R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2013, 02:47 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: reading, pa
Posts: 11
Default would this be ok

I got a HPI RS4 Rally. Would a Hobbywing 10t 3500kv motor be fine in it? Not making a racer.
Rummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 03:06 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
liljohn1064's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deerfield, WI
Posts: 5,578
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rummie View Post
I got a HPI RS4 Rally. Would a Hobbywing 10t 3500kv motor be fine in it? Not making a racer.
Just for fun, it'll be pretty fast, but ok.
__________________
John Higgins former student of The Ian Ruggles Negative Reinforcement Driving School. The "Team Principal".
liljohn1064 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 04:09 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
GasGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tween a Rock & a Hard Place in Pa.
Posts: 1,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Personally I wouldn't put anything lower than a 13.5 or 17.5.
I have one and I run a 17.5-plenty fast, and able to put the power down
__________________
F! Metal Militia,VTA NATION--Team SloMoFo
losi 8t,mbx5t,rc8
rc8,Kyosho rb5,SCR
ft4 MT wallet
cyclone;xxx-s;x-rayT2;crc gen xl;bmi 12rrl
GasGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 05:41 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: reading, pa
Posts: 11
Default

Hmm ok, the Kv is still fair in the range I've seen most running...
Rummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 02:10 AM   #5
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,696
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rummie View Post
I got a HPI RS4 Rally. Would a Hobbywing 10t 3500kv motor be fine in it? Not making a racer.
10T is a perfect starting place for this.
RogerDaShrubber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 02:11 AM   #6
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,696
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adam911 View Post
my one friend also has an HPI RS4 Rally. he wants to make it a drift RC car, can he just changes the tires and starts drifting or he has to do some other changing in his car.
Pretty much change the tires, lock up the rear diff, play with settings for suspension and you are most of the way there.
RogerDaShrubber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 05:33 AM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: reading, pa
Posts: 11
Default

Cool, nice to know on the drift setup also. thanks.
Rummie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net