R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2006, 10:06 AM   #796
Tech Apprentice
 
Bjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Some more noobie questions.

Based on reading this thread, I get the idea that charging packs from a discharged state is not the best with this charger? That confuses me. If I am using the Integy 0-30 discharger to discharge my IB3800's down to .9, should I be using the Spintec to charge them up or something else?

If using something else, what do you all suggest on using and what is the Spintec being used for?

Thanks again
Brian
Bjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 10:37 AM   #797
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I think the low voltage issues have been resolved after the update... (at least that's what it says on the spintec website.) So I think you are safe for now... have to wait til the guys with the updated version to post on this thread
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 01:03 PM   #798
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 241
Default

First the pack wouldnt charge if the voltage was below 0.7 volts (I tought it was 0.7 otherwise it was 0.9). This problem is solved. I only use my spintec for charging my batteries, I dont have other chargers. I do have the newest software.

rcnewb2004 and Bjake, this schould answer it.. I gues..

-Hugo van den Berg
hugovdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 01:46 PM   #799
Tech Apprentice
 
Bjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks,

That does answer it and I also got an email back from Spintec asking the same questions.

They indicate:

We use the following settings for IB3800:

GP3800
Deltapeak 3.0mV
Temppeak 49,0C
Stepcharge No
Min. temp 40.0C
Lockout 60s
Current 5.0A

"However I have to admit that we do not have a huge amount of experience with those cells (we mostly race IB4200's). These settings will work without problem, but probably can be optimized further"
Bjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 06:21 AM   #800
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 241
Default

That schould de a good setup for your IB3800's.. I use 3.5Mv and 6amp charging. Thats also what I use for my 4200's.
hugovdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 12:19 PM   #801
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

Just finished upgrading my ICC. Everything run flawlessly.

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 12:33 PM   #802
Tech Apprentice
 
Bjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 86
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

To upgrade do you have to have the charger cord? If so, anyone know where to find one?

Thanks BJake
Bjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 12:58 PM   #803
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

You need to have the interface cable. I don;t know what you mean by charge cord.
I took mine from Eric at the worlds but I guess it should be available from your local shops

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 02:06 PM   #804
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-lyon
My first charged match with 3700 and 3800 packs ranged from 93% to 97%. My old 3300s were as low as the 60s. I also use the BatMan and the packs all perform well on the track. I haven't yet discharged (equalized) on the ICC.
I have a set of 4200's from SMC which are always discharged with the BatMan (V1 & V2) an I never have seen an matching % below 95%. Mostly between 97% and 98.5%

Do you think dischargers like the BatMan V2 will get better matched results when charging?
MBreve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 02:43 PM   #805
Tech Master
 
c-lyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Spintec suggest discharging on the BatMan usually, and about every 5 or 6 runs use the ICC to discharge. Our indoor winter season starts tonight and that's what I'll try.
I know that using the BatMan alone improved my old 3300s on the track, even if the matching is poor.
c-lyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 03:55 PM   #806
Tech Fanatic
 
tbeardmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: aka "Rock Star"...!
Posts: 879
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

where can I by the interface cable????
__________________
BMI DB10R, Corally RDX PHi, BMI 12R..!!
Need a "real" car... contact me at:
www.beardmorechevy.com -or- www.beardmoresubaru.com
tbeardmore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 01:57 AM   #807
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 187
Default PC Interface

I just bought an ICC Charger and was wondering do you have to get the PC Interface cable from Spintec or is it a standard computer cable that would be available at a local computer/electronics store. Any help would be appreciated.
_pilot_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 02:15 AM   #808
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

its "special" until someone can clone it anyway.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 02:21 AM   #809
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 105
Default

It is a special cable.

I have opened the connector and it has an IC in it which is needed for the communication.
MBreve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 05:32 AM   #810
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: O,Ne
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Todd, I have one on the way
philb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spintec ICC Charger MDawson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-29-2008 09:05 AM
Spintec ICC charger ioxqq R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-15-2007 10:53 AM
Spintec ICC charger Dusty Kemp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 10-27-2006 06:33 AM
Spintec Charger Nuno Gancho Electric On-Road 3 07-21-2006 04:32 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:05 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net