Like Tree3Likes

TRF101

Old 07-16-2013, 11:23 PM
  #496  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
PhilippineEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have my ESC near the servo and the battery in the rear close to the motor. I haven't been able to do a proper shake down on the car yet so I can't say anything about it's performance. I checked the center of gravity of my car and it's near the middle, just slightly forward. I plan to get some run time this week and then next month try mounting my ESC in the rear and see if there is any difference.

But if you want the "cleanest" layout, the ESC should be in the rear near the motor. That would eliminate lots of wires running almost the 16cm to the motor. But note you would need a short (55-75mm) brushless sensor cable.
PhilippineEagle is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 05:36 PM
  #497  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 32
Default

Mr.Autocratic, when you have time can u please call me..frankie p san antonio tx 210.245.0395.
Thanks for your time.

☆frankie p☆
AE 1/12 5.2
TRF 101 F1
Mr.75MHz is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 06:15 PM
  #498  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,691
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mr.75MHz View Post
Mr.Autocratic, when you have time can u please call me..frankie p san antonio tx 210.245.0395.
Thanks for your time.

☆frankie p☆
AE 1/12 5.2
TRF 101 F1
You have PM
Autocratic is offline  
Old 07-17-2013, 11:46 PM
  #499  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
PhilippineEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 208
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I ran my car for 1 hr today. I really need the right tires for the track. I was spinning out too often even trying to run as cautiously as possible. But so far I love it.
PhilippineEagle is offline  
Old 07-18-2013, 10:10 PM
  #500  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (14)
 
FL_SilverEvo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 268
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

How are most of you setting up your 101? The battery to the rear, middle, or all they way forward? Where are you putting your electronics? I got one of these kits for my birthday and try to see what would be the best way to set it up. Should I go with a shorty pack or go with a fully size battery? I have the ride height set up pretty good. I am like 5mm all the way around. Don't want to go to low because I will be racing on asphalt. I am going to try rubber tires. But we haven't really had any luck with them at our track. Got to love Florida weather. When the track gets up to 130+ degrease. We have had to gear our motors down because the track was getting to hot. Crazy right? Any other time the gear that I normally run is fine in temps.
FL_SilverEvo8 is offline  
Old 07-20-2013, 09:39 PM
  #501  
Tech Regular
 
Qwiglee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 313
Default

I am in the middle of my build right now and just finished assembling the differential. I noticed the spur gear is a little loose and can wobble back and forth. Is this normal? I have no previous experience with pan cars or F1 so I thought it might be OK. I triple checked the diff assembly to make sure I didn't miss anything but it just seems like the plastic spur gear adapter they give you is a teeny bit too wide.
Qwiglee is offline  
Old 07-20-2013, 09:49 PM
  #502  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

The gear has to wobble. If it doesn't that means the diff rings are touching the spur on both sides at the same time. So yours is good.
edhchoe is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:40 AM
  #503  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,691
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

What body fits this car the best? The F104 Pro body is nice but the dips before the sweep back at the tail hit the shock mount plate on the pod.
Autocratic is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 08:52 AM
  #504  
Tech Regular
 
volracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 268
Default

I have a couple F104 bodies and a Vodafone McLaren. The nose on the F104 drops more than this year's cars (may end up resembling next year's cars). I have ordered a couple Ferrari F60s. The nose is high and it does not look like the Ferrari 2012, which looks like a Ferrari 2012 and nothing else.

If you put the pontoons on the F104, I think you can modify it by cutting off the upper appendages or airfoils in front of the rear wheels. I have looked and the F104 could be made to look like a F3, Gran Turismo formula car or older Formula Nippon car.
volracer is offline  
Old 07-21-2013, 11:17 AM
  #505  
Dan
Tech Champion
iTrader: (69)
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,638
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

The F60 body fits pretty well.
Dan is offline  
Old 07-22-2013, 09:29 AM
  #506  
Tech Apprentice
 
simmo0916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 67
Default

Hi guys - I asked my local hobby shop to get me a TRF101 chassis in, And he replied saying the Tamiya importers will not be getting anymore, as no more are being made. Was the TRF101 limited edition????
Or is my local hobby shop full of crap?!

Cheers guys.
simmo0916 is offline  
Old 07-22-2013, 09:32 AM
  #507  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by simmo0916 View Post
Hi guys - I asked my local hobby shop to get me a TRF101 chassis in, And he replied saying the Tamiya importers will not be getting anymore, as no more are being made. Was the TRF101 limited edition????
Or is my local hobby shop full of crap?!

Cheers guys.
USA should have no shortage as yet
So
Foc perhaps
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 07-22-2013, 11:07 AM
  #508  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 1,015
Default

Originally Posted by simmo0916 View Post
Hi guys - I asked my local hobby shop to get me a TRF101 chassis in, And he replied saying the Tamiya importers will not be getting anymore, as no more are being made. Was the TRF101 limited edition????
Or is my local hobby shop full of crap?!

Cheers guys.
The TRF101 part number denotes it as a limited edition, which usually means Tamiya only make one batch of kits unless there is enough demand to sell a complete new batch of kits, and Tamiya USA have none left.

If you want to know whether Tamiya make another batch in the future and whether Tamiya USA will import them, the people to ask are Tamiya USA themselves.
terry.sc is offline  
Old 07-22-2013, 12:03 PM
  #509  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

My carbon shaft broke yesterday. I am replacing it with steel shaft. But for curiosity, is the RM01 shaft a direct replacement?
edhchoe is offline  
Old 07-22-2013, 12:27 PM
  #510  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
Autocratic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 1,691
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
My carbon shaft broke yesterday. I am replacing it with steel shaft. But for curiosity, is the RM01 shaft a direct replacement?
I don't think so.

The 101 diff housing is pinned to the carbon shaft, so it's not a direct replacement.

Curious though, how did you break the shaft?
Autocratic is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.