R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2004, 03:40 PM   #1561
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Re: Battery slop

Quote:
Originally posted by newracer
I just finished installing my 3 Racing graphite chassis. There is a lot of slop when using stick packs. What has anybody done to eliminate this? Side by side packs fit tight but I worry about shorting the cells on the standoffs, motor plate, or gear support.
Use battery or electric tape to hold it in place...
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 03:56 PM   #1562
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default

I always use glass tape to hold them in place. This is mainly so if I get punted that the pack doesn't slide halfway out and cause a problem.
psycho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 04:16 PM   #1563
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

When I was running the kit chassis, I put a thin piece of foam on the bottom of the battery slot. That pushed the battery up into the holder and it stayed in place a lot better. The slop I need to get rid of now is the front to rear slop. Tape would definitly get rid of it, but I hate taping batteries.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 04:18 PM   #1564
Tech Elite
 
Racing4Evo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,118
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Racing4Evo
Default GOOD IDEA?

If anyone wants to get back to a 2 wheel drive car with 4 wheel braking couldn't they just swap out the front differential for a oneway with the bearings installed backwards. I wonder if it's something that would catch on.

What do you guys think?
Racing4Evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 04:28 PM   #1565
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default Re: Tire Adaptors

Quote:
Originally posted by LeadFoot
Does anyone know if someone makes tire adaptors for older HPI F1 kits and/or Cross kits so that they can use Tamiya Rubber F1 tires?

We are attempting to start spec class and there is a question from people who have older models who want to race in the class but are afraid they will not be able to comply with the tire rule.

Are the their adaptors for these other kits to use Tamiya Tires/Rims?

Thanks
The Cross chassis uses the same wheel and tire as the F103 chassis. There are rubber tires and rims made for that setup. But you will not be able to use the F201 rims and tires on it. As for the HPI...there used to be a wheel adapter to put TC rims on a pan car. I don't think it's in production anymore because people mainly prefer foam tires on pan cars. There are rubber capped tires for oval use that will work. They are designed for concrete oval use but I've heard of some people successfully using them on asphault. The tests we did here with them ended up with ripped up tires within 1 heat.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 04:31 PM   #1566
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,186
Default Re: GOOD IDEA?

Quote:
Originally posted by Racing4Evo
If anyone wants to get back to a 2 wheel drive car with 4 wheel braking couldn't they just swap out the front differential for a oneway with the bearings installed backwards. I wonder if it's something that would catch on.

What do you guys think?
The FPM and DSE nitro F1 cars based off of the F201 are 2wd with 4 wheel brakes. They use a nitry style brake instead of a front diff.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 05:50 PM   #1567
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 208
Default

InspGadgt

Thanks for the reply.

We will be using the F201s on carpet. Other people what to use there older F103, Cross and HPI kits as well in the same class.

I guess we will see what we can do to accomdate everyone.

Thanks again
LeadFoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 05:50 PM   #1568
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

Anybody know the standard track width setting measured on a hudy setup board? Inside or outside of the guage?
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 06:55 PM   #1569
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

That's a good question. Normal track width is measure from outside tire edge to the other outside tire edge. With setup guages on, one would assume it's the outside of the guages. However, the thickness of the guage is not the same as the thickness of the tire mounted on the axel from the axel to the outside of the tire edge.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 09:09 PM   #1570
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default Fixed my battery slop

Here is what I did.

First off if you cut the right side battery holder when installing the 3 Racing chassis (as per instructions) it raises the battery holder which causes slop. I reinstalled an uncut one and used a spacer for the other post. Then I used some foam I have, it's very soft and about 1/8" thick, used to seal truck toppers. I put one piece on the chassis to push the battery up into the holders and a small piece on the ends of each holder. You cannot use too much on the chassis or the battery will be forced up onto the shaft and bind. I also put an O-ring on each battery holder post on the left side between the clip and the holder, makes that side more secure. My battery doesn't move at all now!!
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 11:12 PM   #1571
Tech Master
 
newracer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Timnath, Colorado
Posts: 1,523
Default

I put my car on my Hudy station tonight, Rear track width 8.6, front 8.5, both measured to the inside of the block with the axle above the measurement line.
newracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 07:16 AM   #1572
Tech Addict
 
RichChang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 587
Default F201 for sale

Hi,

I am selling my F201. There are enough parts to build 2 cars. Hopefully someone can get more use out of this car than I could. I only got to race it twice this summer and the rest of the year isn't looking much better. Great car, just not enough time.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...threadid=47932

Feel free to email me at: [email protected] with any questions, etc.

-Rich
RichChang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 01:06 PM   #1573
Tech Regular
 
RCsilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Redford Mi. Trying to keep up with Tim Stamper
Posts: 300
Default

If you guys don't know Rich , I can tell you his cars are top notch and WELL maintained , definatly worth a look .

Bob

hey hows it goin Sir Chang , I had to drop out of the series too see ya on the carpet soon I hope .
RCsilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 01:09 PM   #1574
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Re: F201 for sale

Quote:
Originally posted by RichChang
Hi,

I am selling my F201. There are enough parts to build 2 cars. Hopefully someone can get more use out of this car than I could. I only got to race it twice this summer and the rest of the year isn't looking much better. Great car, just not enough time.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...threadid=47932

Feel free to email me at: [email protected] with any questions, etc.

-Rich
I also have an F201... at least you have raced 2 more time than me.....
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 01:10 PM   #1575
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by newracer
I put my car on my Hudy station tonight, Rear track width 8.6, front 8.5, both measured to the inside of the block with the axle above the measurement line.
To even out the track width, simply adjust the pillow balls.
Neil Rabara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIP Tuned Chassis F201 AND spare F201 w/TONS of Hop-ups cartmen34 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 04-23-2007 09:57 AM
F201 Corey The Great Australia For Sale/Trade 1 06-17-2006 09:21 AM
First F201... scarymonster Rookie Zone 2 12-13-2005 12:41 AM
Wtb: f201 car hpipro321 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 08-30-2005 12:00 AM
F201 AQuionIV R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 06-30-2004 12:28 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:26 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net