Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan >

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Like Tree25Likes

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Old 06-06-2011, 11:03 AM
  #11116  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
spring71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 4,420
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Smile

We have indoor rc track & hobby shop in chino CA.

Spec R Gear Diffs and Universals are in stock.

Click Here to see Spec R products.

Click Here to visit the parts store




Please visit www.tqrcracing.com for more information.
spring71 is offline  
Old 07-05-2011, 07:14 AM
  #11117  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
silverhkswrx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tampa, Fl.
Posts: 988
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tamiyarcracer View Post
Strong but medium weight - medium to fast wear
There are2 Titanium axles one for the reversible Lightweight suspension, (53718) and one for the standard TA04 / TB02 / TA05 suspension (53681)

Super lightweight & soft
There is the aluminum axle from the TRF415MSX Reinhard edition (53939)

Super strong, good wear, & heavy
To really confuse everyone there are the stock steel axles for the standard TA04 / TB02 / TA05 suspension (53499) & the steel axles for the reversible lightweight suspension (51094)


That is your lesson for today, class!
You wouldn't happen to know if any of these titanium outdrives work with the TA06 would you?
silverhkswrx is offline  
Old 07-23-2011, 12:55 AM
  #11118  
TOJ
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
TOJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

hello guys,

does anyone know if the TA05 has option pulleys? larger & smaller mid pulley or front diff pully to create overdrive ( front wheel turn a bit faster than the rear wheel ) or underdrive ( front wheel turn a little slower than the rear wheel ) usually option pulley has 1 slot more or 1 slot less than the standard pulley for the belt tooth.

few kits has this option feature like TA03 , LOSI JRXS as far as i know.
TOJ is offline  
Old 07-23-2011, 01:28 AM
  #11119  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,447
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, you can use 36 or 37 pulleys. But don't ask me about belts. I don't remember. I'm still using old school pulley setup 36/16.
JimmyMac is offline  
Old 07-23-2011, 03:50 AM
  #11120  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TOJ View Post
hello guys,

does anyone know if the TA05 has option pulleys? larger & smaller mid pulley or front diff pully to create overdrive ( front wheel turn a bit faster than the rear wheel ) or underdrive ( front wheel turn a little slower than the rear wheel ) usually option pulley has 1 slot more or 1 slot less than the standard pulley for the belt tooth.

few kits has this option feature like TA03 , LOSI JRXS as far as i know.
square and active make overdrive kits for the ta05. if ur only looking for tamiya made products u either can do a front/rear pulley of 36t or 37t and a center pulley of 16t or 18t. not sure if anyone has tried using the ta06's front 39t pulley.
platypus_s13 is offline  
Old 07-23-2011, 04:37 AM
  #11121  
TOJ
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
TOJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 164
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Yeah, you can use 36 or 37 pulleys. But don't ask me about belts. I don't remember. I'm still using old school pulley setup 36/16.

Originally Posted by platypus_s13 View Post
square and active make overdrive kits for the ta05. if ur only looking for tamiya made products u either can do a front/rear pulley of 36t or 37t and a center pulley of 16t or 18t. not sure if anyone has tried using the ta06's front 39t pulley.

so it's possible, thanks a lot.
TOJ is offline  
Old 07-24-2011, 09:30 PM
  #11122  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,047
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I don't know of this has been brought up, but I realized today that the xray castor blocks for the 07,08 and 09 are almost a direct for the ta05. You could then use the xray knuckles. I only came upon this because I have a hard time getting tamiya parts up here in the pacific north west.
big al is offline  
Old 07-25-2011, 12:27 AM
  #11123  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (315)
 
nexxus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 8,814
Trader Rating: 315 (100%+)
Default

http://www.stellamodels.net/catalog/...oducts_id=5636

Wonder how this compares to the Spec R diff, certainly cheaper!
nexxus is offline  
Old 07-27-2011, 03:51 PM
  #11124  
Tech Master
 
kdeselms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,019
Default

Just in case anyone is interested, I have a fully-loaded TA05 v2 up for sale including everything but a receiver, transponder and battery - it's got almost all of the TRF upgrades on it, as well as the Exotec carbon chassis. Lots of extra parts and Solaris tires, as well. Also a Hudy 10th scale touring car setup station.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...p-station.html
kdeselms is offline  
Old 07-29-2011, 03:32 PM
  #11125  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,799
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

TA05 gear diffs are in.
stitchy is offline  
Old 07-31-2011, 11:31 PM
  #11126  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
monkee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cda, idaho
Posts: 897
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I keep breaking king pins
I know it's happening when I overshoot the turn at the end of the straight
Regardless, until I increase my skill, I need to change something
What's the best option?
Going back to plastic knuckles? Or c hubs? Or a different top bearing?
Please give me any help
This is frustrating. I've gone through 4 so far amd this is the last pin I have on hand
Drilling them out sucks



monkee is offline  
Old 08-01-2011, 04:47 AM
  #11127  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Blacktiger355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by monkee View Post
I keep breaking king pins
I know it's happening when I overshoot the turn at the end of the straight
Regardless, until I increase my skill, I need to change something
What's the best option?
Going back to plastic knuckles? Or c hubs? Or a different top bearing?
Please give me any help
This is frustrating. I've gone through 4 so far amd this is the last pin I have on hand
Drilling them out sucks
For now I would go back to at least the plastic knuckles. And maybe the c-hubs. The plastic knuckles are easier to get in a pinch than the king pins. And are more forgiving than the aluminum.
Blacktiger355 is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:06 PM
  #11128  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RossoTorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Euro-Thrash
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well, i have searched and looked for answer but can't find one...

I got a loaded TA05R and want to use oil gear diffs, and all i find are for TA05 V2's. Now, can i change over to use them on my car?
What parts are needed to change?

Anyone have part numbers?

I know i have to buy the diffs partnumber 54312.
What pulleys and belts do i need?
RossoTorro is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 01:09 AM
  #11129  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RossoTorro View Post
Well, i have searched and looked for answer but can't find one...

I got a loaded TA05R and want to use oil gear diffs, and all i find are for TA05 V2's. Now, can i change over to use them on my car?
What parts are needed to change?

Anyone have part numbers?

I know i have to buy the diffs partnumber 54312.
What pulleys and belts do i need?
the ta05r used 16t center pulleys with 36t f/r pulleys. all the newer ta05's from the ifs-r to the v2-r use 18t center pulleys with 37t f/r pulleys. you will need to buy the 18t centers and the belts for an ifs-r or v2 and you will be able to use the v2's gear diffs.
platypus_s13 is offline  
Old 10-04-2011, 06:53 AM
  #11130  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RossoTorro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Euro-Thrash
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What about clarence in chassi for bigger diffs?

Maybe upgrade car to v2 with new chassi and v2 paarts also then...
RossoTorro is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.