R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2005, 10:14 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 233
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default 3PK HRS PCM Synthesized..whats the diff?

Could someone help me out? I'm interested in picking up a 3PK..the more I look into things, the more I'm confused. What's up with all the different versions ie. PCM HRS Synthesized?

Can anyone help me out?


Fazal
__________________
Xray T3 '12
Xray T4' 14
FKhanro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 10:30 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

OK:

PCM - only difference is the receiver is the PCM1024, abit bigger than the HRS receiver and have failsafe function which suits nitro cars.

HRS - only difference is the receiver is the HRS which is the smallest futaba receiver on the marker and is also quoted to be 30%+ quicker in response.

Other version - the module included in the transmitter is adjustable in frequency (no crystals), but you still need receiver crystals for either your PCM or HRS receiver.

Hope it helps, I suggest you just buy the 3pk transmitter only and get a Spektrum System.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 10:32 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

PCM- Most resistant to glitching. I think it also has a battery failsafe, which HRS doesnt have, but I'm not sure. You can use any servos with it.

HRS- Fastest response. Has the regular failsafe functions. You can only use digital servos with it.

Synthesized- I dont know anything about it other than that you can change channels by twisting dials on the modual and reciever rather than changing crystals. Im not sure if its PCM, HRS, or FM.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 10:51 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 233
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default 3PK

Thanks for the faaasst responses guys. Not to seem totally ignorant however, couple more questions:

Is the transmitter the same regardless of the receiver?

Can I use the same transmitter to run a PCM receiver in one car and an HRS receiver in another car?

It sounds like you can only run digital servos on the HRS but I'm sure a digital servo will work fine with a PCM, correct?

What I'm getting at is that I can get a good deal on a 3PK HRS set up, I already own a few futaba digital servos however, I don't think I want to go out and buy a bunch of extra HRS receivers as they are quite a bit more than the PCM recievers. Can I mix and match like this?

Fazal
__________________
Xray T3 '12
Xray T4' 14
FKhanro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 11:12 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Answer is yes to all your ????
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2005, 11:24 PM   #6
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

The radio itself has all three modes for you to choose, PPM, PCM, and HRS. Which ever receiver you got, just set it to that mode. Syn. should be in PPM mode.
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 06:51 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

i thought the radio needs a pcm module to run in that mode???

ppm and hrs, i believe, are selectable within the menu.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 06:56 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 233
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default 3PK

Thanks again guy!

Fazal
__________________
Xray T3 '12
Xray T4' 14
FKhanro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 07:23 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Talking

Seaball,

You can select all three modes in the TX, no module changing required.

How's that Monokote sponsorship coming?
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 09:11 AM   #10
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Exe Send a message via Yahoo to Exe
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JonnySocko
Seaball,

You can select all three modes in the TX, no module changing required.

How's that Monokote sponsorship coming?
you can sellect, but you need different receiver. with hrs receiver, fm and pcm don't work.
Exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2005, 09:16 PM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 17
Default analog receivers?

will analog receivers work with the pcm mode?

does a pcm tx work with a "standard" receiver (more specifically r142jr am 2 channel 75mhz)?

M.P.
mproy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:57 AM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 131
Default Re: analog receivers?

Quote:
Originally posted by mproy
will analog receivers work with the pcm mode?

does a pcm tx work with a "standard" receiver (more specifically r142jr am 2 channel 75mhz)?

M.P.
The TX is switchable between PPM, HRS and PCM... depending on what RX you are using...

Better bet is to buy the bare TX, and then buy a spektrum system module and tranceiver...

Has the best of al worlds (almost) synth frequency control, failsafe, digital accuracy, high response speed and add to that safety against switch ons and no rf glitching...

Galifrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 06:29 AM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern, KY
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have a 3PK, I have Novak XXtra Syn and they only work on PPM, I have 2 HRS receivers that only work ok HRS. There is a different receiver that works on PCM for nitro.
__________________
visit Hurricane Motorsports: www.teamhurricane.net | RCAmerica www.RCAmerica.com | HUDY | JACO
bigdog xxx-s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 08:14 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JonnySocko
Seaball,

You can select all three modes in the TX, no module changing required.

How's that Monokote sponsorship coming?
i did not know that. was it the 3pj that necessitated different modules?

the monokote deal seems to have fallen through. despite the fact that i have found a way to melt it and use it to take the place of paint. it's about a continuous 22 hour process, but the colors are to die for.

ps -- i tried to reach you shortly after the novak.... about stuff...
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 02:49 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
CypressMidWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 4,618
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: analog receivers?

Quote:
Originally posted by mproy
will analog receivers work with the pcm mode?

does a pcm tx work with a "standard" receiver (more specifically r142jr am 2 channel 75mhz)?

M.P.
The 3pk wouldn't work with an AM receiver, Amplitude Modulation and Frequency Modulation are two completely different methods of signal transmission.
__________________
Team CRC, PowerPush, Access Race Place, US Indoor Champs, CD SUPERPRO, RK Designs, TxDSkingraphix, Cypress, Founder and lead instructor of the Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driver Training Program, enroll now.....
CypressMidWest is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats the key to a bullet-proof diff build in a B4? racer34v Electric Off-Road 10 06-04-2008 12:18 PM
whats the diff Airtronics Caliber 3Psand the 3p afish Radio and Electronics 6 01-03-2008 08:57 AM
WHATS THE DIFF. BETWEEN FLAT VS ROUND WOUND ARMATURES RED-LINE M03 Electric On-Road 12 07-13-2007 11:43 PM
xx4 and the xx4 we whats the diff yeaklet4 Electric Off-Road 2 03-28-2007 07:12 PM
[B]Fioroni Center Diff And Front Diff And Ofna Torsion Diff For Hyper 7[/B] Imdadundada7 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 22 08-07-2006 11:11 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:24 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net