R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-08-2005, 03:23 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: the beach australia
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Step Charging????

just want some feedback on step charging, i race stock.
or would my a linear charge at 6.0 amps work better for stock racing? i'm also using IB3600's btw

Last edited by flysti; 05-08-2005 at 04:50 AM.
flysti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 09:37 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

What charger are you using?

This question has been asked before, you might want to start looking at any threads about your particular charger
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 10:02 AM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
sweet wasabi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 83
Default Re: Step Charging????

Quote:
Originally posted by flysti
just want some feedback on step charging, i race stock.
or would my a linear charge at 6.0 amps work better for stock racing? i'm also using IB3600's btw
I will help ya

Quote:
Originally posted by kumpol
___________________________________

Steps 1st
current 7.0 A
capacity 2650 mAh
Flex off

Steps 2nd
current 0.2 A
capacity 2680 mAh
Flex off

Steps 3rd
current 4.0 A
capacity 4100 mAh
Flex off

delta V 06mV (6cell)
Temp 48
repeak 1 delay 5min. repeak capacity 250mAh
___________________________________

Surikarn gave me this profile to try on GP3600 and Int3700, so I assume this profile is ok for them. I have not used this profile yet so let me know how you like it.
sweet wasabi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 10:25 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Arun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 753
Default

The profile that sweet wasabi just posted works awesome. I can definitely feel my packs holding their power longer through a run. This profile is meant for a Much More Cell Master with the 3 phase CTX charge. If you are using a different charger without a temperature cutoff, you would probably want to lower the delta peak cutoff...to say 03 (30 mV).
The Much More charger will cutoff if the temperature gets past your setting, hence you are able to safely put the most charge into your packs. About half the time, my packs will cutoff from the delta peak setting, and the other half, they cutoff due to temp. If I use the fan stand, however, the packs will usually cutoff from the delta peak setting.
You also must make sure that your pack is fully discharged before step charging!!!
__________________
http://nexusracing.com
Arun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 05:24 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: the beach australia
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

well i'm thinking of getting the record breaker or the frontline2. i'm currently using the cdr-5000.
yes i've tried finding a thread that talk's about step charging as a main topic, but it did not seem to exist.
i've also been told that step charging mainly suits mod racing cause you can get more run time using this method.
flysti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 08:09 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
centax error!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: " Burn Rubber, Not your wallet! "
Posts: 1,135
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Arun
You also must make sure that your pack is fully discharged before step charging!!!
..what exactly do you mean by "fully discharge"? 0 voltz/dead short?
centax error! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 10:19 PM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Arun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 753
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by centax error!
..what exactly do you mean by "fully discharge"? 0 voltz/dead short?
sorry for the confusion...I just mean "dumped", or taken down to .90v per cell (or dead-shorted, if you prefer it this way).

If you were to put a pack on charge that still has a couple minutes of run time left, you could create problems, because the charger has a lockout for the first two phases. In other words, any dropoffs in voltage during the first two phases will not stop the charge. The battery would then become overcharged, which is a big no no for NiMH batteries.
__________________
http://nexusracing.com
Arun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2005, 11:04 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

Hey, all would this setting for the Cell Master work for the 3300's with a reduced mAh? Thanks for the help.
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 01:19 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc_bam226
Hey, all would this setting for the Cell Master work for the 3300's with a reduced mAh? Thanks for the help.

yes... my friend uses this profile for Novak matched batts which are GP3300's
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 01:27 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I picked up a Supernova Competition charger last week, (its a pretty new model) and it has a 4-step mode in it.

any thoughts on a four-step charge? I'd love to play with it and see how it goes but also dont want to damage pack's.

using GP 3300's on a reedy 19T quad mag spec motor at the mo...

also using 2/3a cell's (6-cell pack) for my mamba brushless mini-T which I linear charge at 1.2A and discharge at 3A....

some advice would be great, sorry to hijack. I'll go search now

James
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 02:24 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Greg M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE]quote:
Originally posted by kumpol
___________________________________

Steps 1st
current 7.0 A
capacity 2650 mAh
Flex off

Steps 2nd
current 0.2 A
capacity 2680 mAh
Flex off

Steps 3rd
current 4.0 A
capacity 4100 mAh
Flex off

delta V 06mV (6cell)
Temp 48
repeak 1 delay 5min. repeak capacity 250mAh
___________________________________

Surikarn gave me this profile to try on GP3600 and Int3700, so I assume this profile is ok for them. I have not used this profile yet so let me know how you like it.

Is that 2nd step correct at 0.2Amps??? That would take ages to finish off
Greg M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 02:48 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Greg M
Quote:
Is that 2nd step correct at 0.2Amps??? That would take ages to finish off

It`s only charging at that rate for 30mAh.. it`s set up that way to give the cells a slight brake from a full charge
-Dave
__________________
Ȼ4.5 Centro+α ◊ TRF 501ӽ ◊ TRF 502ӽs ◊ TRF 503 ◊ TRF 511 ◊ TRF 201ӽr ◊ TRF 211ӽ
B5m ◊ T5m ◊SC5m ◊ B64deez nutz
Speedway PAL ◊ SDRC ◊ Shop UFO ◊ SMC

Last edited by JDM_DOHC_SiR; 05-09-2005 at 03:17 AM.
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 03:10 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Greg M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

doh, misread it.
Greg M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 08:33 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Will that setup work well with the Orion Advantage and GP3300's?
Thanks,
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2005, 08:39 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 141
Default

Check the Team Orion home page in the faq you have setting sheets of the best way of charging as used by all the pro's including step charging !
Nicolas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Step Charging Jam Electric On-Road 7 11-26-2006 05:23 PM
Step-charging - is it necessary? vabroom Electric On-Road 6 10-03-2006 06:55 AM
how to set up step charging? khunballz Electric On-Road 10 09-10-2006 12:23 PM
step charging ?? Trips Electric On-Road 14 03-31-2005 12:57 PM
Step Charging nimble Electric On-Road 11 03-23-2005 12:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net