Like Tree3Likes

TRF101

Old 06-20-2013, 08:11 PM
  #196  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
cmy55s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: orange nsw
Posts: 1,165
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PDR
Your existing wheels/tyres will be a direct swapover. If you need an excuse to buy something new, try the Exotek offset rims
Thanks phill. Where do i get them from? Also can they come premount wd? ( hate gluing ties)
cmy55s is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 08:32 PM
  #197  
PDR
Tech Elite
iTrader: (31)
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,143
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cmy55s
Thanks phill. Where do i get them from? Also can they come premount wd? ( hate gluing ties)
tqrcracing.com normally carries them. They're not premount - you get just the rims. They are designed to mount the Shimizu rubber tyres, which are as good as any other for asphalt unless it gets really warm. The good news is that they have a lip that seats the tyre much better than just using the Tamiya ones.

Give 'em a quick wash, rinse and dry and the tyres stay stuck

PS: Just noticed that NBHC might be carrying them...
PDR is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 08:38 PM
  #198  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
cmy55s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: orange nsw
Posts: 1,165
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PDR
tqrcracing.com normally carries them. They're not premount - you get just the rims. They are designed to mount the Shimizu rubber tyres, which are as good as any other for asphalt unless it gets really warm. The good news is that they have a lip that seats the tyre much better than just using the Tamiya ones.

Give 'em a quick wash, rinse and dry and the tyres stay stuck

PS: Just noticed that NBHC might be carrying them...
Awesome thanks for the help!
cmy55s is offline  
Old 06-20-2013, 09:51 PM
  #199  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nor CA
Posts: 158
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

yes, will try to make it out to NorCal!
xanavitbevo3 is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 05:53 AM
  #200  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I'm getting quote from RC Champ for giggles.

Out of stock...

Last edited by liljohn1064; 06-21-2013 at 08:31 AM.
liljohn1064 is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 09:49 AM
  #201  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm a slow builder but am thinking of a step by step photo build if there's enough interest

Attached Thumbnails TRF101-trf101.jpg  
rtypec is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 09:56 AM
  #202  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Sure. I would not mind a dry run while I wait for mine to arrive.
edhchoe is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 10:01 AM
  #203  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
WheelNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Order is pending at Great Planes, which means it won't be long until most North American hobby stores get kits. Looks like the price will be a smidgen bit higher than the F104v2 Pro Dark Ti kit...hmmmm...should I get one...
WheelNut is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 10:10 AM
  #204  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rtypec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,978
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by edhchoe
Sure. I would not mind a dry run while I wait for mine to arrive.
You'll probably get yours before I complete step 1 Yeah, I'm that slow
rtypec is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 10:22 AM
  #205  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,622
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

horizon is showing the price at 359.00 us ...at that price i will much rather order from overseas....rcmart will get it to my door for 310 US
theatriks is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 10:51 AM
  #206  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rtypec
You'll probably get yours before I complete step 1 Yeah, I'm that slow
Is the bottom deck really 3mm thick? Is our f104v2 that thick also?
edhchoe is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:00 AM
  #207  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 436
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by WheelNut
Order is pending at Great Planes, which means it won't be long until most North American hobby stores get kits. Looks like the price will be a smidgen bit higher than the F104v2 Pro Dark Ti kit...hmmmm...should I get one...
Have you tried Brad at f1 paint lab? He usually has the newest stuff and great pricing.
alphacat is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:44 AM
  #208  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,111
Default

rtypec: do it, I am constantly referring to your x1 build pics
JayL is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 11:52 AM
  #209  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JayL
rtypec: do it, I am constantly referring to your x1 build pics
+1
Rtype builds are worth the wait
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 06-21-2013, 12:47 PM
  #210  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 173
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by edhchoe
Is the bottom deck really 3mm thick? Is our f104v2 that thick also?
The V2 is 3mm.
viet is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.