Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New Tekin Gen 2 RS and RSX >

New Tekin Gen 2 RS and RSX

New Tekin Gen 2 RS and RSX

Reply

Old 08-10-2013, 04:14 PM
  #181  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Voloc View Post
Yeah I worded it kind of weird, didn't mean it like that but how hot is too hot and what is just a normal temperature for it. And if my esc gets hotter than my motor that means I'm undergeared right
The other thing.. If you are running drag brake this will around 20 degree to the motor... Not saying you should or shouldn't run drag brake, just stating what it will do a motor's temps....

In 17.5 I have never had an issue with ESC temp... But if you way off on the gearing I could see that causing an issue... With the Gen 2 what I find very interesting is when the temp spikes... it is when you grab throttle, hard... My point, learn to roll into your throttle not grab it hard... I can see spikes of 20 degree for less then a second, when I get on it...
bvoltz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 09:52 AM
  #182  
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,057
Default

Originally Posted by Barry_Hughes View Post
can anyone help with understanding the data logger throttle graph.
Set the Gen2 with my Sanwa Exzes transmitter/sanwa RX-451r receiver.
Neutral OK set throttle & brake - all lights flash to show hitting maximium.
Download the data and the throttle highpoints show 82.21.
Change the EPA's to 140% (Max) reset the ESC and try again, hit max throttle all lights flash.
Download the data throttle highpoints on graph show 121.21.
So it seems the throttle highpoints are always 18 below what the EPA is set at.

Is the highpoint on the graph wrong or I am not hitting full throttle even though all the lights are flashing?
The short answer is that it does not matter because we calibrate to the end points and neutral so they are correct and you get full throttle and brake.

The technical answer is because the standard signal pulse width for RC systems is 1.0ms full brake, 1.5ms for neutral, 2.0ms for full throttle. Our scale is based on these numbers 100/-100. Some radios are 50/50 and some radios are 70/30 and move the neutral down to 1.3ms to give you more resolution on the throttle side.

With your EPA set at 100% the radio appears to be giving us around 1.9ms for full trigger. When you increase the EPA to 140% it is giving us around 2.1ms for full throttle. In either case we will flash all the leds and give full throttle/brake if we are calibrated to the radio output.

Sidenote... some radios will drift as batteries get low or due to sitting in hot sun. You can radio calibrate and then turn the radio EPA up 5 or 10 to make sure you always get to full throttle.

Last edited by Tekin Prez; 08-12-2013 at 10:08 AM.
Tekin Prez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2013, 11:19 AM
  #183  
Tech Regular
 
Barry_Hughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ipswich, England
Posts: 441
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by Tekin Prez View Post
The short answer is that it does not matter because we calibrate to the end points and neutral so they are correct and you get full throttle and brake.

The technical answer is because the standard signal pulse width for RC systems is 1.0ms full brake, 1.5ms for neutral, 2.0ms for full throttle. Our scale is based on these numbers 100/-100. Some radios are 50/50 and some radios are 70/30 and move the neutral down to 1.3ms to give you more resolution on the throttle side.

With your EPA set at 100% the radio appears to be giving us around 1.9ms for full trigger. When you increase the EPA to 140% it is giving us around 2.1ms for full throttle. In either case we will flash all the leds and give full throttle/brake if we are calibrated to the radio output.

Sidenote... some radios will drift as batteries get low or due to sitting in hot sun. You can radio calibrate and then turn the radio EPA up 5 or 10 to make sure you always get to full throttle.
Thanks for the reply
Barry_Hughes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 07:15 AM
  #184  
Tech Apprentice
 
Reese Bobby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: RSA
Posts: 97
Default

Hi All,

Sorry if you answered this before, here it goes anyways. I would like to know when the RSX or RS Gen 2 Pro is estimated to b released? I am trying to plan a head a little and would like to run the new ESC.

Thanks.
Reese Bobby is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 09:53 AM
  #185  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

There is no estimated release date.
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 09:05 AM
  #186  
Team Tekin
iTrader: (6)
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,772
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Here's a "How to" of the data logging. HOw to use it, what to look for and changes that can be made to the car to lower your lap times.

http://www.teamtekin.com/manuals/TWS...wTo_111513.pdf
Randy_Pike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 05:55 PM
  #187  
Tech Master
iTrader: (34)
 
Csaari77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,494
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

What's the word on the Android app? Is there a release date yet?
Csaari77 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 05:47 AM
  #188  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,346
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
Here's a "How to" of the data logging. HOw to use it, what to look for and changes that can be made to the car to lower your lap times.

