Checkpoint motors

Reply

Old 03-24-2006, 01:39 PM
  #466  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Corn, Field
Posts: 88
Default

The Money Motor has been shipping all day. All backorders have been filled.
G-Dizzle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 02:43 PM
  #467  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

that's great... my LHS will have them in on Tues. of next week..

do you know what brushes/spring combo they will come in?
want to order extra sets....
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 03:21 PM
  #468  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Stevietd14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 798
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ive been recently debating between the new checkpoint 19t and the v2 style 19t's and I was wondering what options does checkpoint have for brushes?
I see only two at tower http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...L=++&search=Go
and I really dont want to have to pay $10/pr of brushes compared to the v2 style enduro10-30 for $4 . I run 6 cells so could i even use the atlas stlye(4cell) ones?Would I still be able to expect high numbers of runs between cuts like the $10 brush?If not, about how many runs can I get with the 4cell brushes?Are there any other options for brushes compatible with checkpoint motors besides the ones I listed?Sorry for all the questions but thanks in advance for all the help.
Steve
Stevietd14 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 04:56 PM
  #469  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 94
Default

i know i can get these motors from tower but is there anywhere else that perhaps has cheaper shipping at tower it would cost me $41 US for the shipping for the 19turn motor which cost $49 dollars, i mean i would love to run checkpoint motors as i run them in what we call touring Mod but $90 for a 19turn motor is a bit rich for me, please help as i live in new zealand and with the cost of our dollar compared to the US dollar it will cost me nearly $200 NZ for this motor can anyone else ship the motor cheaper and with less hassel

please help

checkpoint for life
judge10tpt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 06:05 PM
  #470  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 81
Default

We'll have the Money motors in stock Mon or Tues! Looking forward to getting our hands on some.

Stevie: Do the Checkpoint. With the 10$ brush, you should be getting 15+ runs out of it.
JPH Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 06:10 PM
  #471  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default motor tuning

Do we have to tune it to get at peak performance or is it ready to blaze away
dawgmeat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 08:16 PM
  #472  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
STLNLST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 9,045
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Stevietd14
Ive been recently debating between the new checkpoint 19t and the v2 style 19t's and I was wondering what options does checkpoint have for brushes?
I see only two at tower http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...L=++&search=Go
and I really dont want to have to pay $10/pr of brushes compared to the v2 style enduro10-30 for $4 . I run 6 cells so could i even use the atlas stlye(4cell) ones?Would I still be able to expect high numbers of runs between cuts like the $10 brush?If not, about how many runs can I get with the 4cell brushes?Are there any other options for brushes compatible with checkpoint motors besides the ones I listed?Sorry for all the questions but thanks in advance for all the help.
Steve
I'm no check point expert but if they are using the same brush on the 19turn as the mods then brush life shouldn't be a problem. I ran the same pair of brushes during the entire nats in a 7x1. Practice and qualifying and the mains and will run it again for the first asphalt race.
STLNLST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 09:04 PM
  #473  
Tech Regular
 
BATT_MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576

FYI: kawada armatures have built in fan, it would be killer motors if team checkpoint is able to copy that.



---------------

Fans require energy to move air. The energy used up by the fan is energy that can't be used to move your car forward.

My Wife's old Nissan Sentra was faster when you turned the A/C off...same concept.
A motorís armature develops torque. However, there is a difference between developed torque and shaft torque.

If the armature has a fan, the fan has to move air, and like Adrian said, it takes work and energy to move the air. This energy is taken away from the overall motor output.

Unless the fan does a SUBSTANTIAL BENEFIT in cooling the motor (which will not) the torque and power that the fan takes away from the motor is contra productive.

We have done tests with all kinds of air moving mechanisms inside motors and once you measure overall efficiency, power, and torque, we found most of them not to be beneficial. They are more for looks than anything else....

There are better ways to cool down the commutator, magnets, and brushes.

The "majority" of ths so called armature cooling fans do not work. They are more for looks....
The same goes to "some" of the aftermarket rings and heatsinks that attach to the armature.

When you attach anything to an armature, you change the moment of inertia of the armature and that affects the overall performance. The moment of inertia of the armature is one if the major factors that defines motor performance.
BATT_MAN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2006, 11:37 PM
  #474  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,816
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by G-Dizzle
The Money Motor has been shipping all day. All backorders have been filled.
Yeah and like a forgetful fool I've got 6 coming. Forgot I had just 2 on backorder and ordered 2 more 2 different times I've got 4 to send back!!!
JayBee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2006, 01:10 AM
  #475  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (45)
 
Ultraspeed84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,072
Trader Rating: 45 (100%+)
Default

is team checkpoint doing stock motors right now? its between them and team broad and axxis racing for a motor. And id like to see me get a checkpoint motor to try in stock ill prolly get a axxis no matter what but id like to get another stocker from the other two just to see the diffrence in power.
Ultraspeed84 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2006, 06:29 AM
  #476  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 83
Default

hey guys, I lost my instruction sheet for my new motor and need to know how they recommend breaking it in.
thanx
dannybcaitlyn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006, 12:58 PM
  #477  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 81
Default

Got our order of "Money Motor" 19 turns in from Checkpoint this morning ... Shipping them out right now!
JPH Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 01:09 PM
  #478  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

what gearing range is recommend for the new 19T?
I'm running the Hara Pro4 and cyclone.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 01:17 PM
  #479  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
dawgmeat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rc-zombies
what gearing range is recommend for the new 19T?
I'm running the Hara Pro4 and cyclone.
Might as well throw the T2 in there also or do you gear them Trinity C2 or Orion V2
dawgmeat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2006, 01:25 PM
  #480  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 142
Default

Originally Posted by dawgmeat
Might as well throw the T2 in there also or do you gear them Trinity C2 or Orion V2
it doesnt matter what car you drive...FDR...is ALWAYS THE SAME....5.88 is the sweet spot for a medium size track...bitter
TeamHomies is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service