R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2006, 10:01 AM   #541
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

4 star is like a 7 turn ....


Thats a whole lot of motor...

most likely 3 star or even the 2 star may be a better choice for off-road 4W....

depends on how much traction & the size of track ...
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 11:08 AM   #542
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Latvia
Posts: 130
Default

What fan/heatsink combo you use with 4 star system in touring? Is it enough 30mm 5v fan + original heatsink?
JanisK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 03:09 PM   #543
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

Can I hook up a double Schottki diode to the motor when running in brushed mode?

I am using the original heatsink and the 30mm novak fan in my touring with no problems of overheating.
lookinco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 10:31 AM   #544
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 61
Default 12th recommendations

Hi

Which motor would you recommend for running in 12th scale outdoor asphalt? gearing recommendations?

thanks
snowyelan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 03:13 PM   #545
Tech Master
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to CarlosG.
Default

I am running the Sphere 3 Star in my 12th scale on outdoor asphalt along with 2 other guys. It has no problems at all. Just becareful in not over gearing the motor.

Last edited by CarlosG.; 05-02-2006 at 06:12 PM.
CarlosG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 05:34 PM   #546
Tech Master
 
Mr. McGoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,695
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

got a problem with my speher competition and 5800 - the sphere has been working flawlessly with my 4300, then this past weekend i popped in the 5800 - and it seemed to work ok in the pit -

i then go place it on the track, make a few turns and it just dies - the amber light comes on the speedo and i have no throttle anymore - i have steering but no motor - i put the 4300 back in and everything is ok...

is there a setting on the 5800 that i need to know about....

any help would be much appreciated....

marc
__________________
XRAY | RCAMERICA | HUDY | Team Tamale
Mr. McGoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 06:14 PM   #547
Tech Regular
 
SpeedyPenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lookinco
Can I hook up a double Schottki diode to the motor when running in brushed mode?

That's a big NO there, the spere is a forward/reverse speed control and it even says in the manual that a schottki diode should not be used with the spere.

Look in the section titled "Warning Notes"
SpeedyPenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 06:18 PM   #548
Tech Master
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to CarlosG.
Default

Mr. McGoo, check the temp of both the motor and esc. If the motor is pulling to many amps causing it to thermal. Also check your sensor wire to see if it does not have a short or a cut in it that might cause it to ground out. That are somethings that come to mind.
CarlosG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 07:56 PM   #549
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

I am running the Sphere Competition which is a foward/brake esc. There are no warming about the double shotki diode in the instruction manual.

Anyone installed one with the sphere competition? Does it make any difference in performance?
lookinco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 08:33 PM   #550
Tech Master
 
CarlosG.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Falls City,TX
Posts: 1,145
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to CarlosG.
Default

Check under to see if there is a Motor Suppression section like the Sphere has. It would say it there.
CarlosG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 11:08 PM   #551
Tech Adept
 
CarbonWorks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Go Big or Go Home
Posts: 213
Default

I had a Sphere Comp burn up on me a few weeks ago. I sent it in and they said they looked it over and that it would be covered under warranty. In the meantime, I bought another one since I didn't have anything else to use. Don from associated told me to mount the capacitor under the back of the esc like the manual tells you to do, but to additionally put some servo tape between the capacitor and the exposed power wires underneath. So I did. I was setting my slipper on our porch this evening when smoke began to pour from the speed control again. I had a lipo in ther car, so I was able to very quickly pull out the negative wire. After examining the esc, I noticed that the capacitor had apparantly bridged a few wires underneath the back......through the servo tape. You couln't see it , but when I tried to move the capacitor it felt like it was lightly soldered to the protruding wires. After exposing the cap, I could see where the insulation around it was missing in a small area. I mounted the capacitor in another location away from where they suggest mounting it, and believe it or not the thing seems to work fine. It sure stinks though. So all I'm saying is that the recommended location is for the cap is, perhaps, not the best location.
CarbonWorks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 06:08 PM   #552
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonWorks
I just saw the shaft thing you mentioned tonight on a friends 2 star. It just slid itself out of the can about another 1/2 inch. Only about 6 runs on the thing.
This happened to me today on a 3 star. Was geared right. No crashes, but I bumped the wall twice. Why is this happening?
The motor was brand-new...
Dodgersfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 08:11 PM   #553
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lookinco
I am running the Sphere Competition which is a foward/brake esc. There are no warming about the double shotki diode in the instruction manual.

Anyone installed one with the sphere competition? Does it make any difference in performance?
You can't use Schottky's on ANY BL speedo when it running in its BL mode. Schottky's are diodes, diodes are polarized. They work with brushed motors and speedos because the (+) wire always is (+) and the (-) is always (-).

By their nature all BL controller wires alternate (+)(-)(+)(-)(+)(-)(+)(-)(+)(-)... in order to fire the stator segments and make the rotor ...rotate. Thus there is no way to hook up a Schottky on a BL speedo with out blowing up the diode and/or the speedo.

When you are running a brushed motor with a BL controller you can run a Schottky just like normal soldered on to the motor tabs.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 10:42 PM   #554
Tech Adept
 
reilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: My Lab
Posts: 169
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Have a question,
My sphere comp. mode light toggles between red and amber and I have no
throttle. I have ck'd the sensor wiring harness, the motor and speedo were not
hot about 100 deg F, I have also tried a different BL motor with a different sensor harness, still nothing. Any advice??

Thanks,
James
__________________
CEFX, Express Motorsports, Parma, Reilly Paint
reilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2006, 03:43 AM   #555
Tech Apprentice
 
luke humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Grimsby
Posts: 53
Default

Hi there, i run the LRP Brushless also, and wen i 1st set it up i had the same problems, on the set up sheet u get with it, reset it and then go through the full process and then hope fully tht might help,check for dodgy wire connections and that the capacitor is in good condition,

regards Luke
luke humphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Novak Brushless Tekin mini rage Brushless 1/18 price to sell IOwNMkeG R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-01-2008 05:49 PM
brushless, spektrum receivers, charger, brushless losi 8 tschenck R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 04-08-2008 07:18 AM
WTT: 1/10 scale NIB car kits for Brushless RC18T or other Brushless 1/10 car Bohh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 04-06-2008 07:26 PM
NOVAK GTB BRUSHLESS RACING ESC 2.4GHZ + 13.5 BRUSHLESS MOTOR meronr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 01-29-2008 02:18 PM
Brushless B4 Brushless T4 Clodzilla 4 ThunderQuake truggy Ofna Lx Pro buggy pcnutz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 29 12-11-2005 01:12 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:33 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net