R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2014, 08:48 PM   #11281
Tech Adept
 
Mr Weasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Melbourne, victoria
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks JimmyMac. Much appreciated!
Mr Weasel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 07:05 AM   #11282
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,102
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Default

I have some ta05 pulleys and a diff, I have the limited edition black 36t wide pitch pulleys 3 of them 2 brand new in package and 1 opened still brand new, I also have a complete ball diff, I built it with ceramic balls and aluminum out drives, and lastly i have 2 18t center pulleys by square.de these are black and carbon reinforced, selling everything for $35 usd shipped, that is what just the outdrives cost
zaraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 10:51 AM   #11283
Tech Regular
 
AudioStylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kenosha, WI
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AudioStylz
Default

I'm having a hell of a time getting my TA05 up and running. Motor and speed control are in and ready to go. Finally got the servo mounts but when I go to put the servo in it the servo sits in the chassis slightly crooked and uneven. I don't know where to go or how to fix this problem. This is basically what is stopping me from finishing up my project to just get it running. I'd like to get it running for TCS GT3 next month but I need $140ish in parts before that can happen. So for now I'm planning to get it running in VTA format but with the 21.5 motor so I can tweak and tune the chassis at speed.

Anyway, anyone have any tips or tricks on how to mount up a servo properly in a TA05 Version 1????

The servo I'm using is a EXI Digital d226f.
__________________
Mike Zadler
Associated TC3 VTA (RIP 4/23/17)
AudioStylz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 12:57 PM   #11284
Tech Addict
 
Blue Sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Blue Sky
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioStylz View Post
I'm having a hell of a time getting my TA05 up and running. Motor and speed control are in and ready to go. Finally got the servo mounts but when I go to put the servo in it the servo sits in the chassis slightly crooked and uneven. I don't know where to go or how to fix this problem. This is basically what is stopping me from finishing up my project to just get it running. I'd like to get it running for TCS GT3 next month but I need $140ish in parts before that can happen. So for now I'm planning to get it running in VTA format but with the 21.5 motor so I can tweak and tune the chassis at speed.

Anyway, anyone have any tips or tricks on how to mount up a servo properly in a TA05 Version 1????

The servo I'm using is a EXI Digital d226f.
You have to cut away half of the servo tab on the inboard side.
Blue Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 12:59 PM   #11285
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioStylz View Post
I'm having a hell of a time getting my TA05 up and running. Motor and speed control are in and ready to go. Finally got the servo mounts but when I go to put the servo in it the servo sits in the chassis slightly crooked and uneven. I don't know where to go or how to fix this problem. This is basically what is stopping me from finishing up my project to just get it running. I'd like to get it running for TCS GT3 next month but I need $140ish in parts before that can happen. So for now I'm planning to get it running in VTA format but with the 21.5 motor so I can tweak and tune the chassis at speed.

Anyway, anyone have any tips or tricks on how to mount up a servo properly in a TA05 Version 1????

The servo I'm using is a EXI Digital d226f.

I have a EXI servo, but maybe not the same model. I can try to fit it inside my TA05R. I can't see why the servo wouldn't fit right unless you have the wrong mounts.

If you bring it over to The Track have one of the Tamiya clan look at it. Stegan runs a V2, but has owned a V1 TA05 as well.
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 01:03 PM   #11286
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,664
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Sky View Post
You have to cut away half of the servo tab on the inboard side.
^^^ Ah that.

I thought he meant front to back crooked not up and down.

:P
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 01:54 PM   #11287
Tech Master
 
d OG black flag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washigton, D.C.
Posts: 1,017
Default

Need some help with possible gearing for my TA-05 version 2, I am running a 17.5 on carpet and not sure what 64 spur gear to use and pinion? Would appreciate any suggestions.

