Like Tree3Likes

TRF101

Old 05-15-2014, 06:43 AM
  #976  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
BP SHADOW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: In the LAB paintin' bodies!!!!
Posts: 2,324
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jamie Hanson View Post
Gorgeous. When can I have one in my hands?
When I get them in
Will set up the store for preorders if anyone is interested
BP SHADOW is offline  
Old 05-19-2014, 04:03 AM
  #977  
Tech Apprentice
 
Marklas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 85
Default

Is the new TRF101W a 190mm or 200mm?
The old TRF101 was 185mm as I remenber.
Marklas is offline  
Old 05-19-2014, 06:41 AM
  #978  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
madjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orange County
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Marklas View Post
Is the new TRF101W a 190mm or 200mm?
The old TRF101 was 185mm as I remenber.
190mm front width
madjack is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 05:46 AM
  #979  
BJR
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, I have a few questions..

I'm only new to the F1 scene & I'm kind of enjoying it but finding it very difficult to set up compared to a tc. Some guys down at the track with F104's have given me a few tips and things seems to be a lot better.

My local track is a huge outdoor asphalt track and I have the chassis set at 5mm ride height with pits on the front and rear.
As I said I'm not the best at F1 lol as I was learning/testing I hit the barriers a number of times..
Anyhow with the ride height set at 5mm the front wing drags on the asphalt.. Is the chassis to low or is this just normal?

My other problem is I turned the car around at high speed and the car rolled back into the barrier and bent the carbon axle. Was wondering if you can get a steel axle for the trf101?

I'm noticing that everything comes down to tyre choice with these cars, if the temp changes slightly and I feel I have to start all over again.

Any help would be appreciated

Ta

Last edited by BJR; 06-05-2014 at 04:42 PM.
BJR is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 06:04 AM
  #980  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 111
Default

Originally Posted by BJR View Post
Anyhow with the ride height set at 5mm the front wing drags on the asphalt.. Is the chassis to low or is this just normal?
Do you measure ride height with the battery installed? Either way, the front wing shouldn't be dragging, normally.

I'm noticing that everything comes down to tyre choice with these cars, if the temp changes slightly and I feel I have to start all over again.

Any help would be appreciated

Ta
Tyres are indeed the most important piece, the rest of the setup does matter, but in that respect it's actually a lot easier to set up compared to a TC. There's simply a lot less to fiddle with. Do you run the same tyres as the other F1 cars on your track? Also, driving in general needs to be smoother compared to TC.
ijdod is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 11:39 AM
  #981  
Dan
Tech Champion
iTrader: (69)
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,642
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BJR View Post
Hi guys, I have a few questions..

I'm only new to the F1 scene & I'm kind of enjoying it but finding it very difficult to set up compared to a tc. Some guys down at the track with F104's have given me a few tips and things seems to be a lot better.

My local track is a huge outdoor asphalt track and I have the chassis set at 5mm ride height with pits on the front and rear.
As I said I'm not the best at F1 lol as I was learning/testing I hit the barriers a number of times..
Anyhow with the ride height set at 5mm the front wing drags on the asphalt.. Is the chassis to low or is this just normal?

My other problem is I turned the car around at high speed and the car rolled back into the barrier and bent the carbon axle. Was wondering if you can get a steal axle for the trf101?

I'm noticing that everything comes down to tyre choice with these cars, if the temp changes slightly and I feel I have to start all over again.

Any help would be appreciated

Ta
Your front wing shouldn't be dragging the asphalt. Are you using the Tamiya F2012 front wing? They are notorious for bending in crashes and they start to bow, dragging on the sides.

I believe there is a steel option axle coming out from Tamiya very soon that should work with the TRF cars.
Dan is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 11:43 AM
  #982  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,916
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

The new W looks promising.
But am I alone in thinking that the F1 series of Tamiya cars should be anodized black?
inpuressa is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 02:46 PM
  #983  
BJR
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the replies

Yes I do measure the ride height with the battery installed.

Yes the is f2012 wing/body & that is exactly what is happening.. The wing is bowed after crashes and drags on the ground. So is there a preferred wing/body that people use or is it anything from the Tamiya range except for the F2012 body?

With tyres, I haven't raced the car yet but the guys use Pit soft or med fronts and Ride R1 rear (if the track is 20 deg or over) we are coming into Winter in Australia and I've taken the car out about 3 times for some practice and the track hasn't been 20 deg or higher so the Rides didn't seem all the good. I ran Pit 71 front and Pit 75 rear and the car felt awesome, the car stuck to the road! The next week I went out it was a different story lol

Last edited by BJR; 06-05-2014 at 04:44 PM.
BJR is offline  
Old 06-05-2014, 04:17 PM
  #984  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Vyger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 550
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes there are other options from Tamiya for body kits. They offer the standard F104 Pro body set, the Ferrari F60 body set, and the McLaren Mercedes MP4-24. F1 PaintLab has them plus some of the retro bodies offered by Tamiya.

http://f1rclab.mybigcommerce.com/f10...eatured&page=3

Keep in mind the F2012 front wing is probably the thinnest front wing from Tamiya. The 104 Pro, F60, and McLaren wings are thicker and a bit harder to bend, but they can only hold up to so many impacts. I hope this helps.
Vyger is offline  
Old 06-06-2014, 03:38 AM
  #985  
BJR
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 316
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Thanks vyger that's a great help!
I defiantly look into sorting out another style body.
Another thing I just realised as I was doing a bit of reading on this thread, I'm using 12 gauge wire on the motor so I'll get rid of that and use 16 gauge.. should free up the pod a bit.
BJR is offline  
Old 06-08-2014, 05:57 PM
  #986  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Good car!

I took my car to the track today for the first time, I have had four other cars and didn't care for the class because we had to run on Pardus Tires and they didn't work. We are now using a new wheel and tire combination and they work great. The only real problem I have is keeping the front end together. The top pivot ball would not stay in, what's the fix. I have a Exotek front end that I think I will put on just because the pivot balls are captured. I know that I saw somewhere on this thread that this has happened to other people.
TWILL is offline  
Old 06-13-2014, 06:54 AM
  #987  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 230
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I have a brand new built but never run 101 for sale. Comes with spares and never used TCS spec tires mounted on black wheels. Low price. Check it out in the for sale section.

Thank you.
TamiyaMatt84 is offline  
Old 07-10-2014, 06:28 AM
  #988  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,107
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Anyone using a mini servo in this car? Was thinking about trying to use a Futaba 9650 that I used in 1/12th and WGT but it seems most pictures I've seen have a standard sized servo.

Thanks
Chaz955i is offline  
Old 07-10-2014, 07:39 AM
  #989  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,184
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chaz955i View Post
Anyone using a mini servo in this car? Was thinking about trying to use a Futaba 9650 that I used in 1/12th and WGT but it seems most pictures I've seen have a standard sized servo.

Thanks
I ran 12th scale sized servos in all my F1's when I ran them. Futaba 9650 works. I ran a Spektrum 5010 in mine.
Jamie Hanson is offline  
Old 07-10-2014, 08:02 AM
  #990  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
Chaz955i's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 1,107
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jamie Hanson View Post
I ran 12th scale sized servos in all my F1's when I ran them. Futaba 9650 works. I ran a Spektrum 5010 in mine.
Thanks, I appreciate the information.
Chaz955i is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.