R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2005, 10:01 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default novak smart tray

someone please tell me my novak smart tray which i just got didnt just burn up. My buddy stuck his battery pack on there and it was the wrong way and his pack started popping and hissing. I threw a towel over the pack so the batteries that were spitting stuff out didnt get on anything, and i grabbed the cells off the tray. Damn those cells got hot and fast, the solder melted and the battery bars got loose. Now i dont have any packs to check and see if this tray is still functional, cause i just ordered a bunch of packs, and they havent come in yet. Some one please tell me my buddy didnt fry my brand new smart tray.
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:03 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
axel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,226
Default

wow that's weird did the batteries ever cause any trouble before?
axel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:04 PM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Can you still adjust the voltage on the tray?
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:12 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

my buddy put the pack in the wrong way thats why they blew up




Yes i can still change the voltage when its plugged in and there is no pack on it.

when you put the pack on it do you have to do anything if the desired voltage is at where you want it to be at? Or does it start automatically?
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:14 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

First press the button without the pack on the tray until you get desired voltage to be safe. Then stick the pack on and be sure you line up the bars to the tray's diagram and press the button to dishcarge.
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:15 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

BTW, please dispose the corroded packs to recycling center. Please preserve the environment.
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:15 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

that happened to me too. the tray will not start discharging til u press the button.
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:19 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

since we were going to try and see how it worked with the pack he blew up, can someone tell me how it works lol. do the lights come on as the cells are equilized? Or do the lights start on and go off as the cells are equilized
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:24 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

The lights go on which indicates the equalizing process is on. When all the lights below each turns off then equalizing process is done.
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:02 PM   #10
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Just make sure the contacts are clean after that mishap with your friend's battery... generally when you put in a battery backwards and it shorts like that it will leave residue on the contacts... clean those and next time pay careful attention to the polarity of the pack's terminals... if you look closely you will see that there are little pictures of battery bars on the faceplate of the tray... line up the battery bars on your pack with these and the positive and negative terminals of the back and you should be fine.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 08:27 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

what if theres a little bit of solder on a few of the clips? from when the battery got super hot and blew up. Should i heat up the clip and get the solder off it ?
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 08:36 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default Back to Novak

Tell you buddy to belly up and pay the postage back to Novak for a lookey, contact Charlie, He'll get it checked out and fixed if need be.
Ducati-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 08:38 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
wallstreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,904
Trader Rating: 20 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to wallstreet
Default

who charlie ? and where do i get in contact with him ?
wallstreet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 08:53 AM   #14
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

go to www.teamnovak.com and click on the download link... there will be service repair forms there...

Or you can call (949) 833 8873
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 09:01 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Ducati-Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: California Central Coast
Posts: 458
Default Novak Service - Excellent

One of the reasons I run Novak stuff is because of their service and warranty policy.....these guys race and love the hobby.

Charlie posts on here and races - he is the lead service guy and will do you right.

I've sent stuff in and they check it for free and you pay postage, they've replaced switches cuz I can't micro fiddle and it's done right.

Get it checked out - it may look and run right, but it could also screw up expensive packs and you'd never know it, why take a chance with electronics?

bill in ca
Ducati-Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
orion advantage (non lipo) novak smart tray novak millenium Valentin.H R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 11-16-2007 06:37 PM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
Integy Zero-Thirty Tray, Novak Smart Tray domo Australia For Sale/Trade 9 07-29-2006 05:34 AM
Novak smart tray and trinity 2.5 tray joerocket900 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-12-2005 10:52 PM
Trinity absolute zero tray/ novak smart tray ALL APPROVED R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 10-14-2005 07:54 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:31 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net