R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2005, 10:20 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default Gm Sx12 Esc

I just wanted to start a thread that we could share our setups and adjustments.
Right now mine is setup for stock with just a little tweak.
I have the MAX brake set really low,
Have the amps turned up to 90amp max from the stock 80.
Turbo is set at 5.
I will get the rest later from the GM Commander I can not remember all the settings.
If you have this ESC You would really enjoy the GM Commander not only becasue it now can charge everything including Li-ion and poly. But it also has the ability to change the setup in the SX9 SX12 and I believe the V12 also.

I look foward to any suggestions and problems I might be able to helps with.

Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2005, 02:23 PM   #2
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The V12 speedo doesn´t have a connector for changing the setup with the GM Commander like the SX9 and SX12.
But also their new brushless speedo GM Genius 80 will have this connector.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 06:41 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 37
Default Pc cable for the SX9/SX12

GM will also be selling a PC cable for the SX9/SX12, this way setting up the esc should be alot more easy, without the need of the gmvis commander. At the moment I'm waiting to get the cable, but does anyone already have one?
Stevenkoiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 07:17 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

NO but I do have a spare Commander with the newest update I am considering selling.
It makes it very easy to setup the SX9 or SX12 or the new prushless controller. I bought two of them thinkng I would need it but I haven;t found a real need for a second Commander. It has the Temp probe. I can not sell the controller attachment as I still need it. Does anyone have a SX12 setup they are willing to share?
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 05:50 AM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 37
Default Pc cable for the SX9/SX12

Just got the Pc cable for the SX9/SX12. The software can be downloaded from the GM site.



I haven't tested it yet, But it looks pretty good.
Stevenkoiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 05:57 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default Re: Pc cable for the SX9/SX12

Quote:
Originally posted by Stevenkoiter
Just got the Pc cable for the SX9/SX12. The software can be downloaded from the GM site.



I haven't tested it yet, But it looks pretty good.
Got a part number?
Is it the same thing as the PC cable for the Commander?
I have the COmmanders so changing the SX12 is quite easy already but I wanted to hook up my Commander to the OC and I can not get it to work....
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 06:40 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 201
Default GM ESC'S

Hello:
I'm considering purchasing a new high end ESC. I'm currently using the KO VFS2000 (32 step Programable).
How does the GM SX9 or SX12 compare to the top speedo's out there (GTX, Quantum2 etc).
Can I run the SX9 without the commander or PC interface?
How about reliability, there is not much support for GM products here in Michigan.

Thanks
Electro-MAX RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 06:47 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default Re: GM ESC'S

Quote:
Originally posted by Electro-MAX RC
Hello:
I'm considering purchasing a new high end ESC. I'm currently using the KO VFS2000 (32 step Programable).
How does the GM SX9 or SX12 compare to the top speedo's out there (GTX, Quantum2 etc).
Can I run the SX9 without the commander or PC interface?
How about reliability, there is not much support for GM products here in Michigan.

Thanks
The GM SX12 is the the smallest ESC to date...Even with teh capasitor.
It has all the adjustability as any of the newer ESC's out.
I use to use a QC2 until the SX12.
Yes you can program it without the Commander or the PC cable although it is harder to do. Especially if you race stock and MOD as you would want to change the Max Amp.
I already had the Commander so it was great to get the ESC.
I liked it so much that when I got the new Yokomo BD I bought a new SX12 for it.
About support I believe Horizon is still doing the repairs, but isn;t selling them anymore.
Also you can get in touch with GM directly. There website is a bit hard to navagate through but you can work done if needed.
Hope this helps,
Stephen <><
Also I think GM is going to be offering a Brushless/brushed ESC soon as when I go tthe Commander update the Program function had a few settings listing Brushless.
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 06:56 AM   #9
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 201
Default

did you notice anything great about the esc compared to the QC2? Punch, smoothness??? I'm thinking about the SX9. Does it have all the same features?

thanks
Electro-MAX RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 07:01 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Electro-MAX RC
did you notice anything great about the esc compared to the QC2? Punch, smoothness??? I'm thinking about the SX9. Does it have all the same features?

thanks
The SX12 has a turbo function that when you give it full throttle it goes a little further on the amps. Really helps when trying to puch past someone out of a corner...
I would say just go for the SX12 as it has the newer FETs.
besides it is the ESC that Masami won the 12scale Worlds championship with...Here is a link.
http://www.fseara.org/gallery/album47/masami_001
enough said.
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 07:07 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post Re: GM ESC'S

Quote:
Originally posted by Electro-MAX RC
Hello:
I'm considering purchasing a new high end ESC. I'm currently using the KO VFS2000 (32 step Programable).
How does the GM SX9 or SX12 compare to the top speedo's out there (GTX, Quantum2 etc).
Can I run the SX9 without the commander or PC interface?
How about reliability, there is not much support for GM products here in Michigan.

Thanks
You forgot KEYENCE... -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 07:08 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default Re: Re: GM ESC'S

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
You forgot KEYENCE... -JB
Alwasy stirring pots...
Hey JB
You getting the LCG....I will have mine MONDAY.
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 07:14 AM   #13
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Wink Re: Re: Re: GM ESC'S

Quote:
Originally posted by Mr. Shookie
Alwasy stirring pots...
Hey JB
You getting the LCG....I will have mine MONDAY.
Stephen <><
They call me Mr. Pot Stirrer . I'm getting one but also the BD and RDX . I just gotta wait till the middle of next week -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 07:16 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: auburn washington
Posts: 2,053
Default

jaybee, beee eeeee uuu ta ful day, heading up to renton in a minute, you going
Turtlemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 07:17 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: GM ESC'S

Quote:
Originally posted by JayBee
They call me Mr. Pot Stirrer . I'm getting one but also the BD and RDX . I just gotta wait till the middle of next week -JB
Better get the LCG first...Steve only has a couple left....
The BD will be in stock from now on...
And yes I like the RDX, one of my race buds has one...Very smooth....But Really it is all driver...All these new cars can win and win big....I saw everthing this year win....Xray Corally Yokomo Losi AE...You name it it has won something...Bet RROC winner will sell five hundred kits for sure...LOL
Stephen <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: GM SX12 dr_hfuhuhurr R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 02-08-2006 11:05 AM
GM SX12 esc Chrisgt2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 11-09-2005 11:05 PM
Fs: Gm Sx12 Esc dr_hfuhuhurr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-09-2005 12:12 PM
Anyone run the GM SX12? Mr. Shookie Electric On-Road 15 12-22-2004 06:50 AM
Gm Sx12 J_Longbrake R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 10-29-2004 05:12 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net