R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2007, 09:29 AM   #2416
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_da_bomb View Post
That is what I mean yup I had one a while back and (stupid me) threw it out with some other stuff because I had no idea what it was. I run front sways on my touring cars, just thought it would help with the f201 having the rear come around a bit. Do you guys not run them?
With the re-inforced front arms you really don't need that plate...
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 09:53 AM   #2417
Tech Regular
 
Ian_da_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area/Long Beach, California
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ian_da_bomb Send a message via Yahoo to Ian_da_bomb
Default

I assumed that it was a front sway bar. Is it just to make the arms stronger??? Ive just had really good luck with car stability with a front sway. I also think that I could incorperate that piece into the difussors and everything and make it look pretty cool!

Thanks for the help guys! Really appreciate it.
Ian_da_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 12:01 PM   #2418
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_da_bomb View Post
I assumed that it was a front sway bar. Is it just to make the arms stronger??? Ive just had really good luck with car stability with a front sway. I also think that I could incorperate that piece into the difussors and everything and make it look pretty cool!

Thanks for the help guys! Really appreciate it.
The orginal front and rear arms were the weak point of the F201 when it first came out. With the front sway bar installed the arms did not break everytime you touched a board. The second version were extremly strong and you didn't have to use the sway bar to bulk up the front end.
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 01:18 PM   #2419
Tech Regular
 
Ian_da_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area/Long Beach, California
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ian_da_bomb Send a message via Yahoo to Ian_da_bomb
Default

Is there really any advantage to running it? Does the car react differently? Or is it more just a torsional support you know? Does it even connect to the chassis?
Ian_da_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2007, 07:11 PM   #2420
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian_da_bomb View Post
Is there really any advantage to running it? Does the car react differently? Or is it more just a torsional support you know? Does it even connect to the chassis?
If you are using the old arms then yes it does. If you catch a wheel check out the arms...It does not connect to the chassis and it acts like a strong sway bar for the front...
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2007, 12:35 AM   #2421
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

sent PMs to those who requested a listing of parts.
Difuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 12:50 PM   #2422
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 564
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default New toy...

hello... just landed an F201. it has the stock chassis though, and i'm not digging the plastic everywhere. i see that 3Racing makes a carbon fiber chassis, but i've seen a handful of pics of an MLP chassis, with the super wide bottom.

any idea on where i could get the MLP F201 Carbon Chassis? google has let me down...

the car i bought seems to have most of the necessary hop-ups, but is there anything special i need so know about this car? random thoughts would be appreciated, as i'm not about to read through 5,000 posts in this thread...

another buy... where can i get the adjustable motor mount? i will be going brushless with this bugger...

i think that's all the questions i have for now... any thoughts are appreciated!! thanks.
Mallanaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 01:16 PM   #2423
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

His website is http://www.mlpmotorsports.net/

The MLP chassis and the 3Racing chassis have adjustable motor mounts.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 01:23 PM   #2424
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mallanaga View Post
hello... just landed an F201. it has the stock chassis though, and i'm not digging the plastic everywhere. i see that 3Racing makes a carbon fiber chassis, but i've seen a handful of pics of an MLP chassis, with the super wide bottom.

any idea on where i could get the MLP F201 Carbon Chassis? google has let me down...

the car i bought seems to have most of the necessary hop-ups, but is there anything special i need so know about this car? random thoughts would be appreciated, as i'm not about to read through 5,000 posts in this thread...

another buy... where can i get the adjustable motor mount? i will be going brushless with this bugger...

i think that's all the questions i have for now... any thoughts are appreciated!! thanks.
Go with the Eagle or 3Racing chassis, the are Tamiya compatable....
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 01:55 PM   #2425
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 564
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

i saw the MLP website... but there's no where to buy on there.

what do you mean by tamiya compatible, nova? the MLP isnt? fair enough.

is the 3racing chassis still missing those 3 spacer by the battery tray? i see that FPM makes some parts that seem pretty nice. those bearing covers are going to be a must, with a bigger spur gear.



when i got this in the mail... i must say i was a bit disappointed... the design is excellent, but the chassis really let me down. i can't wait to get a carbon fiber one in there. it will seem like a 'real' R/C then... to me at least.


gadget... is your store operational? i see that a lot of your parts are out of stock. let me know... i have some shopping to do
Mallanaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 03:00 PM   #2426
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default

Eagle and 3Racing chassis are the same chassis. They do not come with the spacers for the battery holder...that is a FPM part F1RC had made because we preferred to have all 4 screws holding the battery holder in place. They really aren't needed...more of a personal preference. MLP has a few different chassis. I believe one is entirely his own? Most are based off of the 3Racing chassis and is fully Tamiya compatible.

The store is still in operation but really low on parts. I've been having problems with the software so best bet it to e-mail me to see what parts I have.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:41 PM   #2427
Tech Master
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to ford_racing
Default

With the 3racing chassis it is possible to get ladder packs in there, just have to be careful when you do it but it is very easy.

I would avoid MLP, there are several people in Aus who have had bad experiences with him. PM me if you want details
__________________
ARC R11
Yokomo YRF001
AE B5m
ford_racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:48 PM   #2428
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

InspGadgt answered the question about parts...
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 07:22 PM   #2429
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 564
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

i'm not worried about battery packs. i'll be running lipo. i'm thinking about running 3S, maybe 5A. might have to go 2S... from motor limitations.

i want this bugger to be FAST. i'm not sure what motor i'll be using, but i'll prolly go with a quark 65A ESC. i can't wait to get some funds together for this thing.


edit: figured out what motor... 380C-6L (4899kv)


edit some more: what are my options for spur gears? i won't be able to get away with stock. even the high speed set will be wrong, i imagine. where's a good place to buy spurs, and what pitch am i looking at?

Last edited by Mallanaga; 10-04-2007 at 08:47 PM. Reason: ureka!
Mallanaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 10:28 PM   #2430
Tech Regular
 
Ian_da_bomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bay Area/Long Beach, California
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Ian_da_bomb Send a message via Yahoo to Ian_da_bomb
Default

Pretty sure you can get the alu spur gear adapter from gadgetwerks.biz or you can probably get it on ebay
Ian_da_bomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIP Tuned Chassis F201 AND spare F201 w/TONS of Hop-ups cartmen34 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 04-23-2007 09:57 AM
F201 Corey The Great Australia For Sale/Trade 1 06-17-2006 09:21 AM
First F201... scarymonster Rookie Zone 2 12-13-2005 12:41 AM
Wtb: f201 car hpipro321 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 08-30-2005 12:00 AM
F201 AQuionIV R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 06-30-2004 12:28 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:46 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net