 3800-4200 battery sale*** RYAN BARNES R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-27-2007 12:05 PM
Intellect 3800 Battery Packs acsubie R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 02-15-2007 10:09 PM
FS: 4 Matched Intellect 3800 Battery Packs WogBoy Australia For Sale/Trade 5 09-24-2006 05:37 PM
LRP Pulsar 1 setting for Intellect Battery 3600, 3800 and 4200 rcmnx Electric On-Road 12 01-27-2006 05:05 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:36 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net