R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2005, 11:50 AM   #16
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

you may already have a dull bit. just guessing. check the motor rotation.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 01:17 PM   #17
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I always hear people saying carbide bits work fine and that diamonds are overkill. True carbide works just as well when sharp, but who the hell wants to change bits every four or five cuts? Especially if you run mod and cut the motor every run. I've had the same diamond bit for three years in the same lathe and not once have I had to touch it once I got it setup properly. I just got a Hudy lathe and put the same bit in it and it still cuts flawlessly. They're more expensive but well worth not having to deal with swapping and changing and realigning the carbide bits.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 01:34 PM   #18
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I've been running the same diamond bit in my Cobra lathe since 1990. Thousands of comms trued over the years. I've never had a problem. Carbides may cut just as well when new and sharp, but the last thing I need is to swap bits every week and go through the shimming/setup process over and over again.

The diamond bit will probably outlive me.

Overkill? Maybe.
Convenient? Most definitely.
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 02:09 PM   #19
Tech Adept
 
RobertV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by teamgp
I use/do the following and I get perfectly polished comms that are sometimes better than from the factory:

* put the comm back on the lathe, start it back up (with the bit backed way off) and use a 1/5/10/20 dollar bill to polish it to a mirror shine!

Do you start with a 1 dollar bill and continue polishing the comm up to a twenty?

Where would I find a crossreference chart if I wanted to use canadian money?
RobertV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 02:53 PM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
bigl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 920
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

check all the set screws on the lathe i had this problem also and i have a diamond i fixed it by tighting the set screws on the guides but dont over tighten them because it will make it really hard to turn the wheel
bigl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 03:19 PM   #21
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

I'm having a problem with the mcmastercarr carbide bits. I have a Hudy tech lathe and when I make a cut, its shiney, but it looks a little streaky, there are very slight horizontal lines (looking at it with the arm standing up) across the comm. Is this normal? what causes this. Im using a hudy tech lathe and this happens even with a brand new bit. One of the bits I bought, cut absolutely horribly from the start, it gave probably the worst cut ive ever seen, it wasnt very smooth and the lines were indented slightly. I tried another new bit and it went back to the way it was before.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 03:27 PM   #22
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,318
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

How fast or slow are you supposed to feed the cutter?
jbrow1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 03:28 PM   #23
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 835
Default

I've had this same problem with my tech lathe,and have yet to figure out what the hell's wrong with it, tried new bits, different speeds slow, fast, you name it nothing.ARGGG
Hyper1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 03:35 PM   #24
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Also make sure that the bit is at the right height.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 04:07 PM   #25
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

the reason i bought a diamond bit, is because i cant shapen a carbide bit. you have to shapen it at the correct angle or it wont cut right.
i use a hudy tech lathe, integy zipp lathe and i started with a cobra. all my lathes have diamond bits and cut smooth. the cobra just wore out. too much play in the head.
this is hard to trouble shoot now without seeing what you are doing. maybe ask the guys at the track if they will take a look at your lathe and give you a hand.
the hudy lathes are one of the finer lathes out there right now. are you guys using hudy carbide bits or aftermarket ??
when you are cutting across the comm go slow.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 04:12 PM   #26
drx
Tech Regular
 
drx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Enlightened Side of Samsara
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to drx
Default

I went down and too a look at my lathe.
Close inspection of the bit showed a teeny, tiny chip right on the tip Using my fine grinder and a diamond file, I got it worked out.

Then I checked the bit position and decided it needed raising.

I set up an arm from an old motor, and used some light machine cutting oil I have on the comm. Made several light cuts.

It is MUCH better. Not a clean/smooth as EA's motors, but a marked improvement over what I had been doing.

Thanx to all for the advice.

</DrX>
drx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 04:18 PM   #27
drx
Tech Regular
 
drx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: The Enlightened Side of Samsara
Posts: 398
Send a message via AIM to drx
Default

baih,

I'm using an aftermarket bit. I can't find a hudy carbide tip anywhere - I don't think they're available any more. I can't justify the $100 + that hudy want's for their diamond bit (they must be awful proud of that bit).

After working on it, the comm is cutting much better, but I still might get a new carbide bit.

Quote:
Originally posted by baih
the reason i bought a diamond bit, is because i cant shapen a carbide bit. you have to shapen it at the correct angle or it wont cut right.
i use a hudy tech lathe, integy zipp lathe and i started with a cobra. all my lathes have diamond bits and cut smooth. the cobra just wore out. too much play in the head.
this is hard to trouble shoot now without seeing what you are doing. maybe ask the guys at the track if they will take a look at your lathe and give you a hand.
the hudy lathes are one of the finer lathes out there right now. are you guys using hudy carbide bits or aftermarket ??
when you are cutting across the comm go slow.
drx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 04:21 PM   #28
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

if you can, take a couple of pics of the bit. (tip) and post it here. maybe some of the other guys here that sharpen their own bit will tell you if its correct.
yeah everybodys diamond bit cost around $75.00 to $100.00
my bits have been cutting fine for two years now.
baih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 04:23 PM   #29
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Most diamond bits are around $100. Hudy's no different than anyone else.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2005, 04:26 PM   #30
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

if a carbide can cut aswell as a diamond to start with....why spend 100 dollars on a diamond when you can spend 10 dollars on 1 carbide....

i bet 10 carbide will last longer than 1 diamond
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor/Speed Control Issue? BCrumB4 Radio and Electronics 2 04-15-2008 12:51 PM
motor issue vthenry07 Rookie Zone 4 06-24-2007 09:58 AM
Gold Coast Comm Truing Haydo Australian Racing 1 06-18-2007 02:53 AM
WTB Tire Truing Machine and Motor Lathe gunlocators R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 3 03-18-2007 09:47 PM
Motor Truing nerdling Australian Racing 2 08-24-2003 08:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net