R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2005, 12:57 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CANADA!!
Posts: 433
Default Tamiya TEU 101 problems.

Problem is that the Tamiya ESC keeps flashing it's LED. There's no change whatsoever when I press the "Set" button. I follow the steps exactly and there's no setting. The servo doesn't even move!! (I have a feeling the motor doesn't move either?)

My receiver is fine. I plugged it into my Novak ESC, and everything works (throttle, steering, etc.).


edit: found the problem. my BEC connector was flipped the wrong way... my bad....

Last edited by dugrant153; 04-30-2005 at 02:49 AM.
dugrant153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:24 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CANADA!!
Posts: 433
Default

okay, wanted to post a new problem.

I really like how small and lightweight this ESC is compared to my old Novak ESC. However, this ESC is very glitchy.

It happens when I press the throttle just a little bit (not full throttle). I was observing it and when it "glitches", there is very little response from the motor and the servo jitters!

I don't think this is interference.

I'm using a JR servo with a Hitec receiver (Lynx AM) with the Tamiya ESC plugged into all the holes (BEC, CH1, CH2). Any suggestions?
dugrant153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:33 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: oc
Posts: 541
Default

jr and hightech not the best combo, you also got to remember that the tamiya speedo is a full racing speedo. maybe find somebody with a M8 w/ same servo reciever package try it that way.....or all your stuff is not getting along very well

Last edited by lickrim; 05-02-2005 at 11:49 PM.
lickrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:44 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CANADA!!
Posts: 433
Default

the strange thing is I don't get much glitching from my Novak Elektra (with the same radio set up).

But by Tamiya ESC being a full race ESC, what do you mean exactly?
Could my servo be the problem?
dugrant153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:47 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: oc
Posts: 541
Default

mixing of the different products, i.e. am radio,hitec servo. jynx radio if your stuff is old your new speedo will tell you first
lickrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2005, 11:51 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CANADA!!
Posts: 433
Default

oh really? hmm... I wonder why I've never had that issue with my Novak ESC then?
dugrant153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 12:03 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: oc
Posts: 541
Default

the only true way to test your stuff, you check the servo first, then the reciever, than speedo .all wires to all the products....
the tamiya speedo is either KO or FUTABA more than likley its a KO made for tamiya
lickrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 12:10 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CANADA!!
Posts: 433
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lickrim
the only true way to test your stuff, you check the servo first, then the reciever, than speedo .all wires to all the products....
the tamiya speedo is either KO or FUTABA more than likley its a KO made for tamiya
How would I check each item?
try each different component?
thanks for the incite so far
dugrant153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 12:18 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: oc
Posts: 541
Default

try different servo ,different receiver and so on make sure that your test stuff is new thats the only way to check for falts
lickrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 12:30 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CANADA!!
Posts: 433
Default

oh okay guess I'll do that then.

*sigh*... hopefully I don't have to buy more stuff
dugrant153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 03:13 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
fabolousRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jakarta...lah
Posts: 933
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to fabolousRC Send a message via Yahoo to fabolousRC
Default

TEU 101 is not a racing ESC. It is a basic rookie ESC and definitely not as smooth as Novak Electra.

I think you just broke your ESC. What do you expect from a free ESC anyway?
fabolousRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 03:16 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
fabolousRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jakarta...lah
Posts: 933
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to fabolousRC Send a message via Yahoo to fabolousRC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lickrim
jr and hightech not the best combo, you also got to remember that the tamiya speedo is a full racing speedo. maybe find somebody with a M8 w/ same servo reciever package try it that way.....or all your stuff is not getting along very well
Do not spit something you do not really know.

Servos are universal so I do not think there is a problem there.

Plus THERE IS NO SUCH THING as servo and receiver getting along very well. bwahahhahahahah...What do you think R/C is? Jerry Springer show?
fabolousRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 08:47 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Ghostfit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Milky Way
Posts: 617
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fabolousRC
What do you think R/C is? Jerry Springer show?

LOL !
Ghostfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 11:21 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: oc
Posts: 541
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fabolousRC
Do not spit something you do not really know.

Servos are universal so I do not think there is a problem there.

Plus THERE IS NO SUCH THING as servo and receiver getting along very well. bwahahhahahahah...What do you think R/C is? Jerry Springer show?

what up know it all your so factory that you never been out of you local hobby shop ....im really do know what im talking about i run for airtronics what but the cops do you run for ....come down to socal dude you'll see me full factory dick
lickrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2005, 11:55 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CANADA!!
Posts: 433
Default

to get back onto topic:

alrighty, so I put my Novak back into the receiver and now the NOVAK jitters too! just in the same way as the Tamiya ESC!

I have a feeling the Tamiya ESC somehow messed up my receiver.
Anyone know much about this?
dugrant153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selling Schumacher Mi2, Tamiya M02, Tamiya TA04-S, Tamiya TB Evolution 3 Surikarn Ltd st_rob Australia For Sale/Trade 4 12-23-2008 07:37 PM
Tamiya Mini 4WD gear problems flash1986 Micro and Mini Scales 1 07-18-2007 06:42 AM
ESC problems? TwistdPede Monster Trucks 4 02-27-2006 03:06 PM
Steering problems on Tamiya TA05 and M03L nexxus Electric On-Road 16 01-06-2006 08:41 AM
Problems zachzachz Electric On-Road 9 08-23-2003 08:43 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:16 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net