Also, what about shock oil and pistons and springs. Thanks.
d OG black flag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 07:20 PM   #11288
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

17.5 blinky or boosted?
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2014, 09:59 PM   #11289
Tech Regular
 
AudioStylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kenosha, WI
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AudioStylz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nexus View Post
I have a EXI servo, but maybe not the same model. I can try to fit it inside my TA05R. I can't see why the servo wouldn't fit right unless you have the wrong mounts.

If you bring it over to The Track have one of the Tamiya clan look at it. Stegan runs a V2, but has owned a V1 TA05 as well.
I'll have to bring it down in a few weeks. My EXI servo is a 226f but learned today that it doesn't work all that great, smells burnt. I'll be ordering a new servo in a few weeks time but can use my current one as mock up.
__________________
Mike Zadler
Associated TC3 VTA (RIP 4/23/17)
AudioStylz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2014, 06:08 PM   #11290
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just picked up a used TA05 v2r as a step up from my TT02 so I'm still kinda new. My question is about gearing. I wanted to put a Tamiya silver can motor in there to start.

Are spur and pinion gears chassis specific? Can I use the 64, 68 and 81T spur gears and 22, 28 and 29T pinion gears I have from my TT02? Will they work in the Ta05 or do I need to buy a separate set of gears?

Basically the only gears I have are for a TT02 except for the 90T spur gear that came with the TA05. When I try to fit the 28T pinion onto the silver can motor and try to align it with the 90T spur it doesn't really look like it's supposed to go together so I figure I'm doing something wrong. Please advise.

Also, I'm missing some screws and I'm wondering if there is a set of screws I can buy that will cover all my bases. I'm missing the screws that hold the servo down from under the chassis as well as the screws that hold the motor to the motor plate. Do I need to get these individually?

Last edited by visuvius; 03-05-2014 at 08:12 PM.
visuvius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 04:00 PM   #11291
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried different diff pulleys on their TA05? maybe the ta04 or 415 pullies....
What type of modifications would I need to make? I have the 3racing optional center pulley set that has 16,17 and 18 teeth. I'm trying to get it around 2.0 for easier gearing options
__________________
TA05 gen 1.... the real OG.
I'm not a racer, I just crush a lot.
17.5- Spec-r S1~ Scale Spec- VBC Ghost EVO ~ GT2- TA05 ~ GT3- TB03 ~ F1-F104
Keepin' it real with my M11x
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 06:04 AM   #11292
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big al View Post
Has anyone tried different diff pulleys on their TA05? maybe the ta04 or 415 pullies....
What type of modifications would I need to make? I have the 3racing optional center pulley set that has 16,17 and 18 teeth. I'm trying to get it around 2.0 for easier gearing options
I think you'r better of to have the 37T geardiffs or balldiffs with the 18T center pulley's mounted. It gives you a internal radtio of 2.055.
addicted2blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 11:38 PM   #11293
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Broke my front diff joint today at practice
Am I better off just buying new plastic diff joints or is aluminum ones better?
Thank you
http://www.stellamodels.com.hk/53919-ta05-aluminum-differential-joint-p-2504.html
macscac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 12:31 AM   #11294
PDR
Tech Master
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,826
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macscac View Post
Broke my front diff joint today at practice
Am I better off just buying new plastic diff joints or is aluminum ones better?
Thank you
http://www.stellamodels.com.hk/53919...nt-p-2504.html
Not entirely sure it will matter much. The plastic ones are quite durable, but do tend to fracture. The aluminium ones may bend instead, so it'll just be a different kind of failure. Depending on the track and your driving style, you may even consider a spool

Phil.
__________________
Looking for chassis | Multiple Kids
2011 Slowest Winner - 21.5 Muchmore Masters & NSW State Titles Demo Class
https://www.facebook.com/phatdadracing/
Making an A Main at a Scotty Ernst event. Awesome. Scotty calling you first in A1. Priceless
PDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 08:56 AM   #11295
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Sorry...
What's a spool do and what's the pro/con?
macscac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net