R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-01-2005, 06:47 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
noline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 227
Default GP 3300's or 3700's

I plan to run stock wich batteries would be better and wich one has better volts. GP 3300's or GP 3700's
noline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 06:54 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

gp 3300 are just fine for stock, no need to use 3700. hey before 3700, pro mod drivers used 3300 and probaly still do. But i too have a question... will i still get the same perormance from high quality 3300 stick packs if i were to covert them to side by side packs?
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 07:04 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
tc3blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 628
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I have five battery packs and one of them is a high quality stick pack. What's bothering me is that I always have to unscrew the screws on my tc3 and turn the battery strap around when I use the stick pack.

So I thought about making it a side by side pack; I don't see how it would affect performance if the connections are well done. Right?
tc3blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 07:07 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

Is it cheaper to buy high quality stick packs?
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 07:07 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

There is a lot of testing being done on the new 3700 batteries since they will be legal for racing soon. Early indications show that he new 3700s will be the same as the 3300 when numbers are comparable. For stock the 3700 will be great since the first punch of the early volts will be longer now (at least in theory). Run time will be longer, but that also means longer initial punch time which is great for stock. That's why guys deadshort. Only forseen problem is that the new cells are slightly larger.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 07:10 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

I would go for 3300 becuase that's all i can afford to get. But if you can get 3700 got for it. But just remember that there have been some issues with the batteries coming out that are over 3300mah.
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 07:16 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

3700's also heavier

If you plan on racing in a club or what have you check the rules first. 3700's may not be legal.

Also, 3700's may require modifications to your car so they fit properly.

Stick packs are often made up of cells that weren't good enough to put into matched cell packs which are sold for more money. Matched stick packs... well they are matched when new with lower numbers than typical loose cell packs, and because of the stick configuration.. they won't be 'matched' for very long at all because you cannot discharge individual cells.

You get what you pay for... A cheap matched pack of loose cells will have better numbers than an expensive 'matched' stick pack (there maybe exceptions).

You can convert a stick pack to side by side configuration. The benefits are with side by side you can now discharge each individual cell, and they will sit lower in your car.
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 07:30 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Tim Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,298
Default

I notice getting a few more laps with the 3700's before the 33's start to dump.
__________________
_______________________________________________________
Support your Local Hobby Shop, because you can't race on Ebay!
_______________________________________________________
Airtronics|Kyosho|
Tim Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 07:44 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
edseb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Laguna Niguel, California
Posts: 2,421
Default

In stock, dumping isn't a problem, but your voltage is. Let's face it, 3300 will last far longer than a 5 minute race, but the best power comes in the first fourth of it's discharge, so if you can lengthen that, then your power time is lengthened. That's why we deadshort. Only issue is weight and size if the voltage is the same. If you go with 3700, you'll have to retweak and balance the car every time you go from the 3700 to the 3300 and vise versa. Now with mod TC and 1/12th scale pan cars, the benefits start to look good too. Some possibilities:
No need for seperate receiver pack, or dumping, etc.
__________________
RC Car Action Editor and Photographer
Carl Hyndman
edseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 07:49 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Tim Johnson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,298
Default

ON the turbo matcher i notice the voltage stays higher longer with the 37's as well. I guess i should have mentioned that.
__________________
_______________________________________________________
Support your Local Hobby Shop, because you can't race on Ebay!
_______________________________________________________
Airtronics|Kyosho|
Tim Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 05:47 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
rc-car-net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Austria
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to rc-car-net Send a message via MSN to rc-car-net
Default

hmm....

i would say 3700! because they are somtimes cheaper than the 3300 !! but you have to think about the width because they are not realy sub c!

if you want to have the 3700 but you havn't got the place in your car i would say....buy the VTEC 3700 from lrp! they are a little bit bigger but you are able to but them into the car

maybe i'll buy some vtec 3700 soon
__________________
[SIZE="1"][URL="http://www.Rc-Car-Net.at"][COLOR=RoyalBlue]Rc-Car-Net[/COLOR][/URL] [COLOR=Cyan]-=-[/COLOR] [URL=http://www.RC-FORUM.at][COLOR=RoyalBlue]RC-Forum.at[/COLOR][/URL] [COLOR=Cyan]-=- [/COLOR] [URL=http://www.racing-cars.com][COLOR=RoyalBlue]Schumacher USA[/COLOR][/URL] [COLOR=Cyan]-=- [/COLOR] [URL=http://www.fantomracing.com][COLOR=RoyalBlue]Fantom Racing[/COLOR][/URL]

:tire::sneaky:[/size][size="2"] ................................. :sneaky::tire:
:sneaky::tire:[URL=http://www.summerchamps.de][COLOR="DarkOrange"]GERMANY Summer Champs[/COLOR][/URL][/SIZE]:tire::sneaky:
:tire::sneaky: ................................. :sneaky::tire:
rc-car-net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 06:03 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
MrRolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sans Souci, Sydney, Australia
Posts: 961
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Have you considered the Iintellect 3600 cells? I just got 4 packs and ran them for the first time on the weekend, the cells are alot punchier than the 3300's and performed great..

They are also cheaper than the GP cells (well over here they are, not sure about the US)
MrRolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 06:16 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rc-car-net
hmm....

i would say 3700! because they are somtimes cheaper than the 3300 !! but you have to think about the width because they are not realy sub c!

if you want to have the 3700 but you havn't got the place in your car i would say....buy the VTEC 3700 from lrp! they are a little bit bigger but you are able to but them into the car

maybe i'll buy some vtec 3700 soon
a top racer over here had some of the lrp vtecbatteries and when using mod,i think he was using 9 turn, couldnt make ruintime and kept dumping,and this was a top uk driver at a national.
__________________
Tamiya
Much More Racing
LRP electronic
Futaba
Speedtechrc
trf racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 06:18 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
mild seven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,035
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mild seven
Default

i got some 3600s too and are fantastic for stock so much punch now comapred to my 3300s and my 3600s arnt matched either.
mild seven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 09:00 AM   #15
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default 3600

mild seven- were did u get your packs?
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3700's shift Electric On-Road 2 10-13-2006 04:18 AM
GP 3700's duggyb Rookie Zone 17 05-21-2006 07:27 PM
3700's,3300's AE spring set. schmelme R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 03-29-2006 01:19 PM
LRP V-TECH 3700's scoobydo Electric On-Road 3 02-12-2005 02:25 PM
FS/FT GP-3300's and Sanyo HV 3300's K1WEY R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-09-2004 06:05 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:02 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net