R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-04-2007, 04:32 PM   #1066
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

On the external leads, what is the maximum number of amps you can charge at? Also 8A? I want to be able to at least charge at 6.0A on the external, (cause want to charge 2 packs at a time, incase i am in a hurry)!

Its good to know the spintec can now do up to 8.0A in the tray.

Right now, I have no real use for charging at 8.0A, but would like it to be there. You just never know when u might be in a hurry, or suddenly decide u might want to set off a very expensive fire cracker
__________________
Ta04-TRF, EVO 5
Futaba
KO Propo
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 05:39 PM   #1067
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Inkster, MI
Posts: 15
Default CHARGING 6 CELLS

With the new hardware update for charging 5 cells, will it still be possible to gharge 6 cells?
Robd347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 06:22 PM   #1068
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,994
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default V1.6C

I loaded up version 1.6C (very uber easy to do)
and the charger worked pretty darn well.
from my experience updating software on other chargers is a big pain or the unit would have to be sent in to the Manufacturer, this was very easy to do on Spintec with the interface cable.

The only flaw I saw (so far) with the new software update was in the step charge setting the directional arrows dissapears after the second step, which kinda makes sense since you don't really change anything on the 3rd step but would have been nice to see the arrow go to the Exit line. Again not a big thing at all.

my old batteries that were pretty much dead on my other chargers but the batteries now actually felt great after a few charges on the Spintec.
The Spintec could definetely tell me which cell were just dog dead and ready to chuck.

Would recommend getting the Integy twin fan or the Much More twin fan setup, the Integy is quite cheaper around $22.00. The temps were very accurate after i put the fan on top of the batteries. You can place the fan right over the batteries or place the fan stands inside of the Spintec cooling fins fits perfectly. I think the flaw in temp monitoring is the lack of cooling air flow.
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 07:38 PM   #1069
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnewb2004
On the external leads, what is the maximum number of amps you can charge at? Also 8A? I want to be able to at least charge at 6.0A on the external, (cause want to charge 2 packs at a time, incase i am in a hurry)!

Its good to know the spintec can now do up to 8.0A in the tray.

Right now, I have no real use for charging at 8.0A, but would like it to be there. You just never know when u might be in a hurry, or suddenly decide u might want to set off a very expensive fire cracker
External still appears to be 5A
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 07:38 PM   #1070
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBreve
Just curious, why would you charge at 8A?

With the ICC I went down in current for the IB4200's to 5.5A
Do you run mod?
Some people like the higher rates to try and get extra punch in Stock.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk

Last edited by Skiddins; 02-05-2007 at 06:10 AM.
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 09:58 PM   #1071
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Dang, that means if i want to charge 8000 mah lipos at 1C, that will not be possible? But that's cool to know that i can do that.

Has anyone tried step charging with the new versions? does the charger step charge well?
__________________
Ta04-TRF, EVO 5
Futaba
KO Propo
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 12:22 AM   #1072
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,994
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default Step charging

So far the step charging is working good with the latest software,
especially like the option of changing the charge Amps during a step while it's going the charger then drops back to the designated Amp setting for the next step.


Tried it this weekend, bump up the 7.0 on step 2. I started my pack late and had to bump it up. when the charger when to step 3 it went back to the predefined 6.0.

The peak sensitity is working ver well also.

I seriously doubt if the charger will able to charge Lipos soon I will probably say they probably will have to come out with a new hardware setup. Just guessing of course. All in all not bad for a first attempt at making a top charger. If they come out with another version in the next few years...i'm sure it will be the best out there.
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 02:47 AM   #1073
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Its cool to know that step charging is great on the new version of the ICC.

I brought that up, because on their original spec sheet (about 1 year ago) they have already said that this charger will have lipo charging abilities. Therefore I assumed that the charger would be able to charge lipos after some software updates... I am sorry, I am completely nub as to the difference between how charging nimh is different from charging lipo.

I thought maybe some software changes and maybe an adapter + a balancer would fix things.
__________________
Ta04-TRF, EVO 5
Futaba
KO Propo
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 03:07 PM   #1074
Tech Elite
 
bigb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to bigb11
Default

Does anybody know who has them in stock?
__________________
PHAT QUAD RACING, HPI/HOTBODIES, RATZAS, DARKSIDE MOTOR SPORTS, PARMA, Brown Engineering, ROBITRONICS, RC AMERICA, PANTHER, TEKIN, TEAM HOLY ROLLER, Rev Tech/Epic, RC AFRICA, HITEC www.browneng.org, DE wheels
bigb11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 03:33 PM   #1075
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oskaloosa Iowa
Posts: 56
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Weird, my internal only goes to 6 and my external only to 5...this is with 1.06c. Also I use a fan on the heatsink, I run 4 cell and it gets really hot when charging. I didn't use it one time, first time with 1.06c and the cell temps were reading 10 C higher than the temp gun but when I used the fan they were right inline with the temp gun. Also has anyone had trouble with static when they go to touch the ICC? It is really cold and dry here right now and there is a lot of static in the air and when I have touched it a few times it has made the display go blank. I was curious if anyone else has seen this and if maybe grounding the case would help with this?
vwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2007, 06:59 PM   #1076
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

vwal,

you cannot get an 8.0A charge maybe cause you are using 4 cell? have u tried it on 6 cell?

Its strange, since you and skiddins both have 1.06c
__________________
Ta04-TRF, EVO 5
Futaba
KO Propo
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 11:58 AM   #1077
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oskaloosa Iowa
Posts: 56
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I will have to try it on 6 cells. Weird you can't charge the same with either though.
vwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2007, 09:04 PM   #1078
Tech Adept
 
B&B Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 182
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to B&B Racing
Default Static!!!!

We have seen the effects of ESD a few times with both of ours. The only way that I have found to get the display back it to power it off and back on. We have started to make it a point to touch something else that is grounded before touching the ICC.

djb
__________________
Sponsered by BJ & Z Hobbies.
B&B Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 12:56 PM   #1079
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oskaloosa Iowa
Posts: 56
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

That is all I could do also was shut it off and turn back on. I wasn't sure if anyone had tried grounding it or not. I also had been touching something else first but the one time I forgot.... It is a pain. I am going to email Erik and see what he has to say about it.
vwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2007, 08:48 AM   #1080
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Hi, sorry if this question is old!

what's the difference between the different hardware version? How i can recognize it?

What's the difference between the "in wiew lever" (like the photo in official web site) and covered lever?


Sorry for my english

Erko, italian racer
Erko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spintec ICC Charger MDawson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-29-2008 09:05 AM
Spintec ICC charger ioxqq R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-15-2007 10:53 AM
Spintec ICC charger Dusty Kemp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 10-27-2006 06:33 AM
Spintec Charger Nuno Gancho Electric On-Road 3 07-21-2006 04:32 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:54 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net