Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
spintec I.C.C charger >

spintec I.C.C charger

spintec I.C.C charger

Old 11-13-2006, 12:48 PM
  #916  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by smokerules
Any body willing to make a battery chart?
Something that would help ALL of us out?
Battery Type.
Cell count-(4 or 6)
Charger settings that work well.

I have a hard time figuring out what works, everybody's different I know!
I just was looking for a guide line to start with.

It's a little hard to keep these cells from venting, and false peaking(not finishing the complete charge in mAh.
Thanx for any help, this site is the BEST!
I learn something new every time I get on here!

My Spintec is working perfectly (no false peaks, no cells venting) with the following settings for IB 4200 4-cell:

Charge amps: 6.0
volt cut-off: 2.0 mv
max temp: 105 deg. F.
min teim: 98 deg. F.

I have ver 1.06
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 05:18 PM
  #917  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,911
Default

Am I correct in thinking that the lower the Delta Peak setting the more sensitive the charger will be to to batteries charge level.

In other words, if I lower the delta from it's current 3.0mv will the charger peak sooner?

My packs never peak at the minium temp (36 C) and seem to get pretty hot according to my temp gun.

Skiddins
Skiddins is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 10:27 PM
  #918  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I have been using 1.5mv setting and still put over 5200 mah in IB 4200, what needs to be remembered is there is not as much resistance with the way the charger connects to the cells so it is possibly more accurate.
bjspinner is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 12:29 AM
  #919  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: bakersfield,ca
Posts: 5
Talking Thanx

Originally Posted by TeamGoodwrench
My Spintec is working perfectly (no false peaks, no cells venting) with the following settings for IB 4200 4-cell:

Charge amps: 6.0
volt cut-off: 2.0 mv
max temp: 105 deg. F.
min teim: 98 deg. F.

I have ver 1.06
Hey thanx for the quick reply!
I am looking for 6 cell also if anyone else has anything that works well for them!
smokerules is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 06:45 AM
  #920  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

If you guys are getting false peaks, it's probably because you're takeing the cells down too far (possibly on a tray) before you start charging. Could also be the contacts (clean solder connections).


Without going into all the little details, overdischarging the current cells creates extra water in the cell. This extra water tends to screw up the balance inside the cell.


One other thing to note with the Spintec charger is that it doesn't pull enough current to turn on some of the bigger switching power supplies. If your charger boots up fine and then starts flashing the display, put more load on the supply. Tire warmers worked for me.
Unregistered is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 08:41 AM
  #921  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Before charging a pack (4-cell), I discharge it at 30 amps to 4.00 volts (NO LOWER).

Then I tray the pack with a Novak Smart Tray SE -- I set the voltage cut-off to 1.0 volt per cell (NO LOWER !).

Then charge on the Spintec -- works great every time
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 10:57 AM
  #922  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Anybody know where Eric has been the last week or so ?? Haven't gotten a reply to my emails.
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 03:42 PM
  #923  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,911
Default

It seems that no matter what temperature I set the charger to, it will only peak when the cells reach the 'peak temperature'

I have tried 3mv, 2mv and 4mv, and whatever the minium temp is, 35c I think. After comments about the inaccuracy of the temp probes I have tried maxiumum temps of 38, 39, 40, 42 etc and it always peaks at that temp. The actual temp appears to be about 10deg higher.

Why aren't they peaking 'during' the temp range I've set?

Should I try 5mv Delta peak, would this increase the chances of the pack peaking sooner or make things worse?

These are IB4200's and 4200 SHV's

Skiddins
Skiddins is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 07:10 PM
  #924  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

From what's happening here, I hope there is enuf software freedom to be able to let us calibrate the temp sensors. even a +X degrees simple offset calibration is going to be necessary, because the sensors are basically there, but not making sense.

Skiddins, do you mean the icc is always stopping because the temperature settings and not your peak detection settings?
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 11-18-2006, 07:44 PM
  #925  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 148
Default

Skiddins, my first two ICC's did the same thing. My units were from the first production batch. My new ICC (Second batch) is better so far, most cells peak before the temp cutoff (45C, 2mv/cell) whereas before with the same settings every cell would peak on max temp every time.

It's still coming off hotter than 45 degrees according to my temp probe though, but not as bad as before.
Seano is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 06:12 AM
  #926  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,911
Default

Originally Posted by rcnewb2004
From what's happening here, I hope there is enuf software freedom to be able to let us calibrate the temp sensors. even a +X degrees simple offset calibration is going to be necessary, because the sensors are basically there, but not making sense.

Skiddins, do you mean the icc is always stopping because the temperature settings and not your peak detection settings?
Yes, that's exactly what's happening, it has software ver 1.06

Skididns
Skiddins is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 08:38 AM
  #927  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

i havea dumass suggestion, set ur peak to 0mv. (i don't even understand how u can get 0mv peak detection) <-- how do you know a cell is finished charging if the voltage does not drop?

but set a ultra low peak, and like 45 degrees cut off on a "practice pack" and see what happens? i cannot do that... because i am working now... sigh... for another 8 months...
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:27 PM
  #928  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (206)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,416
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone let the smoke out using the motor run? It does not seem to be well protect against over amp draw. Ashame for a charger of this price. The more I use this charger the more problems it seems to get.

Now I need to send the paper weight in to have the external output fixed.

Has anyone sent one in from the USA for repair?
dodgeguy is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 04:56 PM
  #929  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Inkster, MI
Posts: 15
Default

Originally Posted by dodgeguy
Has anyone let the smoke out using the motor run? It does not seem to be well protect against over amp draw. Ashame for a charger of this price. The more I use this charger the more problems it seems to get.

Now I need to send the paper weight in to have the external output fixed.

Has anyone sent one in from the USA for repair?
Got mine back a week ago from Horizon Hobby with the same problem. ICC smoked while using the motor run, KOS 27 was shorted. You are right there is no over amp protection on this charger. It took about two weeks turn around and charger was exchanged for a new one, no repaires were made. Next time you come to CEFX look me up.
Robd347 is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 05:07 PM
  #930  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Erik told me that they do have protection on the external output, but apprently it doesn't work, because the same happened when I borrowed a ICC to have a 'test run', I blew the external output. But it was replaced no questions asked.
coons88 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.