R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2005, 09:58 AM   #481
Tech Champion
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,505
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

i sorry i meant 20 mV, i think it =.02 on a turbo
__________________
Mike Gee

Awesomatix USA/Pyscho Cells Racing/Tekin/Sweep Racing/RSD/180 Raceway/Johns Mobile Raceway/TQ Wire/Avid/Sanwa
geeunit1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 10:19 AM   #482
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 641
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC
.2is to high you need .02 for the entire pack.

IB cells get hotter than GP cells because they are built differently and use different materials. This is why you need to keep the peak detects lower.
Danny- I have a Millenium, and it can only go down to 4mV per cell, which if course is .024 for the pack. Is this sufficient? I have been looking around for a new charger- perhaps you could give me a list of "SMC approved chargers" I can look at. Thanks.
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 12:19 PM   #483
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

.024 should be fine. Most of my packs peak in the 140 range and I have had no issues plus that is the temp they peak at on a TM4.

There are many good chargers out there but I really like Competition Electronics chargers such as the Pitbull and T-35.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 02:34 PM   #484
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

What about Team Muchmore/Orion charger? How many Amp and delta peak do you recommend? Thanks
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 04:15 PM   #485
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 641
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

I was looking at the MM Cell Master as well as the Orion Advantage, and after Danny's recommendation, I'm going to go with the Pitbull X3. I don't really need the motor run-in feature, and with the Pitbull, I still get the Turbo-35 quality charging. It has the step charge, which is a must for me, and it has more delta peak value selection. The Pitbull X3 can measure down to 2mV/cell, while the Advantage and Cell Master only go down to three. The discharge on the Cell Master is only 10 amps. If I need a 10 amp discharge, I'll run it in my car. All of them have long lockout, I believe. One thing that would be interesting to play with though, is the zero delta peak on the Cell Master. It's where if the voltage levels out for eight seconds or so, it terminates the charge. But when it comes down to it, the simplicity, cheaper price, and the high quality CE charging is what attracted me to the Pitbull.
-Josh

Last edited by josh69162; 10-08-2005 at 04:19 PM. Reason: grammar
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2005, 05:02 PM   #486
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm sure the Muchmore charger works well and is a great quality charger. I have never been one to go for all the bells and whistles. I have been in RC racing since 1985 and my first good charger was a CE Turbocharger and it worked flawlessly and then I bought the T-35 and have never used anything else since then.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 07:07 AM   #487
Tech Master
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DirtyDog3375
Default

I was just wondering if using my charger's discharge function (@10amps) is okay for my cells??? Or should I discharge my packs at a higher amp rate (30amps with something like a 0-30 discharger) and then equalise them on a Novak Smart Tray???
__________________
:::Smokem Racing:::RCMaker.com.au:::Speedy RC.com.au:::
==========================================================
"It's more fun to drive slow cars fast, than fast cars slow"...
DirtyDog3375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 11:07 AM   #488
Company Representative
 
Danny/SMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Elkton, VA
Posts: 3,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I wouldn't discharge what is left in your pack at 10 amps this will train the pack to discharge at a lower rate and isn't good. Get an Integy 30 amp reactor which discharges packs down to 5.4 volts at 30 amps.
Danny/SMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 05:17 PM   #489
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny/SMC
I wouldn't discharge what is left in your pack at 10 amps this will train the pack to discharge at a lower rate and isn't good. Get an Integy 30 amp reactor which discharges packs down to 5.4 volts at 30 amps.
Danny,

If I'm running stock motors only, wouldn't I use a 20 amp discharge rate down to 5.4 volts?
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 06:37 PM   #490
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRX-S Bill
Danny,

If I'm running stock motors only, wouldn't I use a 20 amp discharge rate down to 5.4 volts?
Why only 20 amps? Regardless of class if you buy batteries matched at 30 amps, wouldn't you want to discharge tham at 30 amps? Same for 35 amps...discharge them at 35 amps.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 07:01 PM   #491
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,234
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Only if you are testing against the labeled numbers. Discharging a fully charged 6-cell pack at 30 amps makes it heat up in the area 170-180 F degrees. Even higher at 35 amp discharge. A real workout for em pups...

When I do use 30-35 amps for discharging these days is now only on a Spintec or Trinity Dyno Pulse. The pulsing type of discharge is kind to my packs...
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 07:08 PM   #492
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 641
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by koabich
Why only 20 amps? Regardless of class if you buy batteries matched at 30 amps, wouldn't you want to discharge tham at 30 amps? Same for 35 amps...discharge them at 35 amps.
What discharges at 35 amps?
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 07:31 PM   #493
Tech Master
 
Hyperform Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location:
Posts: 1,195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by josh69162
What discharges at 35 amps?
-Josh
Turbo 35
__________________
Hyperform Racing
www.Hyperform-Racing.com
[email protected]
(978) 416-2572
Hyperform Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 07:38 PM   #494
Tech Addict
 
josh69162's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: houston
Posts: 641
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to josh69162
Default

Well, obviously that. I was thinking more on the lines of sub-$300 equipment. What kind of TRAYS discharge at 35 amps.
-Josh
josh69162 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 11:15 PM   #495
Tech Fanatic
 
Alex_kipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 907
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Why not get a Indi Reactor 30 then get a much-more zero-v tray, that is what my current set is, and so far its working great
Alex_kipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intellect 3800 LIPO vazzo Australian Racing 5 06-18-2008 12:59 AM
***SMC, Integy, Intellect, 3800-4200 battery sale*** RYAN BARNES R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 06-27-2007 12:05 PM
Intellect 3800 Battery Packs acsubie R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 02-15-2007 10:09 PM
FS: 4 Matched Intellect 3800 Battery Packs WogBoy Australia For Sale/Trade 5 09-24-2006 05:37 PM
LRP Pulsar 1 setting for Intellect Battery 3600, 3800 and 4200 rcmnx Electric On-Road 12 01-27-2006 05:05 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:25 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net