Novak Smart Tray

Reply

Old 05-23-2005, 11:08 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
Default Novak Smart Tray

Why does my 3300's heat up excessively only seconds after inserting my packs into the contact clips - to a point of burning my fingers whilst just trying to position the pack. The poparity is always double checked before starting. Often, the tray signals that all cells are discharged below 0.9 at the very beginning of the equalizing procedure - the packs are mostly around 90% discharged at this stage. I use both and Eagle CDC and an Ice charger/disharger. Am I doing something wrong? Your advice is much appreciated.
RACECRAFTERS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 11:18 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

if u look at the face of the discharger, it shows u where the battery bars should go. are u packs the same pattern? this is dangerous! it can cause fire and say goodbye to your cells.
dakrat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 01:32 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2
Default

Yes, I have Novak Platinum and SRC matched cells. They are saddle assembled for my Xray T1FK'04 and Evo2 and have proven to be awesome for about three months or more. The Novak Smart Tray was purchased for routine cell conditioning and maintainance.
RACECRAFTERS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 01:52 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,505
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ive only had that happen if the cells have too much charge in them.
Take them out immedietly. All the polarities are correct, it just wigs out.
I actually would like an answer too if anybody has one?
scoobydo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 03:07 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Default

I have placed fully charged batteries in my unit with no problems at all. Sounds like the unit is defective or there is an issue with the batteries.
koabich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 04:11 PM
  #6  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Make sure that when you put the batteries in that you have three battery bars up and that the polarity is correct.
Lougabe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 04:21 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default Polarity?

I did this once when I put them in backwards - the positive post is in the
lower right hand corner.

If you reverse the set-up - you will smoke your pack!
Ducati-Rider is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 05:31 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by scoobydo
Ive only had that happen if the cells have too much charge in them.
Take them out immedietly. All the polarities are correct, it just wigs out.
I actually would like an answer too if anybody has one?
I have the same issue...I wanted to slowly drain a pack I had and it was nearly fully charged.

I placed it on the smart tray and I felt heat coming off the battery. By the time I was able to take it off it was VERY hot, like boiling water hot.

...And this was with the pack in the proper position, proper polarity.

The smart tray's instructions do tell you not to place fully charged packs in the unit.
Soviet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 09:37 PM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 68
Default

If the pack gets immediately hot then you have the pack in wrong. Look at the locations of the +'s and -'s AND the position of the bars - the + and - for the pack should be on the bottom. Get it right, and you can discharge a full pack if you want to.
Corner Weight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 09:40 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Corner Weight
If the pack gets immediately hot then you have the pack in wrong. Look at the locations of the +'s and -'s AND the position of the bars - the + and - for the pack should be on the bottom. Get it right, and you can discharge a full pack if you want to.

Sorry charlie....Mine simply will not discharge a full pack without going nuclear. And yes, it's in the right way.

Perhaps it's defective?!?!
Soviet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2005, 09:43 PM
  #11  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 68
Default

Well there could be something wrong then - I have put a pack in mine wrong and had it get immediately hot like that, but as long as it's in right I haven't had any trouble.
Corner Weight is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 08:52 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

Hey guys i just bought my tray today, and when i went to put it on i (without realizing) put my cells the wrong way. . I t made a little a spark and the contact clips were really hot, this happened maybe for about half to one second...is my pack permantly damaged? And what about my tray?
axel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 08:56 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

that happend to me the first time i got my smart tray. i didnt notice any damage to my cells. how long was it sittin?
dakrat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 09:00 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

not even fully on, i was about to place the bottom two and they were half way on, then i pulled it out immediatlet after i saw the spark , let's just say my hands were on them the whole time during this incident.

So you think there was damage?
axel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2005, 09:18 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

Novak recommend not using the dead short feature? , why not??

also any replies to my previous question would be Greatly appreciated.
axel is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service