Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
spintec I.C.C charger >

spintec I.C.C charger

spintec I.C.C charger

Reply

Old 11-07-2006, 09:21 AM
  #901  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (202)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,108
Trader Rating: 202 (100%+)
Default

I found for the voltage error is from the cell voltage to low. Charge your pack with the external for around 500mah. Sounds like your not keeping the storage voltage up if you get the cell error.

Or you have dirty cell ends and bars. Make sure the joints are clean.
dodgeguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 10:02 AM
  #902  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 462
Default

If you guys want to see if there is a contact issue with the thermistors just put some heatsink compound on them before you install a pack.

Might even look at some of the thicker thermally conductive tapes. Something in a thicker silicone that would conform to the cell would be nice.
Unregistered is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 11:57 AM
  #903  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
tbeardmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: aka "Rock Star"...!
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Lipo Update?

Has anyone heard if there's going to be a "Lipo" Charging Feature or software update anytime soon??????
tbeardmore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 03:20 PM
  #904  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

There was no date on it... but there was word of such a function before the icc came out.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 04:11 PM
  #905  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The last e-mail I got from Eric said there was another software update coming... no date though.
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 06:34 PM
  #906  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just updated my Spintec ver 1.06 -- really like the new charge screen.

I also tested the same 4200 4-cell pack tonight -- this time i was very careful to make sure the pack was well seated on the sensors.

I watched the temps closely and found that the temps are VERY close to the <useless> IR temp gun during the first 20 minutes of charging -- no more than 4-5 degrees difference ! However, during the last part of the charge is where the temps get much farther apart -- in the last 5 min of the charge they were 20 deg lower on the Spintec display than what the <useless> IR temp gun showed.

Also -- after all 4 cells were finished, the display kept showing "Charging" for more than 10 min. until I finally exited it -- I never have gotten the "charge finish" screen. All of the cells stopped charging correctly, but the pack mah kept on climbing and the charge time kept going too. I had thought this was fixed in ver 1.06 ?? I guess not yet....

I do LOVE this charger though. :-)
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 06:52 PM
  #907  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (202)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,108
Trader Rating: 202 (100%+)
Default

Do you have a Fluke 88 with a temp sensor? You can use it to check the surface temp of the cells on top.
dodgeguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 08:40 PM
  #908  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (202)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,108
Trader Rating: 202 (100%+)
Default

Should the charger continue to charge a 4 cell when the cells read full?

Any ideas?
dodgeguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 08:55 PM
  #909  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,278
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dodgeguy
Should the charger continue to charge a 4 cell when the cells read full?

Any ideas?
Its a bug in the software that hasnt been updated yet. It show's its still charging but when you flip through the screens everything keeps increasing except the voltage and the temp on the cell's....So its not actually still charging...It just show's that it is through all the other numbers.

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 05:13 AM
  #910  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (202)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,108
Trader Rating: 202 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info EA. It did just as you explained. seems a bug with 4 cell. I never had this problem with 6 cell.
dodgeguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 07:02 AM
  #911  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I've got the same problem on mine when charging 4-cell packs -- even with version 1.06 now.

I've also e-mailed Eric directly on the issue.
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 05:33 PM
  #912  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: bakersfield,ca
Posts: 5
Lightbulb Battey chart?

Any body willing to make a battery chart?
Something that would help ALL of us out?
Battery Type.
Cell count-(4 or 6)
Charger settings that work well.

I have a hard time figuring out what works, everybody's different I know!
I just was looking for a guide line to start with.

It's a little hard to keep these cells from venting, and false peaking(not finishing the complete charge in mAh.
Thanx for any help, this site is the BEST!
I learn something new every time I get on here!
smokerules is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 09:23 PM
  #913  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
lignum vitae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

wondering if anyone has tried 5 cells on this charger
lignum vitae is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 10:35 PM
  #914  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

Originally Posted by lignum vitae
wondering if anyone has tried 5 cells on this charger
That's not possible, it's 4 or 6 cells.
But they are working on it at Spintec!


Rob Janssen
Rob Janssen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2006, 01:01 AM
  #915  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Patriiick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: France, Land of the French Fries.
Posts: 587
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

On the original Spintec dischargers (1st version), the cutoff was at 0.9V per cell, which is considered to be a little on the low side for the 4200 SHV and above.
With the new 5 cell rule, it will cutoff a bit above 1.00V which whould be perfect for those cells..

Is it just a wrong assumption to say that those with the "old" spintecs just got a new lease on life on them ?
Patriiick is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service