R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-15-2005, 04:53 PM   #16
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

A good start would be to know exactly what components you're going to be using, then make sure they rated correctly, draw up a diagram and follow it, and most importantly TAKE YOUR TIME, you don't wanna blow anything or maybe you do -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 05:04 PM   #17
Tech Champion
 
Core Creations's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Core Creations
Default

I have the 25 amp model and it will run my GFX, Millennium and my Integy tire truer at the same time...no problems at all.
__________________
Core Creations paint thread

Mini Mafia Kansas Chapter - where the monster minis grow!
Core Creations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 05:34 PM   #18
JRM
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Mesa
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
A good start would be to know exactly what components you're going to be using, then make sure they rated correctly, draw up a diagram and follow it, and most importantly TAKE YOUR TIME, you don't wanna blow anything or maybe you do -JB

haha no Blowing things up is fine and all but not so good with expensive electronics. I'm pretty handy with a soldering iron(Hako 936) but my electrical knowledge is minimal.

Any chance you could spec the components for me and share your diagram? I'd like to build a box similar to yours, with power switches for each set of plugs.

Again, thanks in advance for any input.
JRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 06:19 PM   #19
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by JRM

Any chance you could spec the components for me and share your diagram? I'd like to build a box similar to yours, with power switches for each set of plugs.

Again, thanks in advance for any input.
No prob... the terminals are banana jacks and there's various ones out there so pick what style you like.
I didn't use these because 3 Radio Shacks where I live only had one of them but they're Red LED ASSEMBLIES-they have built-in 1/4"W, 680-ohm resistors for 12VDC operation--SWEET, part #276-084
Toggle switches- SPST MiniToggle Switch, rated 10A @125VAC, or 6A @ 250VAC, this is plenty. Part #275-324
The box you have to pick out yourself... I have to re-draw a diagram for you but hold tight, I'll get it done and post it on the thread.
Here's a picture of my innards... -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO

Last edited by JayBee; 09-12-2008 at 10:29 PM.
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 06:24 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Always make sure your components can handle the amperage you're gonna put through it.

^Good advice...
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 07:18 PM   #21
JRM
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Mesa
Posts: 34
Default Awesome.

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
No prob... the terminals are banana jacks and there's various ones out there so pick what style you like.
I didn't use these because 3 Radio Shacks where I live only had one of them but they're Red LED ASSEMBLIES-they have built-in 1/4"W, 680-ohm resistors for 12VDC operation--SWEET, part #276-084
Toggle switches- SPST MiniToggle Switch, rated 10A @125VAC, or 6A @ 250VAC, this is plenty. Part #275-324
The box you have to pick out yourself... I have to re-draw a diagram for you but hold tight, I'll get it done and post it on the thread.
Here's a picture of my innards... -JB
I owe you one, thanks for your time.
JRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 07:31 PM   #22
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Thumbs up

No problem man, I got some stuff to take care of but I'll make sure to post that diagram later... -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 09:47 PM   #23
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Talking

Here you go but remember that the diagram is just that- A DIAGRAM- so the layout of your components is up to you. Just be sure to follow the diagram for lead placement -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO

Last edited by JayBee; 09-12-2008 at 10:29 PM.
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 09:53 PM   #24
JRM
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Costa Mesa
Posts: 34
Default Perfect.

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
Here you go but remember that the diagram is just that- A DIAGRAM- so the layout of your components is up to you. Just be sure to follow the diagram for lead placement -JB
Thanks!!
JRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 10:05 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Thumbs up

NO SWEAT... -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2005, 10:27 PM   #26
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

can someone help me. i dont know if im digressing from teh topic but it seems u guys are talking about my problem or around dere. i accidentally bought a dc peak charger thinking it had ac. but yea. i dont have a single thing that has a dc put so wat should i do? i need something that i can transfer power from ac to dc. i dont want to spend no more then 30 bucks on wat i need to buy. so wat dou guys recommend?
crzydrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2005, 08:04 AM   #27
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by crzydrifter
can someone help me. i dont know if im digressing from teh topic but it seems u guys are talking about my problem or around dere. i accidentally bought a dc peak charger thinking it had ac. but yea. i dont have a single thing that has a dc put so wat should i do? i need something that i can transfer power from ac to dc. i dont want to spend no more then 30 bucks on wat i need to buy. so wat dou guys recommend?
YUP Buy a used 12V power supply off ebay.
Other wise the pyramid one listed a page or two back is the best Power Supply for the money.
Hoep this helps,
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2005, 06:39 PM   #28
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

thanks a bunch. i understand wat i have to do now.
crzydrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RADIO SHACK R/C ATV rs4rallydriver Electric Off-Road 26 01-11-2009 08:05 PM
*** Radio Shack XMod Lot *** AZrcDude R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-24-2007 12:44 AM
Radio Shack/RC18B? wcalaker Electric Off-Road 2 01-05-2007 10:20 AM
RAdio Shack A-Ko Electric On-Road 10 11-23-2005 05:12 PM
radio shack charger takwing Electric Off-Road 6 03-22-2005 12:29 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net