R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2005, 11:39 PM   #16
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alanfujii
I don't know if the original question for this thread is still active so if t is then the answer is do not get the digital. I just bought the Spektrum for my Futaba 3PK and a JR Z8800s digital servo for my new TC4. I got home to finished assemblying it only to find out the DSM Spektrum will not support the Futaba in HRS mode. So the JR servo needs to go back.
I have tried digital servos using PPM or PCM with not problems.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 12:50 AM   #17
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

ok i have a problem with it aswell....as you know i can only use digital servos with the hrs mode...wat should i do if i wanto drive another car using my 3pk...but without buying digital servos or another hrs reciever?
pink pac man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 12:56 AM   #18
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pink pac man
ok i have a problem with it aswell....as you know i can only use digital servos with the hrs mode...wat should i do if i wanto drive another car using my 3pk...but without buying digital servos or another hrs reciever?
It depends on what you have in your other car. Any PPM or PCM receiver can run any servos. You have PM.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 06:25 AM   #19
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Athens, Greece.
Posts: 105
Default

I am new and have spent almost 750$ for stuff, kit motors charger etc.
So i will go for an HRS with S9550 and then I can buy sth else!
Capone_GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 06:35 AM   #20
Tech Fanatic
 
pink pac man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: RATED X RACING Canberra,Australia
Posts: 894
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by danjoy25
It depends on what you have in your other car. Any PPM or PCM receiver can run any servos. You have PM.
well im using those sh*tty futaba ones that come std with the tl01s and stuff.....i just wanna bash around with my tl01 without changing radios
pink pac man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 06:50 AM   #21
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alanfujii
I don't know if the original question for this thread is still active so if t is then the answer is do not get the digital. I just bought the Spektrum for my Futaba 3PK and a JR Z8800s digital servo for my new TC4. I got home to finished assemblying it only to find out the DSM Spektrum will not support the Futaba in HRS mode. So the JR servo needs to go back.
Are you saying that dig servo's won't work with the spectrum in PPM mode? If so, that's not true. I currently use a GTX and Futaba S9451 dig servo with the spectrum 3PK and it works amazing.
__________________
Xray and Serpent....very dusty!
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 09:25 AM   #22
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Newport Beach
Posts: 22
Default

Sorry John,
My misunderstanding - I assumed there was a need to run HRS in the Futaba for the digital receiver. I was getting the digital servo because it's faster and the Futaba manual designates HRS as "High Response System".
In my defense, my digital experience resulted from when I had installed a Futaba's R-203HF receiver in my T4. It does not operate in anything but HRS and I found out it has to have a digital servo. I just assumed that HRS was the digital setting - bad assumption.
alanfujii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 09:36 AM   #23
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Newport Beach
Posts: 22
Default

Just so you know it's not my intent to spread bad information.

I was currently finishing up my TC4 and went to the LHS and bought the DSM Spektrum for my Futaba and a digital JR Z8800s servo. I came back to finish and when reading the DSM instruction sheet about not working with Futaba in the HRS mode, I had the JR servo repackaged and was preparing to return it since I thought I couldn't use digital with my DSM/Futaba combination.

Not malicious just ignorant......
alanfujii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 03:09 PM   #24
Tech Initiate
 
maxoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Default

Can I use the S9550 servo with Spektrum?? Who use this configuration?? Because the Spektrum don't work correctly with my Ko 2363 (and i use already the capacitor)...
maxoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 03:16 PM   #25
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,984
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I can not think of a servo you can not use with the 3PK and Spektrum. I have a trusty Airtronics 94257, 3PK and have no issues. Digital servo or not I would use a Spektrum. So glad I brought it.
__________________
wilsonproperties1.com
Isaac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2005, 03:54 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
squarehead's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Wheaton, Illinois
Posts: 4,211
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to squarehead Send a message via MSN to squarehead Send a message via Yahoo to squarehead Send a message via Skype™ to squarehead
Default

Ok, lots of odd info being thrown around in this thread. Here's the skinny...

Futaba HRS mode is a great concept, but the digital servos that are required/mandatory for HRS have a bizarre digital twitch in the neutral position. The Futaba module for HRS is the same as the PPM and FM. The only difference in the system is the receiver. In my opinion, servos are so fast nowadays that virtually no one can feel the difference in speed of the HRS over PPM (FM) and PCM. Hell, I had to dial out steering speed of my digitals with the DSM, just to be able to drive my car comfortably.

The Spektrum DSM system for the 3PK is a direct bolt-in, and uses either digital or analog servos effectively. The radio itself NEEDS to be set to PPM (FM) mode to work correctly with DSM. It will NOT work properly if set to PCM or HRS.

I have been using the 3PK with a digital 9550, 9451 as well as a 9650 mini. They all work flawlessly with the Spektrum system on the 3PK. Easily, this is the best invention R/C racing has seen in the last 25 years, and that includes the RC10.


As others have said, I would HIGHLY recommend buying the 3PK transmitter and a separate Spektrum Futaba DSM system. You will NOT regret it.
__________________
Everything depends.
Nothing is always.
Everything is sometimes.
squarehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 04:01 PM   #27
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MI
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

News from Spektrum:

Spektrumís New Blazing Fast 2ms Futaba HRS Module System
Futaba 3PK owners interested in the fastest possible processing speed are sure to be blown away by Spektrumís latest engineering breakthrough, the Spektrum DSM System for Futaba HRS.

A new dedicated module and receiver have been developed specifically for use with the Futaba 3PK when HRS modulation is selected. The Spektrum latency has been reduced from 5.6ms to just 2ms!

This system is designed for use with digital servos only, and itíll be available at your local hobby shop early in 2006. The module and receiver will be designated ďFutaba HRS VersionĒ and is for use with the HRS system only.
cvt01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2005, 07:48 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

Thats interesting. Personally, I dont see such a need as I already have fast response from my Spektrum system.
__________________
Xray and Serpent....very dusty!
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Futaba R203HF HRS Micro Receiver + Futaba Transmiter FP-PK-FM RF Module 75MHz WogBoy Australia For Sale/Trade 4 11-22-2015 02:56 PM
FS: Futaba R203HF HRS Micro Receiver + Futaba Transmiter FP-PK-FM RF Module 75MHz WogBoy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 08-28-2006 12:18 AM
Futaba HRS 75mhz recevier - Futaba Digital servo s9451 - Novak cyclone esc 4SALE alltech R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 10-14-2005 07:15 AM
Futaba 3PDF FM Pistol Radio, Futaba FP-R133F FM 3 Channel Receiver, FM 66 xtal 403forbidden R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 16 05-19-2004 09:34 PM
Futaba 3PK $260, Futaba R203HF $80, R113IP $75, Futaba $9450 $80, OS 12TR $135 smash123 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 02-13-2003 04:03 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:19 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net