R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 01-05-2013, 06:28 PM   #1
Tech Rookie

Default A Backwards Approach...

I'm a newbie here and looking to get back into R/C cars. I was never into competitive racing, but just having fun in parking lots or in the driveway. This time there is no change, just looking to have fun. For my first leap back into the hobby I have a bit of a backwards approach to a project. I have a specific body (RJ Speed 49 F Ford Truck #BOL2277) and wheels (touring car) I want to run so it'll look like my real truck. I stopped in our local hobby shop today with the intent of possibly just buying a RTR car that I could swap my wheels/tires onto, mount the body and go, but its seems given the dimensions of the body thats not as easy as it sounds. I guess given the website supplied dimensions I gave the guy at the store, he suggests I go with a pan car chassis to run the old former Bolink body. I do happen to have an old R/C12E roller hiding in my closet somewhere if the pan car is the best way to go. Any suggestions on where to start?
flamefink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:37 AM   #2
Tech Fanatic

A pan car chassis won't fit the wheels you want to run. The body was never designed to actually fit any chassis properly so anything you choose will need a bit of work to look right.

Look at the Tamiya M05 and M06 mini chassis or HPI Cup Racer. Width is the same and wheelbase is about 1/4" longer which could be sorted by trimming wishbones and using shims to shorten the wheelbase. The Tamiya M05 is front wheel drive, the M06 is rear wheels drive but you might have clearance problems as the motor hangs way out the back. The HPI Cup Racer is 4wd and the chassis is pretty low so should be the easiest to get under the body.
terry.sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 05:37 PM   #3
Tech Rookie