R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2013, 05:42 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
buckeye dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: hicksville ohio
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default How to reshim a brushless motor?

Ok I am looking to gain an edge in my vta novak motor. I under stand that by reshimming motor some advantage can be gained . Is anyone willing to help pass on on some speed secret knowledge? thanks for any advice in advance.
__________________
Buckeye Dan
buckeye dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 05:58 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckeye dan View Post
Ok I am looking to gain an edge in my vta novak motor. I under stand that by reshimming motor some advantage can be gained . Is anyone willing to help pass on on some speed secret knowledge? thanks for any advice in advance.
Shim it so the rotor floats in the middle of the windings with minimal friction on the bearings. Start by taking a number of shims off, assemble the motor, and push on the rotor to see which side the shims need to go on. Repeat until satisfied. You'll want the tiniest amount of float on the ends once finished.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:10 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
buckeye dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: hicksville ohio
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default thanks

thanks sound simple enough i will try it...
Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
Shim it so the rotor floats in the middle of the windings with minimal friction on the bearings. Start by taking a number of shims off, assemble the motor, and push on the rotor to see which side the shims need to go on. Repeat until satisfied. You'll want the tiniest amount of float on the ends once finished.
__________________
Buckeye Dan
buckeye dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:26 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
defcone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,344
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

1. Take wires out.
2. Put 21Awg in
3. ??????
4. PROFIT
defcone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 06:31 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
buckeye dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: hicksville ohio
Posts: 385
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by defcone View Post
1. Take wires out.
2. Put 21Awg in
3. ??????
4. PROFIT
lol sounds like a lot of work .
__________________
Buckeye Dan
buckeye dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twin Cities Rc Club Winter Carpet Season Mark O'Brien Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 5117 Today 10:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:47 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net