R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2005, 01:11 PM   #781
Tech Adept
 
beerbarron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC
Your IBs are matched at 35 amps which means they are 473-482 at 30 amps. Hara uses Orion packs and Oscar maybe able to tell you why but Orion numbers aren't the same as what the US matchers produce. They have higher voltage and capacity numbers on the labels but they claim they use 30 amps. Two years ago I tested one of there packs and the runtime on a GFX was off by 40 seconds and the voltage by .015. Based from what we have seen GP3700 should be 435-460.
Just curios Danny, what is an average IB38 runtime that you are seeing now. I realize its really only important to a mod guy, but I am still curios.
beerbarron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 01:12 PM   #782
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,046
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

doesn't counter = reverse? Is it possible you both agree and are arguing over synonymous terminology?
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 03:46 PM   #783
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Anyone else get cells.....

cells from this place?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 03:54 PM   #784
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windsorguy99
doesn't counter = reverse? Is it possible you both agree and are arguing over synonymous terminology?
Probably right! LOL just never heard it called reverse,LOL
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 03:56 PM   #785
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beerbarron
Just curios Danny, what is an average IB38 runtime that you are seeing now. I realize its really only important to a mod guy, but I am still curios.

IB cells have a tight average voltage range but they have a bigger runtime range. 385-435 with the majority of the cells being 400-420.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 03:56 PM   #786
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

@rcknight
I have only bought his motors, (which rock too by the way) but the guy that owns the company (Ron Atomic) races at my local track from time to time. I have never heard anything but good things from the other guys at my track who use his batteries. Not to mention when he races he usually whips every one and he's still kind enough to help set up a newbies car. I guess what I am saying is he runs an honest company, and from everything I have heard he gives honest numbers. Besides, if he is reselling SMC packs you know the packs must be good to begin with. In fact I think the labels on the batteries he sells are still the SMC labels. You can see them on the pic in this link.

http://www.kinetixrc.com/catalog/pro...roducts_id=102
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 04:01 PM   #787
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCknight
cells from this place?

Kinetix RC is selling our matched packs. These are true and accurate 35 amp numbers.

I just built one of our packs with 414-1.196-1.9 specs and it cycles out 414-7.15-12.4 on my GFX with the room temp being 69 degrees.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 04:11 PM   #788
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper1
Probably right! LOL just never heard it called reverse,LOL
Where I read, it was reffered to as reverse(emf). Sorry if my lack of proper terminology precluded the understanding of what I was trying to get across.
PitCrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 11:38 PM   #789
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Jose
Posts: 20
Default GP 3300 Best Practices

Regarding gp3300's. is the best charge regement to discharge at 30amps down to 5.40. Then stick it on a Integy 0-30 tray right before your race? Also once you've finsihed a race, what is the best methods to take if you're going to re0use the same pack for an additional raceon the same day. Does it need to be disharged again back down to 5.40? Please advise.
ravex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2005, 11:50 PM   #790
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,236
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ravex
Then stick it on a Integy 0-30 tray right before your race?
More like "right before you charge".

Just read the SMC recommendations.
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 12:24 AM   #791
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Jose
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRX-S Bill
More like "right before you charge".

Just read the SMC recommendations.
Opps, Yeah i mean b4 charging. What about racing an additional race using the same pack? Do you need to fully discharge it b4 racing it again?
ravex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 02:22 AM   #792
Tech Elite
 
PitCrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Seattle Indoor Raceway
Posts: 2,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ravex
Opps, Yeah i mean b4 charging. What about racing an additional race using the same pack? Do you need to fully discharge it b4 racing it again?
If your going to run the same pack twice a day, let the pack rest as long as possible to cool off and 'normalize'.

Right after your first race, discharge the pack on lights, or whatever, then tray just before you charge again.

As long as the pack has reached room temp again, you should be fine. Try not to use a fan though.
PitCrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 05:16 AM   #793
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Kinetix 3800 "Race" packs

are these cells matched? No where does it say they are matched. Thanks.
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 11:19 AM   #794
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC
Kinetix RC is selling our matched packs. These are true and accurate 35 amp numbers.

I just built one of our packs with 414-1.196-1.9 specs and it cycles out 414-7.15-12.4 on my GFX with the room temp being 69 degrees.
Here is your answer! straight from the owners mouth.
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 06:11 PM   #795
Tech Elite
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,273
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Danny is it true the 3800s have/keep good numbers...

but they are not lasting like the old GPs?
RCknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intellect 3800 LIPO vazzo Australian Racing 5 06-18-2008 12:59 AM
***SMC, Integy, Intellect, 3800-4200 battery sale*** RYAN BARNES R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-27-2007 12:05 PM
Intellect 3800 Battery Packs acsubie R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 02-15-2007 10:09 PM
FS: 4 Matched Intellect 3800 Battery Packs WogBoy Australia For Sale/Trade 5 09-24-2006 05:37 PM
LRP Pulsar 1 setting for Intellect Battery 3600, 3800 and 4200 rcmnx Electric On-Road 12 01-27-2006 05:05 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net