R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2006, 08:10 AM   #751
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

The Battery Manager v2 does 35aMp.
You don't need a egualizer because the ICC equalize the cells.
So I discharge my packs at the Bat. Man. v2 and charge them on the ICC.

Rob.
Rob Janssen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 11:26 PM   #752
Registered User
 
hotwheels1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 291
Default

are the bat. man v2 out yet to public I want one if so where?
hotwheels1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2006, 11:55 PM   #753
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotwheels1
are the bat. man v2 out yet to public I want one if so where?
In the Netherlands it's allready for sale in the shops.

Rob.
Rob Janssen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 08:31 AM   #754
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotwheels1
are the bat. man v2 out yet to public I want one if so where?
They are on Ebay for sale. Ive seen several of them there.

So far the testing I have seen with the new V2 is very good. Its brought my older packs back to life a little. Small increase in runtime, good increase in voltage and large decreases in IR's.

Still testing it on newer cells. Have not seen any Ill affects by using it so far. Batteries seem to be staying consistant.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.

Last edited by EAMotorsports; 09-02-2006 at 12:17 PM. Reason: wrong wording
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2006, 10:44 AM   #755
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I noticed huge increase in IR as well... (just using BM v1.) but i don't understand how that and better average voltage work together... i got more resistancve... but packs are performing better
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2006, 02:05 PM   #756
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,761
Default

Having spoken to my local model shop about when they are getting the Spintec ICC in stock, they again said they didn't know when, as the distributor apparently 'had had some issue's/problems with it'

Does this ring any bells or are they making excuses?

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 04:44 AM   #757
Tech Regular
 
kimbalion7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

OK So its not just us Aussies getting shafted then?? I have tried to contact the supplier over here both by email and phone... well phone no longer connected and no response to my emails in over 4 weeks... Whats going on???
__________________
What?? And you cant beat that????
DOES ANYONE HAVE A RUSTY ARMATURE??
GO TEAM HARDCORE
Chistmas is like a 540, It's for the kids
kimbalion7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2006, 09:12 AM   #758
Tech Regular
 
RoachRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: American Fork, Utah
Posts: 327
Send a message via ICQ to RoachRacing Send a message via AIM to RoachRacing Send a message via Yahoo to RoachRacing
Default

Checked with the my distributor here in the states and they are available.

look here
RoachRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 08:50 AM   #759
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,094
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

I'm a bit concerned with my ICC, a lot of people locally are finding that IB4200's tend to vent (ie pop the top while charging and piss acid, bye bye cell) usually as they have external chargers, it makes a mess of the desk and costs a cell, but I had one vent inside the ICC, and it left a nasty mark, while everything still works, am I risking my charger every time I am charging a pack, particularly a IB4200? Will Spintec warrant it, and I mean Spintec themselves, because if anyone has tried to contact the Australian Spintec/SMC agent, he's been awol for the past 2 months (professionalism people!)

I don't believe I am charging them wrong, 6 amps, 1mv and 45 degree temp cut off is conservative if anything!

Ideas?
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 10:13 AM   #760
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

I charge mine at 5aMp, 40c cut off and 2.0mV.

Maybe this helps,

Rob Janssen
Rob Janssen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 02:15 PM   #761
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 105
Default

I've seen leaking IB4200's as well. Both ICC charged as regular chargers. In both cases they used 6 Amps.

I've always charged at 5.5A and since I've seen this I've gone back to 5.0A just to be sure. I never had a problem so I don't know if it is abused cells, high charging current or a faulty batch. But I have the impression that being carefull with your packs pays off.

I've also seen some guys using external fans to keep the pack extra cool. The bonus is it also accepts more charge. The drawback????
MBreve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 05:27 PM   #762
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I have never used a fan and am a newb...

but I can imagine the draw back of charging with a fan is:
the core temp will rise after the fans are removed, this could damage the cells. Although it may take a battery longer to peak, it doesn't mean it has actually "accepted more charge".
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 10:15 PM   #763
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBreve
I've also seen some guys using external fans to keep the pack extra cool. The bonus is it also accepts more charge. The drawback????
Big No No....This will cause you to get a poor charge and could actually cause the cell to vent worse. If you dont believe it try cycling a pack on a GFX wiht out a fan and then try it with a fan on it....With the fan the pack will be horrible.

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2006, 09:02 AM   #764
Tech Champion
 
nexxus's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,094
Trader Rating: 302 (100%+)
Default

I never charge wuith a fan, big no no!

Has anyone ever had an ICC crash, and go all blank screen on them. Has done it twice today, not cool!

Also the hype was all this computer interface etc, yet I aint seen a software update for the ICC in ages, are we going to see some decent functionality soon?

Right now I have a decent charger, yes, a lousy discharger, no lipo function, a Computer port that appears to be for show, so much potential so under utilised.
__________________
A800 / A800X Awesomatix

Don't worry about what I'm doing.
Worry about why you're worried about what I'm doing.

"Ego is the anesthesia that deadens the pain of stupidity."

nexxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 01:14 AM   #765
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 105
Default

Never had a freeze in normal use.

But once on a power dip it did freeze up. But that's normal I guess.

Any chance of power problems?
MBreve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spintec ICC Charger MDawson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-29-2008 09:05 AM
Spintec ICC charger ioxqq R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-15-2007 10:53 AM
Spintec ICC charger Dusty Kemp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 10-27-2006 06:33 AM
Spintec Charger Nuno Gancho Electric On-Road 3 07-21-2006 04:32 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:13 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net