http://www.teamtekin.com/manuals/TWS...wTo_111513.pdf
Very nice write up!
nitrobeast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 09:25 PM
  #189  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: North Bay
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Just curious what are the differences b/t the Gen 2 and Gen 2 pro? Apologies if this has been answered, I scanned the thread but didn't find an answer. I'm guessing Gen2pro will be able to handle lower turn motors (edit).

cheers
Obsidian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 10:04 PM
  #190  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Obsidian View Post
Just curious what are the differences b/t the Gen 2 and Gen 2 pro? Apologies if this has been answered, I scanned the thread but didn't find an answer. I'm guessing Gen2pro will be able to handle lower turn motors (edit).

cheers
What is a Gen2 Pro ?
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 08:11 AM
  #191  
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

Originally Posted by Obsidian View Post
Just curious what are the differences b/t the Gen 2 and Gen 2 pro? Apologies if this has been answered, I scanned the thread but didn't find an answer. I'm guessing Gen2pro will be able to handle lower turn motors (edit).

cheers
I suppose you could call the RSX the GEN2 Pro since there is no Pro in the RS GEN2 line. I believe it's rated to a 2.5 turn (540) on 2S in 1/10 on road
Skitee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 10:52 AM
  #192  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,935
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Ok so my data logging is acting odd. When I first ststing looking at it it would log everytime I turned the ESC on, even if it was only a few seconds. Then I realized it would only store 12 runs so I deleted them all. Now it will only store one run at a time and only 4 or 5 minutes of a run. Also the run it stores is the last one after a delete. Not necessarily the one that just happened. I would like to get back to the way it was. That way I could watch and compair a whole race day. Also an entire 8 min run so I can see batt voltage at the end of a run.

What did I do to my RS SPEC?
theproffesor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 09:10 AM
  #193  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
theproffesor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lugoff SC
Posts: 2,935
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Bump for an answer
theproffesor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 09:46 AM
  #194  
Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theproffesor View Post
Ok so my data logging is acting odd. When I first ststing looking at it it would log everytime I turned the ESC on, even if it was only a few seconds. Then I realized it would only store 12 runs so I deleted them all. Now it will only store one run at a time and only 4 or 5 minutes of a run. Also the run it stores is the last one after a delete. Not necessarily the one that just happened. I would like to get back to the way it was. That way I could watch and compair a whole race day. Also an entire 8 min run so I can see batt voltage at the end of a run.

What did I do to my RS SPEC?
Check out this link for some details on how to use the datalogging feature:
http://www.teamtekin.com/manuals/TWS...wTo_111513.pdf

The data log capacity in the ESC is only based on raw data capacity not run counts. So if you have one 5 minute run, logging at .1sec, and all of the data counters (RPM, Throttle, ESC Temp, Motor Temp, and Voltage) you will only see 4 or 5 minutes of data for one run only. Once the datalog is full, no more gets written to it. It would be nice to be able to set an "overwrite" bit so that it just keeps the last 5 - 10 minutes of data, but that's not how this version of the software works currently.

The way to get a full 8 minute run would be to raise the time interval/resolution to .2 sec (or higher), and remove data points you don't need. Like throttle, that is a nice one to understand where on the track you are in relation to RPM (correlate if you are full on the throttle and how the RPM curves from that), but once you are used to a track you don't need that counter. Disable it by unchecking it when you are looking at a dataplot. That will save that setting to the ESC in real time (If the ESC is connected to hotwire).

I also reset my Gen 2 RS and RSX ESC's data log right before I drop the car on the track. I just reach in and hold the INC button until it beeps at me.

Also, you can tap the INC button and it will show you on the LED's how much of the datalog is full.

Another tip is to save the datalog from one run to your PC and then you can wipe the ESC, and run again without worrying about losing the first runs data. You can then open multiple datalogger windows in Hotwire and compare multiple data plots.

But in the end the short answer to your question is, log less, and less often and you can get 8 - 12 - 15 minutes of logging on the ESC.
Clegg is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 09:49 AM
  #195  
Moderator
iTrader: (9)
 
Clegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside doing things in places... Denver, CO
Posts: 4,609
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

One thing I also want to mention is the Tekin Gen 2 RS Spec that I am using in 1/12 right now works great with a booster and logs as expected. I can see the datalogs of the 1S battery voltage and everything like normal. The wiring and configuration for the Tekin Gen 2 hardware is the same as the RS when it comes to a booster and 1S running. And if you notice in the pic below, the Tekin Spec ESC is so light I had to actually had 10G of weight to that side of the car. Which is great because the weight is low, and I can place it where I want.

This is the car and setup I'll be running at ROAR Nats in Omaha for 17.5 1/12.

Clegg is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service