Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan >

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Like Tree25Likes

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Old 02-17-2014, 07:48 PM
  #11281  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Mr Weasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Melbourne, victoria
Posts: 109
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Thanks JimmyMac. Much appreciated!
Mr Weasel is offline  
Old 02-18-2014, 06:05 AM
  #11282  
Tech Master
iTrader: (36)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,286
Trader Rating: 36 (95%+)
Default

I have some ta05 pulleys and a diff, I have the limited edition black 36t wide pitch pulleys 3 of them 2 brand new in package and 1 opened still brand new, I also have a complete ball diff, I built it with ceramic balls and aluminum out drives, and lastly i have 2 18t center pulleys by square.de these are black and carbon reinforced, selling everything for $35 usd shipped, that is what just the outdrives cost
zaraz is offline  
Old 02-19-2014, 09:51 AM
  #11283  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
AudioStylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kenosha, WI
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I'm having a hell of a time getting my TA05 up and running. Motor and speed control are in and ready to go. Finally got the servo mounts but when I go to put the servo in it the servo sits in the chassis slightly crooked and uneven. I don't know where to go or how to fix this problem. This is basically what is stopping me from finishing up my project to just get it running. I'd like to get it running for TCS GT3 next month but I need $140ish in parts before that can happen. So for now I'm planning to get it running in VTA format but with the 21.5 motor so I can tweak and tune the chassis at speed.

Anyway, anyone have any tips or tricks on how to mount up a servo properly in a TA05 Version 1????

The servo I'm using is a EXI Digital d226f.
AudioStylz is offline  
Old 02-19-2014, 11:57 AM
  #11284  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Blue Sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 689
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AudioStylz View Post
I'm having a hell of a time getting my TA05 up and running. Motor and speed control are in and ready to go. Finally got the servo mounts but when I go to put the servo in it the servo sits in the chassis slightly crooked and uneven. I don't know where to go or how to fix this problem. This is basically what is stopping me from finishing up my project to just get it running. I'd like to get it running for TCS GT3 next month but I need $140ish in parts before that can happen. So for now I'm planning to get it running in VTA format but with the 21.5 motor so I can tweak and tune the chassis at speed.

Anyway, anyone have any tips or tricks on how to mount up a servo properly in a TA05 Version 1????

The servo I'm using is a EXI Digital d226f.
You have to cut away half of the servo tab on the inboard side.
Blue Sky is offline  
Old 02-19-2014, 11:59 AM
  #11285  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,735
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AudioStylz View Post
I'm having a hell of a time getting my TA05 up and running. Motor and speed control are in and ready to go. Finally got the servo mounts but when I go to put the servo in it the servo sits in the chassis slightly crooked and uneven. I don't know where to go or how to fix this problem. This is basically what is stopping me from finishing up my project to just get it running. I'd like to get it running for TCS GT3 next month but I need $140ish in parts before that can happen. So for now I'm planning to get it running in VTA format but with the 21.5 motor so I can tweak and tune the chassis at speed.

Anyway, anyone have any tips or tricks on how to mount up a servo properly in a TA05 Version 1????

The servo I'm using is a EXI Digital d226f.

I have a EXI servo, but maybe not the same model. I can try to fit it inside my TA05R. I can't see why the servo wouldn't fit right unless you have the wrong mounts.

If you bring it over to The Track have one of the Tamiya clan look at it. Stegan runs a V2, but has owned a V1 TA05 as well.
Nexus is offline  
Old 02-19-2014, 12:03 PM
  #11286  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,735
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Blue Sky View Post
You have to cut away half of the servo tab on the inboard side.
^^^ Ah that.

I thought he meant front to back crooked not up and down.

:P
Nexus is offline  
Old 02-19-2014, 12:54 PM
  #11287  
Tech Master
 
d OG black flag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Washigton, D.C.
Posts: 1,016
Default

Need some help with possible gearing for my TA-05 version 2, I am running a 17.5 on carpet and not sure what 64 spur gear to use and pinion? Would appreciate any suggestions.

Also, what about shock oil and pistons and springs. Thanks.
d OG black flag is offline  
Old 02-19-2014, 06:20 PM
  #11288  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

17.5 blinky or boosted?
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 02-25-2014, 08:59 PM
  #11289  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
AudioStylz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Kenosha, WI
Posts: 498
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Nexus View Post
I have a EXI servo, but maybe not the same model. I can try to fit it inside my TA05R. I can't see why the servo wouldn't fit right unless you have the wrong mounts.

If you bring it over to The Track have one of the Tamiya clan look at it. Stegan runs a V2, but has owned a V1 TA05 as well.
I'll have to bring it down in a few weeks. My EXI servo is a 226f but learned today that it doesn't work all that great, smells burnt. I'll be ordering a new servo in a few weeks time but can use my current one as mock up.
AudioStylz is offline  
Old 03-05-2014, 05:08 PM
  #11290  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 75
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just picked up a used TA05 v2r as a step up from my TT02 so I'm still kinda new. My question is about gearing. I wanted to put a Tamiya silver can motor in there to start.

Are spur and pinion gears chassis specific? Can I use the 64, 68 and 81T spur gears and 22, 28 and 29T pinion gears I have from my TT02? Will they work in the Ta05 or do I need to buy a separate set of gears?

Basically the only gears I have are for a TT02 except for the 90T spur gear that came with the TA05. When I try to fit the 28T pinion onto the silver can motor and try to align it with the 90T spur it doesn't really look like it's supposed to go together so I figure I'm doing something wrong. Please advise.

Also, I'm missing some screws and I'm wondering if there is a set of screws I can buy that will cover all my bases. I'm missing the screws that hold the servo down from under the chassis as well as the screws that hold the motor to the motor plate. Do I need to get these individually?

Last edited by visuvius; 03-05-2014 at 07:12 PM.
visuvius is offline  
Old 02-16-2015, 03:00 PM
  #11291  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,047
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone tried different diff pulleys on their TA05? maybe the ta04 or 415 pullies....
What type of modifications would I need to make? I have the 3racing optional center pulley set that has 16,17 and 18 teeth. I'm trying to get it around 2.0 for easier gearing options
big al is offline  
Old 02-17-2015, 05:04 AM
  #11292  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Antwerp, Belgium
Posts: 876
Default

Originally Posted by big al View Post
Has anyone tried different diff pulleys on their TA05? maybe the ta04 or 415 pullies....
What type of modifications would I need to make? I have the 3racing optional center pulley set that has 16,17 and 18 teeth. I'm trying to get it around 2.0 for easier gearing options
I think you'r better of to have the 37T geardiffs or balldiffs with the 18T center pulley's mounted. It gives you a internal radtio of 2.055.
addicted2blue is offline  
Old 03-03-2015, 10:38 PM
  #11293  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Broke my front diff joint today at practice
Am I better off just buying new plastic diff joints or is aluminum ones better?
Thank you
http://www.stellamodels.com.hk/53919-ta05-aluminum-differential-joint-p-2504.html
macscac is offline  
Old 03-03-2015, 11:31 PM
  #11294  
PDR
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
PDR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,927
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by macscac View Post
Broke my front diff joint today at practice
Am I better off just buying new plastic diff joints or is aluminum ones better?
Thank you
http://www.stellamodels.com.hk/53919...nt-p-2504.html
Not entirely sure it will matter much. The plastic ones are quite durable, but do tend to fracture. The aluminium ones may bend instead, so it'll just be a different kind of failure. Depending on the track and your driving style, you may even consider a spool

Phil.
PDR is offline  
Old 03-04-2015, 07:56 AM
  #11295  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Sorry...
What's a spool do and what's the pro/con?
macscac is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.