R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2007, 03:16 PM   #1366
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnewb2004 View Post
The external output is garbage. basically, don't use it for anything, but maybe to power a lathe.

Check your contacts... clean the surface of ur bars with rubbing alcohol, it may give better numbers
Thats the strange thing, it doesnt have anything to do with bad contact or anything. The voltage on the ICC contacts themselves is 1.35V but when I discharge a 4 cell pack, cell 4's voltage is floating. 6 cell discharging, cell 4 is fine!
I have no idea what this could be.
So the external output doenst really work well huh, need to remember that... cause 8.5A charge is a bit too much even if you dont wanna fill the cells up completely.
__________________
Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot.
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 03:46 PM   #1367
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quante View Post
Has anyone measured the Amps the charger is really putting on the External output?
Yesterday I set it up for 2A, measured with a Multimeter I got a reading of 8.5A!
I tried it several times but all it gave was 8.5A...

2nd question, I cycled my 4 cell packs yesterday and cell 4's voltage is floating... measured on the clamps: 1.35V, charges indicates something varuing from 0.7->1.1V.
the strange thing is, when I put in a 6 cell pack readings are perfect! Also for cell 4.
Just got it back from repairs and I dont feel like sending it in again if anyone knows the failure, please tell me and I'll see if I will do the repairs myself.
(oh yeah, using soft version 1.07b)

Is that 8.5 under load reading?
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 04:31 PM   #1368
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I do not think the ICC is actually capable of charging at 8.5A on its external output... the max is 5.0A. There must be something else going on here. (you would probably blow up the external hook up or something... i am guessing) It is very easy (as some other members have posted here have said)... very easy to screw up, blow up the external outputs if u hook a motor up or something else.

Does this happen to only cell 4 on that pack? or does it happen to every 4 cell pack you have charged?
__________________
Ta04-TRF, EVO 5
Futaba
KO Propo
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 09:32 AM   #1369
Tech Master
 
c-lyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Mine allows me to dial up 6 on the external but I think it only does 5.
c-lyon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 10:06 AM   #1370
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 23
Default question

Is this interesting?

http://cgi.ebay.it/Spintec-ICC-charg...QQcmdZViewItem


It isn't new but there is 5 cells cable and pc cable inside.

Ciao
__________________
Italian RC driver
Xray T4'017 LRP Lipo ESC Scorpion Vanguard S3-140, LRP X20 13.5
Mon-tech, Futaba 3pKS,
unico2003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 01:08 PM   #1371
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnewb2004 View Post
Also curious, what are you using to make these graphs, they look cool, but wish there was something on that x-axis
you need a Pro-Trak + software connected like this to the ICC
Attached Thumbnails
spintec I.C.C charger-spintec-pro-trak.jpg  
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 01:38 PM   #1372
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Marys, GA
Posts: 312
Default

I tried to upgrade this system to the 1.07b and now only get two blank lines. Can somebosy please help me get this thing working? It has never had a battery in it and now it does nothing.
donny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 01:50 PM   #1373
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donny View Post
I tried to upgrade this system to the 1.07b and now only get two blank lines. Can somebosy please help me get this thing working? It has never had a battery in it and now it does nothing.
have you tried to reinstall 1.07b a second time? May be worth a go

if all else fails best is to email Erik Jonk @ Spintec

from the manual, see the red text
Quote:
5.2.4. System Settings
1. PC Interface
Use this function to connect to a PC when you have the Interface
Cable (optional item) installed.
The PC Interface Cable can be used to update the firmware of the
ICC with the latest version. You can download the latest version
from www.spintec.nl. Here you can also download your free copy
of the Firmware Upgrade Tool for PC.
To update the ICC take the following steps:
1. Switch the power supply to the ICC off.
2. Remove all packs and cables from the ICC.
3. Connect the Interface Cable between the ICC data port and a free
serial COM port on your PC.
4. Start up the Firmware Upgrade Tool on your PC.
5. Select the right COM port and press the ‘Connect’ button.
6. Now switch on the power supply of the ICC.
7. Scroll to the PC Interface menu and confirm with ‘yes’.
8. The Upgrade Tool should respond with ‘ICC Connected’.
C h a r g i n g → 5 . 0 A
2 5 . 0 m V
7 . 6 5 V 1 2 3 4 m A h 2 4 3 s
S t a r t E x i t
→ 1 . P C I n t e r f a c e
2 . K e y S o u n d O f f
3 . S y s t e m I n f o
4 . E x i t
15
9. Click on the ‘Upgrade’ button and select the latest firmware file
(file extension .icc).
10. Upgrading process will start, progress is indicated by status bar.
This will take a couple of minutes.
It is very important that the upgrading process is not
disturbed. Do not disconnect the cable, do not switch of the
power supply, do not close the Upgrade Tool and do not shut
down the PC!
Note: If anything goes wrong, memory of the ICC will be cleared
and the unit will not start up anymore. In this case the ICC
autmatically always starts up in upgrade mode. So just repeat above
steps to install new firmware in memory
.
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 02:50 PM   #1374
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Marys, GA
Posts: 312
Default

I have tried installing 107b a second and third try with now luck. The unit still doesn the same thing. I will try the email you sent me, but looking back he hasn't been around for a while. My fingers are crossed. If you or anybody else has a previous update please PM me with it. Thanks for the help.

