R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2006, 04:43 AM   #676
Tech Addict
 
JohnMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 608
Send a message via AIM to JohnMatrix
Default

IM A MORON.

the adapter had a CD.
JohnMatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:59 AM   #677
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnMatrix
IM A MORON.

the adapter had a CD.


XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 03:15 PM   #678
Tech Addict
 
JohnMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 608
Send a message via AIM to JohnMatrix
Default

Now I can get the firmware to complete the load.

the progress bar goes all the way over but never restarts the Icc or say you have finished installing. left it on for 20 min, and finally took it off, an now i get the blue screen.

Tried to reload for the last 4 hours but cant get it to work.

anyone else have these troubles?
JohnMatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:12 PM   #679
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: bakersfield,ca
Posts: 5
Exclamation I have the same problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnMatrix
Now I can get the firmware to complete the load.

the progress bar goes all the way over but never restarts the Icc or say you have finished installing. left it on for 20 min, and finally took it off, an now i get the blue screen.

Tried to reload for the last 4 hours but cant get it to work.

anyone else have these troubles?
Hey John I have the same problem with my charger.
The screen is now blue with no letters or options.
I think the female plug on the side of the charger (that accepts the data cable) is faulty, it is really loose inside there and I think the cable won't connect with the curcuit board.
Basicly the plug seems really loose as if it came unsoldered. There is no backing plate to keep the female plug from moving, when you insert the male plug. So it pulls the contacts loose on the board.
I have contacted Erik at spintec and basicly he wants to know what we want him to do. I say replace it with one that works.
I called horizion hobbys they are the local USA distrubitor for spintec and well the said they "Don't know what to do about it"
I took mine back to my hobby shop, they are going to make some calls to see what they can do.
I showed them the female plug on the charger and they even tried to get it to download the firmware but it keeps saying "no ICC connected" so if you get ahold of Erik PLEASE let me know I really need this fixed, and I asume you need yours fixed too. Keep me updated!
John my email is [email protected]
smokerules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 05:42 PM   #680
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

Hello, it is not so difficult to get ahold of me. I have answered both your emails quickly.

You are right, just say what you like us to do. If you like you can send the unit directly to us. We will replace it without any problem. But it's going to cost some shipping. Returning it to your shop is easier and quicker. I am sure Horizon will do a great job for both you and the shopowner.

We are happy to help you out, just email me at [email protected].
Erik Jonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 06:17 PM   #681
Tech Addict
 
JohnMatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Newark, CA
Posts: 608
Send a message via AIM to JohnMatrix
Default

Ok for me, it was the com port on my comp. I had to get a Db9 to usb switch, for the laptop, but when you do that there are settings that you need to do and I dont what they are. Some how the switch is running interference.

So I pulled out my tower download the software and connected the ICC directly to the Db9 port, with out having to use the switch.

WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!! Thank you Erik for your help.

To get it to work on my laptop I will have to talk to one of my very techie friends.

I can now take a nap.
JohnMatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 07:35 PM   #682
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnMatrix
Ok for me, it was the com port on my comp. I had to get a Db9 to usb switch, for the laptop, but when you do that there are settings that you need to do and I dont what they are. Some how the switch is running interference.

So I pulled out my tower download the software and connected the ICC directly to the Db9 port, with out having to use the switch.

WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!! Thank you Erik for your help.

To get it to work on my laptop I will have to talk to one of my very techie friends.

I can now take a nap.
What cable did you use for the tower?

Any noticable change to the charger after the update?
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 07:05 AM   #683
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnMatrix
Ok for me, it was the com port on my comp. I had to get a Db9 to usb switch, for the laptop, but when you do that there are settings that you need to do and I dont what they are. Some how the switch is running interference.

So I pulled out my tower download the software and connected the ICC directly to the Db9 port, with out having to use the switch.

WORKED LIKE A CHARM!!!! Thank you Erik for your help.

To get it to work on my laptop I will have to talk to one of my very techie friends.

I can now take a nap.
If you use a DB9 to USB cable, it most likely won't work, let's just say that for whatever reason for now. The KO connector is the same way.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 08:09 AM   #684
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Janssen
After 200 or 300 mAh the cell wil start charging again.
So next time waite a few minutes and see what happen.

Rob Janssen

Well my unit does not restart the false peaked cell. It is not on just one pack or cell. It does and can happen to all of my new packs and older packs. Any software update for this problem. I would like to see the cell restart if the rest is still charging.


If we can not get the charger to restart a false peak. Then this charger is still only good for peaking a pack.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 08:21 AM   #685
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeguy
Well my unit does not restart the false peaked cell. It is not on just one pack or cell. It does and can happen to all of my new packs and older packs. Any software update for this problem. I would like to see the cell restart if the rest is still charging.


If we can not get the charger to restart a false peak. Then this charger is still only good for peaking a pack.
You can try a higher minimum Temp.

Rob Janssen
Rob Janssen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 08:40 AM   #686
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
Default

With version 1.05b the cell will restart if it accepts 200 mAh less than other cells and the temp of that cell is below 40 degree C. We are working on an update in which you can adjust those parameters yourself.

As Rob said, increasing the min temp to about 40 or 45 degree C will prevent almost all false peaks.
Erik Jonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2006, 09:02 AM   #687
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 7,868
Trader Rating: 198 (100%+)
Default

I will need to update to the b version. I do have the temp up high.

Looks like I will need to get the cable.
__________________
Please become an organ donor.
www.donatelife.net
Custom decals and Sno-Tee'z, T-Shirts by Sno Camel
dodgeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 03:06 PM   #688
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

What settings are you guys using? When using 2.0mv on a 4 cell pack (IB4200) the pack is getting very warm.....and the factory settings are 3.0mv.

Also after all the cells say "Full" how long does it take to kick off? Is it going into some sort of delay or what?

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 03:09 PM   #689
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 148
Send a message via ICQ to Seano
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EAMotorsports
Also after all the cells say "Full" how long does it take to kick off? Is it going into some sort of delay or what?

EA
I have that same problem, i believe the updated firmware corrects this (1.05b) Until you can get that, just stop the charge when they all say full.
Seano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 03:47 PM   #690
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Yea Ive already updated mine...still does the same thing....

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spintec ICC Charger MDawson R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-29-2008 09:05 AM
Spintec ICC charger ioxqq R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-15-2007 10:53 AM
Spintec ICC charger Dusty Kemp R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 10-27-2006 06:33 AM
Spintec Charger Nuno Gancho Electric On-Road 3 07-21-2006 04:32 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:49 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net