Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Turnigy Trackstar 80 amp Turbo sensored esc >

Turnigy Trackstar 80 amp Turbo sensored esc

Turnigy Trackstar 80 amp Turbo sensored esc

Old 03-22-2013, 05:09 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
miles514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East of Manila, Philippines
Posts: 497
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Turnigy Trackstar 80 amp Turbo sensored esc

Has anybody used this esc? Its like a Team Orion Vortex esc. Maybe its a clone or maybe Orion rebadge it for them.

Waiting for my order to come and hoping that its good. fingers crossed.


http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=22401
miles514 is offline  
Old 03-22-2013, 09:26 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
BCbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I have this one on the way to me. I will be using it in my AE b44.1 with a Turnigy 7.5t motor.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._10th_ESC.html
BCbud is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 03:43 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 177
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

have one as well.finally got prog card. Very new to me all the timings ect. no info except in hobbywing supercharged thread
153stars is offline  
Old 04-09-2013, 09:24 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,130
Default

I ran mine the other day. Was running boosted 13.5. Needs heatsink fan coz it gets hot to to the point where it loses power. Once cooled down it ran fine again. Speed wise seems ok but didn't get much track time as it kept getting too hot 2 mins into the run.
cyanyde is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 04:53 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
miles514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East of Manila, Philippines
Posts: 497
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What if I use this in a blinky mode and a 17.5 motor, will it still need a fan?
miles514 is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 05:34 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,702
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by miles514 View Post
What if I use this in a blinky mode and a 17.5 motor, will it still need a fan?
No you will not need a fan. I run one with a 9.5 turn with no fan. On the programming card there is a setting for temperature, you need to turn that off.
Potoczak is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 06:42 AM
  #7  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 22
Default

Originally Posted by Potoczak View Post
No you will not need a fan. I run one with a 9.5 turn with no fan. On the programming card there is a setting for temperature, you need to turn that off.
If you are refering to turn off overheating protection to get the ESC not turning off I think it's possible that you really need the fan.
BeLiPoWa is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 05:54 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,702
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Not for 17.5 racing.
Potoczak is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 07:31 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,130
Default

It will handle 17.5 blinky just fine without fan.
cyanyde is offline  
Old 04-11-2013, 03:11 AM
  #10  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
miles514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East of Manila, Philippines
Posts: 497
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

[/B]

Last edited by miles514; 05-20-2013 at 03:38 AM.
miles514 is offline  
Old 04-11-2013, 04:29 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default ESC Measurements

Hi,

Could someone supply the physical measurements of this esc? ie- Height, Width, Length.
A friend is wanting to know if it'll fit into his car before he buys one, as the dimensions are not listed on the Hobbyking website.

Thanks in advance.
Rob.
ta04evah is offline  
Old 04-11-2013, 03:05 PM
  #12  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
alloyslash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ta04evah View Post
Hi,

Could someone supply the physical measurements of this esc? ie- Height, Width, Length.
A friend is wanting to know if it'll fit into his car before he buys one, as the dimensions are not listed on the Hobbyking website.

Thanks in advance.
Rob.
Measurements are 33W x 42L x 34H
alloyslash is offline  
Old 04-11-2013, 03:59 PM
  #13  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
miles514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East of Manila, Philippines
Posts: 497
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I think its 33W x 42L x 24H, considering its got no fan
miles514 is offline  
Old 04-11-2013, 05:13 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
ta04evah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys!

Cheers
Rob.
ta04evah is offline  
Old 05-20-2013, 03:46 AM
  #15  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
miles514's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: East of Manila, Philippines
Posts: 497
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I just got my esc today! Our central post office here really suck! Anyway, I have yet to test this esc on my Tamiya F104wgp powering an Orca 17.5 motor. If you plan to purchace this esc, make sure you have enough soldering experience doing this, the heat sink heats up fast while soldering the wires. i dont have to set up this esc to my radio it comes pre calibrated, all I do is fine tune some adjustment.
miles514 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.