R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes

Old 09-02-2009, 11:32 AM   #10621
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)

Too loose and the belts will skip on the pulleys under hard acceleration.

Too tight and they will bind up the drive train.

I go by feel on how tight they should be. I can't put it in words though
Old 09-02-2009, 11:32 AM   #10622
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jolson88 View Post
Hey all. I'm new to onroad and got a used TA-05 in great condition. I'm in the process of breaking it down, cleaning it, and all that jazz.

Question: how "tensioned" should the drive belts be? Currently, I'm wondering if they are too loose? Is that even possible? What would the impact of that be?
as loose as possible without slipping. If I press one of the belts in the middle it pushes down about 1cm.
Old 09-02-2009, 12:11 PM   #10623
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)

As said above, you will know it if they are too loose. My suggestion, build it as per the manual and see if they slip. If they do, tighten them one notch on the diffs at a time till they stop.
Blacktiger355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 12:53 PM   #10624
Tech Adept

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacktiger355 View Post
As said above, you will know it if they are too loose. My suggestion, build it as per the manual and see if they slip. If they do, tighten them one notch on the diffs at a time till they stop.
Don't be so sure that I would know . What happens when driving if the belt slips? How would I be able to tell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe of loath
as loose as possible without slipping. If I press one of the belts in the middle it pushes down about 1cm.
Hm, perhaps mine is too loose then. I believe mine pushed down nearly 2cm. I've only actually raced this car once, and it was my first on-road race, so I don't know how to tell by driving whether it's too loose.