R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-15-2009, 10:00 PM   #10666
Tech Adept
 
jolson88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 173
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Balancing Chassis

Hey all. I recently picked up an MIP tweak station to get my tuning process started on my TA05. I figured that trying to check tweak would be pointless before verifying that the chassis is balanced right-to-left (correct me if I'm wrong ).

What is the best/easiest way to balance? Since this is my first racing chassis, I have no clue where to start . Any tips would be much appreciated .

Also, what is the easiest test to see if the diff is slipping? Is that something that can be done during setup, or only out on the track?
__________________
Associated B4
Tamiya TA-05
Traxxas Slash

Last edited by jolson88; 09-15-2009 at 10:21 PM.
jolson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 01:34 AM   #10667
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

It's not necessary to have the car balanced when measuring tweak.

To balance the car you need to get some weights and put your car on a couple of balancing needlepoints like those made by Hudy (probably other companies offer similar devices) or you can make your own.

Alternatively you could get four small kitchen scales and rest each wheel on one.

Remember that the further away from the centre of the chassis you place the weights, the less weight you need to add to balance the car out but the more their inertia will count when going around corners. Check what is the minimum weight you are allowed by the rules and try to achieve that weight.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 08:54 AM   #10668
Tech Adept
 
AUDI 0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Loganville PA
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Iam going to purchase brushless system for my TA05, which ESC will fit in the very limited amount of space? I have been told Novak GTB fits snug, prob what I will get, but curious which others. Iam ebay shopping for a good used unit so your input will help. Thanks.
__________________
TAMIYA TA05v2 /// TRF416 ///
AUDI 0000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 11:06 AM   #10669
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 227
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUDI 0000 View Post
Iam going to purchase brushless system for my TA05, which ESC will fit in the very limited amount of space? I have been told Novak GTB fits snug, prob what I will get, but curious which others. Iam ebay shopping for a good used unit so your input will help. Thanks.
Brain,

It fits when you take alittle off the reinforcing rib behind motor and point the wires to the center of car, but it's kinda hard to see the LEDs. I can't make it this Thursday, but I'll bring my oval TA05 IFS-R the following thursday and show you. Also, Jamie Hanson is selling some of his old speedos

John
billb60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 11:22 AM   #10670
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,940
Default

Tekin fits but the trick is to find one S/H.
__________________
Team Greasy Weasel

The best upgrade to any car is some driver skill.
niznai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 12:22 PM   #10671
Tech Elite
 
Blacktiger355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Yes the GTB does fit. It is a bit snug as said above. But I got it in with out any grinding on the chassis. Also the LRP Sphere series fits alot easier.

Here is a pic of each installed in the car.



Blacktiger355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 12:35 PM   #10672
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,908
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUDI 0000 View Post
just a question for some ta05 owners. Iam newer to the hobby and purchased a used ta05r a few months ago. I love the car and recently have been racing it on asphalt. Iam now addicted. Iam also addicted to hop-ups ect. I have been spending alot on Tamiya hop-ups (no 3racing or square). I was about to order some more items (maybe not neccesary but part of what makes the hobby fun). My question before I own a 600$ Ta05, Is this chassis worth it or should I just spend the money on a used Ta05ms or used trf416. I plan to keep racing.Thanks for your opinions, I do love the Ta05 and its easy to drive and maintain.
I've tried many tamiya chassis and here is my input. The TA05 is a great platform to run on. It is durable and forgiving to drive. I also spent a ton of money upgrading it, enough to buy a CF chassis roller. If can get that car around a track with minimal crashes, and think you can go faster, a 416 might be a better choice. But if you are running 17.5 or even 13.5, you should be able to get away with the 05. Main point here is: how good is your driving? GL
inpuressa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 12:51 PM   #10673
Tech Adept
 
AUDI 0000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Loganville PA
Posts: 149
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the input, and pictures
__________________
TAMIYA TA05v2 /// TRF416 ///
AUDI 0000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 01:05 PM   #10674
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 227
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUDI 0000 View Post
just a question for some ta05 owners. Iam newer to the hobby and purchased a used ta05r a few months ago. I love the car and recently have been racing it on asphalt. Iam now addicted. Iam also addicted to hop-ups ect. I have been spending alot on Tamiya hop-ups (no 3racing or square). I was about to order some more items (maybe not neccesary but part of what makes the hobby fun). My question before I own a 600$ Ta05, Is this chassis worth it or should I just spend the money on a used Ta05ms or used trf416. I plan to keep racing.Thanks for your opinions, I do love the Ta05 and its easy to drive and maintain.
If you do stay Tamiya, the "C" doesn't have alot of spares but will order for you at a fair price so, keep extras. Also look at Losi, there many fast ones running at the C. So much so I got one and when I move up to Sportsman class I'll probably use it over the EVO 5.
billb60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 01:08 PM   #10675
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 227
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacktiger355 View Post
Yes the GTB does fit. It is a bit snug as said above. But I got it in with out any grinding on the chassis. Also the LRP Sphere series fits alot easier.

Here is a pic of each installed in the car.



In first photo, I guess that is a metal gear servo? What arm is that you are using instead of servo saver?
billb60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 01:10 PM   #10676
Tech Elite
 
Blacktiger355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUDI 0000 View Post
thanks for the input, and pictures

Your welcome!

billb60, You are correct. It's a KO servo. The arm I can not remember where I got it. I had a few in my pit box. I have some for all the main brand servos, JR/Hitec/Air/Fut etc. I will try and track them down and let you know. It works well for the application. Lines up the link perfect.

Last edited by Blacktiger355; 09-19-2009 at 01:28 PM.
Blacktiger355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 09:08 AM   #10677
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I have a GTB in my TA05 as well. However, I have the wires facing the outside of the chassis, opposite of the one pictured above. It's a tight fit.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 11:56 PM   #10678
Tech Adept
 
jolson88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 173
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default HPI Ford GT or Zonda on non-IFS TA-05?

Can anybody confirm whether the Ford GT and/or Zonda HPI bodies work on a non-IFS TA-05?

Thanks!
__________________
Associated B4
Tamiya TA-05
Traxxas Slash
jolson88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 06:19 AM   #10679
Tech Elite
 
M-Technic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 2,562
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I don't think HPI makes any bodies specifically for IFS cars.
__________________
RCAmerica | Xray | Hudy | Radiopost | Speed Passion USA | Trinity | P3 Graphics
M-Technic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 07:53 AM   #10680
Tech Champion
 
TimPotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Boynton Beach Fl > Randoph NJ
Posts: 7,481
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TimPotter
Default

With a little grinding, the SP 2.0 fits in there...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AUDI 0000 View Post
Iam going to purchase brushless system for my TA05, which ESC will fit in the very limited amount of space? I have been told Novak GTB fits snug, prob what I will get, but curious which others. Iam ebay shopping for a good used unit so your input will help. Thanks.
__________________
Clean Title & Escrow|p3|TRF|Tamiya|SerpentAmerica|FSEARA|Team Butter|RC 3|Munno |RCTECH #29|EAMotorsports|BMI|Novak|SpeedPassion|RadioPost
TimPotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:23 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net