Donny
donny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2007, 04:41 PM   #1375
Tech Addict
 
magm20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radio_car_racer View Post
you need a Pro-Trak + software connected like this to the ICC
THANKS FOR LETTIN ME know about this product.

can it charge discharge aswell?

in which case inst it the same as an icc?
__________________
RIP Kanye West ..... Mom
magm20001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 02:04 AM   #1376
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magm20001 View Post
THANKS FOR LETTIN ME know about this product.

can it charge discharge aswell?

in which case inst it the same as an icc?
replied (#516) to your post in the Pro-Trak thread
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 03:45 AM   #1377
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnewb2004 View Post
I do not think the ICC is actually capable of charging at 8.5A on its external output... the max is 5.0A. There must be something else going on here. (you would probably blow up the external hook up or something... i am guessing) It is very easy (as some other members have posted here have said)... very easy to screw up, blow up the external outputs if u hook a motor up or something else.

Does this happen to only cell 4 on that pack? or does it happen to every 4 cell pack you have charged?
As for the extenal output:
Measurement was done using a Multimeter in series with the battery.
It also gradually goes up: Starts out with 0.2A -> 0.8A -> 1.2A -> 8.5A
If a FET was blown it would prolly pull everything from my psp in the 4-cell pack. I'm gonna try what it does with a 6-Cell pack, if the current drops I'l know more. If it keeps 8.5A then the charger s definately setting 8.5A.

For Cell 4: yes, it happens to every cell 4 in my 4-cell packs when I discharge so there's something wrong with the voltage measurement. Its really strange that the problem disappeares when using a 6 cell pack and that it charges perfectly!

Gonna call Erik on this, I hope he has an explanation and a solution I can perform myself. I wont pay for shipment twice in 2 weeks.
__________________
Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot.
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 04:28 AM   #1378
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Hmm... good luck w/ that Quante,

The last thing I guess you could check is to see if any of the posts have de-soldered because I know i get voltage reading errors when one of the spring posts have desoldered...
__________________
Ta04-TRF, EVO 5
Futaba
KO Propo
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 07:59 AM   #1379
Tech Master
 
billjacobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 1,264
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default spintec icc

I feel for the guys having problems with this charger. I bought 1 and sold it. All together I had 2 solder posts unsolder, which I fixed to much better than new (they use very little seemingly weak solder,) and I always had the cell on the left get hotter before the others (unit power supply is on the left and gets hot.)

This charger is a great idea which was built with too many questionable design decisions. These defective design items cause all kinds of problems for the user, as this forum shows, listed below:
1) spring post solder joint under stress (should have never done this,)
2) battery layout opposite of every discharge tray on the market
3) temp sensors are inaccurate (should have been magnetic,)
4) still no lipo support after 2 years of promises
5) no temp sensor on external charging port
6) difficult to use in hot weather
7) $400 price isn't worth it for the unit's bad design

And, unresponsive support. Buyer beware.
billjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2007, 09:04 AM   #1380
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Ok, did a few tests today, dunno how I got 8,5A the other day but I found this on the external output:
8 cell pack (transmitter): I measured = I set
6 cell pack: I measured = 1,3x I set
4 cell pack: I measured = 1,5x I set

So what you set aint what comes out on the exteral output.
The current also goes very slowly up to the measured current. While it goes up, no mAh are counted (well, 1 or 2 or so). Once the current settles it varies with some 0,04A and mAh are counted ok. When you start charging in the tray you will also see a difference in I measured, current goes down but readjusts.
So when chaging on the external output you need to take into account this factor. Delta peak cutoff also works like a charm.

Since my charger measures the 4th cells voltage well when charging, and discharging a 6 cell pack I'm guessing a bad solder joint on the FET responsible for discharging Cell 4, maybe even a bad FET (but thats doubtfull). But I'll talk to Erik about that.
__________________
Make it idiot-proof, and someone will make a better idiot.
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spintec ICC Charger MDawson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-29-2008 09:05 AM
Spintec ICC charger ioxqq R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-15-2007 10:53 AM
Spintec ICC charger Dusty Kemp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 10-27-2006 06:33 AM
Spintec Charger Nuno Gancho Electric On-Road 3 07-21-2006 04:32 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:46 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net