R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-29-2013, 05:22 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
AFoamPillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Tacon 540 w/ 100a hobby wing esc not working

Ok so I bought a tacon 540 motor and a hobby wing 540 motor and all I can get to work is the servo it makes a chime noise and the motor turns and stops dose this like every 5 sec. Idk what to do please help
AFoamPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 07:16 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
AFoamPillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=z1MDD...e_gdata_player
AFoamPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:46 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
AFoamPillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Bump......
AFoamPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:49 AM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
AFoamPillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Seriously no one knows???
AFoamPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:53 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,221
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

try calling the company.....

Try asking on the motor's company thread.....

try asking on the ESC's company thread....

Use the search function

use google to find multiple sites that may carry the answer


I've never even heard of that motor before, can't help you with it...sorry
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 12:24 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
AFoamPillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've been searching a lot of ppl have simalar problems but can't really find a fix and using the key button to program it don't work
AFoamPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 01:07 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,221
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

invest in a more well known and reputable company for your motor and ESC?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 01:53 PM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
AFoamPillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
invest in a more well known and reputable company for your motor and ESC?
Tacon is very well known idk where you've been
AFoamPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 04:28 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,221
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I haven't seen Tacon equipment in any cars winning races locally, or nationally for that matter. I haven't seen their products reviewed on any blogs or magazines so I must be living under a proverbial rock.

Only thing I've been able to find via google is that a crap load of people are having the same issues you're having and that the electronics are sold on all those cheap chinese knock off sites

If it were me, I would toss the knock off electrics in the trash and invest in a quality motor/esc setup so you don't run into issues like these
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 05:34 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
AFoamPillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
I haven't seen Tacon equipment in any cars winning races locally, or nationally for that matter. I haven't seen their products reviewed on any blogs or magazines so I must be living under a proverbial rock.

Only thing I've been able to find via google is that a crap load of people are having the same issues you're having and that the electronics are sold on all those cheap chinese knock off sites

If it were me, I would toss the knock off electrics in the trash and invest in a quality motor/esc setup so you don't run into issues like these
Well I need help not your opinion
AFoamPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 06:11 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
mkiiina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Check your batteries, are they fully charged? Try a glitch buster. It almost looks/sounds like its turning on, arming, shutting off, repeat. What esc is that as in your first post you say you have 2 motors....
mkiiina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:20 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Metalsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,023
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
I haven't seen Tacon equipment in any cars winning races locally, or nationally for that matter. I haven't seen their products reviewed on any blogs or magazines so I must be living under a proverbial rock.

Only thing I've been able to find via google is that a crap load of people are having the same issues you're having and that the electronics are sold on all those cheap chinese knock off sites

If it were me, I would toss the knock off electrics in the trash and invest in a quality motor/esc setup so you don't run into issues like these
Hobbywing is a very well know brand sold by some of the most reliable distributors. telling someone to throw there stuff away cause it is not "your" brand is not helping.

It sounds like there is a short somewhere, maybe to your battery. Could be something wrong with the battery. I would try a different one if available, and see if the problem fix's itself.


EDIT:
It looks like you are trying to run a sensorless motor on that ESC, you might have to change the ESC over to sensorless. It sounds like it is telling you there is no sensor wire.
__________________
Tamiya TB03 USGT - Custom Carbon fiber Chassis - Magoo Racing Inc....
Metalsoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 07:35 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,221
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Metalsoft View Post
Hobbywing is a very well know brand sold by some of the most reliable distributors. telling someone to throw there stuff away cause it is not "your" brand is not helping.
I'm aware of hobbywing, when I worked for Speed Passion all of the original designed ESC's came from Hobbywing.

I was unaware of the tacon line...to be specific
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:34 PM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
AFoamPillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiiina View Post
Check your batteries, are they fully charged? Try a glitch buster. It almost looks/sounds like its turning on, arming, shutting off, repeat. What esc is that as in your first post you say you have 2 motors....
Ohh my bad I meant hobbyking 100a esc
AFoamPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:38 PM   #15
Tech Initiate
 
AFoamPillow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 38
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This is the esc. The guys at ultamate rc told me it would all hook up they had a thread about it but it don't seem to work out for me -_- http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...prodspan_focus
AFoamPillow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:55 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net