R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2005, 04:24 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 209
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default What updates / hop-ups for Pro4?

Bought a HPI Pro4 when it was first released. Built it, and had plans to start 1/10 electric racing but never did. I'm going to start taking it to the track and wanted to know what updates do I need? I remember hearing of several updates HPI had done to their kits, but don't want to dig through the huge Pro4 thread. Also, what hop-ups are recomended?

Thanks.
VictionOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 07:32 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

bewel gear v1.1
__________________
Tamiya TB Evo 5
Spektrum DX3R 2.4Ghz, Sanwa ERG-VX, VFS-1
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 07:34 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

the kit you bought is oledr newer kit which 1.1 just added new bewel gear and brace i think pro 4 just release another pro4 which is pro4 2005
__________________
Tamiya TB Evo 5
Spektrum DX3R 2.4Ghz, Sanwa ERG-VX, VFS-1
EngTat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 08:16 AM   #4
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Exe Send a message via Yahoo to Exe
Default

ae diff thrust t-nut, titanium or steel front bones. these are a must.
Exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 01:03 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 209
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know the part numbers for the 1.1 bevel gear upgrade and brace? And what is the brace?

I saw a diagram on how to convert to the AE diff nut. Where can I find this diagram?

Also, who makes Ti bones for the Pro4?
VictionOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 01:14 PM   #6
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Exe Send a message via Yahoo to Exe
Default

you don't need any diagram, you just buy this http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LX2869&P=7 and use is instead of original hpi pro4 bolt and nut, everything else not needed. no cutting required, nothing.

titanium bones Square Titanium CVD Drive Shafts for HPI Pro 4 or Associated TC3 #SHP50C

you can buy at www.precisionrc.com 45$ two bones, they won't bend. i changed to full titanium universals, i mean i changes shafts, bones and joints. cause when you roll with your car, metal shafts simply bend and you wheels start kinf of shaking and giving big vibration

HPI Bevel Gear Set (39T/16T/Spacer) - Ver 1.1 for Pro4 #73501
4$ you can also buy at precisionrc.com

cheers,
Exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 01:25 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If you run on Carpet, the 3mm chassis is dialed. Also, pick up a Buds TC3 bumper, it will save you breakage later on. Also grab the swaybar set, and a set of suspension mount shims. I also put the 6mm wheel hexes so I didn't have to use the washers...on some of the Takeoff Rims I used, the washers pushed the wheel a bit far out and the molded hex could get stripped or damaged in a wreck.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 01:41 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 209
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the replies. Received a lot more info than I expected.
VictionOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 02:28 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default

RC Driver Gary, where did you find the 6mm wheel hexes? square? hpi? can you give me the part number?

i noticed the other day, that the stock Rear Input Shaft had bent, for no obvious reason (no crashes). i guess i'll have to change to the square titanium one. speedtechrc are the cheapest online square distributor i know, but they're usually out of stock!

i don't like the fact that the team drivers don't race the pro4 anymore. they all seem to have changed to the cyclone.
billtc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 09:55 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

HPI Part Number 33407
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2005, 11:59 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
loopedeloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whangarei Newzealand
Posts: 490
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by billtc3

i don't like the fact that the team drivers don't race the pro4 anymore. they all seem to have changed to the cyclone.
This is a worry........WHY IS THIS????
loopedeloop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 02:46 AM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default

thanks for the part number gary

loopedeloop, the question is to "hup-up or not to hop-up" ? i dont' want to spend money on a car that could be discontinued in a couple of months
billtc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 04:03 AM   #13
Exe
Tech Regular
 
Exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lithuania, Europe
Posts: 277
Send a message via ICQ to Exe Send a message via Yahoo to Exe
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by billtc3
thanks for the part number gary

loopedeloop, the question is to "hup-up or not to hop-up" ? i dont' want to spend money on a car that could be discontinued in a couple of months
there is no way hpi will do this. cyclone it's just a marketing trick to earn more money! some choose cyclone, some will stick to pro4, hpi released two different cars to attrac more people who will buy cyclone either pro4.

same goes to different companies like procter and gamble, who produce different washing powder at different price levels and advertise them as different products, to make artificial competition, but money goes to the same producer.

same here cyclone and pro4. hpi will never drop pro4 unless pro5 appears and these two cars will be developing separately.

2 cents
Exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 08:29 AM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 148
Default

Exe, it's good to hear that.

Yokomo did well in the 2005 Super Stock Championships at Yatabe Arena, half of the drives driving the SDW and the rest the BD. The hpi drivers though, race the cyclone only.

anyway, the pro4 and the cyclone share the same suspension parts, so if the former was discontinued, it should still be easy to replace broken parts.
billtc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 03:08 AM   #15
GRF
Tech Adept
 
GRF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 192
Default Re: What updates / hop-ups for Pro4?

Quote:
Originally posted by VictionOne
Bought a HPI Pro4 when it was first released. Built it, and had plans to start 1/10 electric racing but never did. I'm going to start taking it to the track and wanted to know what updates do I need? I remember hearing of several updates HPI had done to their kits, but don't want to dig through the huge Pro4 thread. Also, what hop-ups are recomended?

Thanks.
Basically, most of the hop-ups of the Pro 4 are incorporated in the 2005 edition...
GRF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More Updates! Platinum_Racing Web Links 4 01-09-2006 09:36 PM
BMI Pro4 + HPI Pro4 Plus tons of spare Parts Sluggo R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 11-01-2005 04:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:35 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net