Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
spintec I.C.C charger >

spintec I.C.C charger

spintec I.C.C charger

Old 11-19-2006, 06:26 PM
  #931  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (206)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,415
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

CEFX is a very nice track. I hope to make it to the Nats next year.

Is it me or does every spec sheet for the IIC show a 10 amp max charge rate. And 7 is the most mine would go to.

I have emailed Spintec a couple weeks ago and no reply on some other questions. It seems that the Spintec guys do not show on this forum now that the charger is having problems.
dodgeguy is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 06:43 AM
  #932  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by Robd347
Got mine back a week ago from Horizon Hobby with the same problem. ICC smoked while using the motor run, KOS 27 was shorted. You are right there is no over amp protection on this charger. It took about two weeks turn around and charger was exchanged for a new one, no repaires were made. Next time you come to CEFX look me up.
I have the same problem and Erik told me to send it back to him for repair, can I just send it to Horizon instead? that would be cheaper and quicker than sending it back to Erik.

Thanks,
Nick Malinoski
Nick_Malinoski is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 02:21 PM
  #933  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Sluggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,364
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

It seems the more I use this charger the more problems I find. I'm starting to question all the money I spent on this charger. I ran a motor on it the other day and when the amp draw got higher it just went wide open and the screen read all zero's and I couldn't shut it off! I didn't check to see if anything was toasted yet but I'm really questioning everything I'm reading about more and more problems. May be time to get the GFX fired back up
Sluggo is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 03:09 PM
  #934  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I never shut mine down :-)
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 06:39 PM
  #935  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (206)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,415
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nick_Malinoski
I have the same problem and Erik told me to send it back to him for repair, can I just send it to Horizon instead? that would be cheaper and quicker than sending it back to Erik.

Thanks,
Nick Malinoski
I asked my LHS that today. He said Horizon let him return 1. But from then on it was thru Spintec. So I am shipping it out tomorrow.

I do hope it comes back with the proper protection. And some good board joints. Or a redesign.

So far this is becoming a quality problem charger.
dodgeguy is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 02:18 PM
  #936  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 39
Default

Originally Posted by dodgeguy
I asked my LHS that today. He said Horizon let him return 1. But from then on it was thru Spintec. So I am shipping it out tomorrow.

I do hope it comes back with the proper protection. And some good board joints. Or a redesign.

So far this is becoming a quality problem charger.
I will check with my LHS.

Thanks!
Nick Malinoski
Nick_Malinoski is offline  
Old 11-21-2006, 03:59 PM
  #937  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (206)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,415
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

Well after $31 and some change. Mine is off across the pond. This will be the last oversea charger I get. Or any other type of item that may need service.

Sure wished Tekin would make something like this charger.
dodgeguy is offline  
Old 11-22-2006, 06:56 PM
  #938  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yeah.. they need to get a U.S. service agent the way LRP hooked up with Associated.
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 04:46 PM
  #939  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Sluggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,364
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Well ...Chalk up another one for a blown up external circuit. I just tried to run a motor and it was just wide open and then tried to charge a pack and said it was done in like 5 seconds! ..... I did get ahold of the hobby shop I had got it from and he said he was gonna call them and send it back right away. I'm not sure who he is dealing with but I'll find out soon enough. Back to my old trusty GFX 35 I'll post when I hear more.
Sluggo is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 05:08 PM
  #940  
Tech Adept
 
BlueR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 129
Default

even if it dont work, still take it to the track, it looks great and you will get respectk
BlueR1 is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 06:03 PM
  #941  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 105
Lightbulb spintec icc

sounds like the old victor chargers.Good ideas ahead of the rest but durabilty problems.Can't beat CE
lance is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 09:55 PM
  #942  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
B&B Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 182
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Exclamation Charging Errors

Ok guys, here is a new problem that happened to me today. I was running the 4-cell stock 1/12 scale class today. We have 3 qualifiers and then the main. I charged up my first 2 qualifier packs @ 5 amps without any problems. Packs took in the expected amounts and did not generate any errors. My 3rd qualifier pack also ended without any errors but the mAH seamed a little high. I thought that it might have been just a deeper discharged pack than I expected and continued on. Since it was quite a ways off until my main pack was needed, I waited before starting to charge it. While repeaking my qualifier pack, I noticed that the voltage was low! I upped the repeak amperage to 5 amps and the voltage remained low. At this point I feared the worst, an uncharged pack. I upped the amperage again to 6 amps and did peak charge the pack just before my race. When I got back, I had started the charge on the main pack. It showed that there was a total of 3200 mAH in the pack but the cell voltage was 1.12V and the cell temp was 62 F. I quickly took the pack out and restarted charging the pack on another charger. I thought that maybe the charger was confused and powered it down. After powering it back up I discharged a pack @ 10 amps and it completed as expected. I then tried to charge a pack and watched the voltage. It showed me that the charging voltage on a completely discharged pack was 8.11V! This was charging at 5 amps. The cell voltage was showing 1.12V. I checked the external charging and it seamed to be working. Anyone else see anything like this? Oh, version of 1.6 firmware was installed last Sunday. The unit came with version 1.05 installed.

djb
B&B Racing is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 10:05 PM
  #943  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (206)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,415
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

It is possible you are seeing the bug in the software. If the pack peaks the mah will still count. And the voltage remains low. When I saw this the first time with 1.06 I thought my pack was bad. But it was the software of the charger.

I hope they get these things fixed on this charger. I sent mine in last week for a blown motor run. I do hope they fix the protection for it. I am going to add in a fuse in line on my leads when I get mine back. I think 10 amp will work. I hope.
dodgeguy is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:04 PM
  #944  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
B&B Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 182
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Can you guys get to Spintec's web site?

http://www.spintec.nl/

Just checking to see if it is me or them.

djb
B&B Racing is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:28 PM
  #945  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (206)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,415
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

I can not get to it myself.
dodgeguy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.