R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-24-2009, 02:41 AM   #10336
Tech Adept
 
Ricky/C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 178
Send a message via MSN to Ricky/C
Default

There is a piece of plastick that you should have put on!? It keeps the cables away from the belts...
__________________
TRF 416 WE | LRP SPX Stock Spec| 17.5 SP | Sanwa M11
TRF 416 WE | LRP TC Sphere | Novak 3.5 | Sanwa M11

www.oneten.co.za >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Home of RC in SA
Ricky/C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 03:03 AM   #10337
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky/C View Post
There is a piece of plastick that you should have put on!? It keeps the cables away from the belts...
+1, there should be a plastic "clamp" that secures the wires to the chassis,via the use of one screw.

You may even see it on the picture on the box
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 01:47 PM   #10338
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
+1, there should be a plastic "clamp" that secures the wires to the chassis,via the use of one screw.

You may even see it on the picture on the box
OH that's what it is! I wondered what the random piece of plastic was...
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:41 PM   #10339
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 677
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricky/C View Post
There is a piece of plastick that you should have put on!? It keeps the cables away from the belts...
Ive got the wires going under that plastic clamp. They still seem to rub as they loop up after the clamp towards the batt plug. Not rubbing continuously, but enough to now start to be a problem.
Maybee the wires are too long(??)
1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2009, 11:45 PM   #10340
Tech Adept
 
Ricky/C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Africa
Posts: 178
Send a message via MSN to Ricky/C
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
Ive got the wires going under that plastic clamp. They still seem to rub as they loop up after the clamp towards the batt plug. Not rubbing continuously, but enough to now start to be a problem.
Maybee the wires are too long(??)
Yes, what type of batteries do you use? If you can trim the wires, why not? It wont be a bad thing
__________________
TRF 416 WE | LRP SPX Stock Spec| 17.5 SP | Sanwa M11
TRF 416 WE | LRP TC Sphere | Novak 3.5 | Sanwa M11

www.oneten.co.za >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Home of RC in SA
Ricky/C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 11:39 PM   #10341
Tech Addict
 
3.141592's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: SG-MY
Posts: 652
Default

hi guys...would anyone be able to share some TA05R setups on some recent races? I could only find the Satoshi Maezumi online but it was dated back in 2006. Appreciate the help. Thanks.
3.141592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 07:43 AM   #10342
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TfnG View Post
anyone run their TA05 in the vintage trans am class? i bought the TA05 as a drift car...but didnt find drifting too fun. now there is a carpet track opening up near me soon, so i wanna convert the drifter to a USVTA car. any opinions? ill need to start from scratch on the set up.

Its a very capable TA car. Start with the setup from the manual and you'll be close.
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 04:02 AM   #10343
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 677
Default Mamba Max CMS4600

Hi there. I was thinking about getting a Mamba Max CMS4600 bl with esc.
Is this overkill for a TA??
Its a pretty good price(old stock) locally (New Zealand), & with the NZ$ plummeting in value any newer/better BL system will be considerably more expensive.
I also like the idea of lower maintaince of BL.
Could I just program it to give less peak power/more tourqe & set the transmitter to not use full throttle.
I dont really want to to break/stretch belts diffs etc just for a quick power buzz.
Well I would like the power buzz but wont.....
1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:42 AM   #10344
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Got a question hopefully someone has run into and knows how to fix. I got my R used and went through it and tried to set it back to stock setup as best I could. It has the CF shock towers on it and when I try to put the shocks in the stock location the ride height is way up there. Like 6.5 if I remember correctly. The only way I can get the ride height down to 5 or 5.5 is to have the shocks mounted on the outer holes on both the arms and towers. I didn't measue the shock length but screwed on the end as much as I could. I wouldn't think I should have to put limiters in the shock but maybe I have to. Car works pretty good but I just don't have any adjustability. Is this common or do I have to just keep searching? What is normal shock length for those that have measured them?

Edit: Running rubber tire or VTA
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 10:02 AM   #10345
Tech Master
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padailey View Post
Got a question hopefully someone has run into and knows how to fix. I got my R used and went through it and tried to set it back to stock setup as best I could. It has the CF shock towers on it and when I try to put the shocks in the stock location the ride height is way up there. Like 6.5 if I remember correctly. The only way I can get the ride height down to 5 or 5.5 is to have the shocks mounted on the outer holes on both the arms and towers. I didn't measue the shock length but screwed on the end as much as I could. I wouldn't think I should have to put limiters in the shock but maybe I have to. Car works pretty good but I just don't have any adjustability. Is this common or do I have to just keep searching? What is normal shock length for those that have measured them?

Edit: Running rubber tire or VTA
The TA05R I ran VTA with had carbon towers on it and I had no problem getting the ride height correct- HOWEVER it came with these which lowers it 1mm:

RC Aluminum Damper Retainer - 1mm Down Type
Item #53876
MSRP: $19.50

http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=53876

Last edited by TwoTone; 03-11-2009 at 12:07 PM.
TwoTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 10:09 AM   #10346
Tech Champion
 
Core Creations's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Core Creations
Default

What springs are you using? Tamiya? You said this is an R....so you have TRF shocks?
Quote:
Originally Posted by padailey View Post
Got a question hopefully someone has run into and knows how to fix. I got my R used and went through it and tried to set it back to stock setup as best I could. It has the CF shock towers on it and when I try to put the shocks in the stock location the ride height is way up there. Like 6.5 if I remember correctly. The only way I can get the ride height down to 5 or 5.5 is to have the shocks mounted on the outer holes on both the arms and towers. I didn't measue the shock length but screwed on the end as much as I could. I wouldn't think I should have to put limiters in the shock but maybe I have to. Car works pretty good but I just don't have any adjustability. Is this common or do I have to just keep searching? What is normal shock length for those that have measured them?

Edit: Running rubber tire or VTA
__________________
Core Creations paint thread

Mini Mafia Kansas Chapter - where the monster minis grow!
Core Creations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 10:29 AM   #10347
Tech Master
 
padailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Council Bluffs, IA
Posts: 1,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Core Creations View Post
What springs are you using? Tamiya? You said this is an R....so you have TRF shocks?
Yes the TRF shocks from the kit. Using either assoc or tamiya springs. Right now I'm using the tamiya white kit springs in the rear.
__________________
www.hobbyplexraceway.com

Tamiya TRF417X (Lion's Automotive GTR)
Tamiya TRF416X
Tamiya F104W MP6/4 converted to F104X1 (Renault R30)
padailey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 07:00 AM   #10348
Tech Elite
 
Blacktiger355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Can anyone suggest a good starting point Gear Ratio/FDR for the following motors using 48 pitch?

A novak 17.5 I am having a hard time getting it to the low 3.5 listed on novak's gear chart.

A Losi Xcelorin 10.5. Last 5 minute test run with this, the motor was at 115.

And a Trinity Duo 10.5. This is on it's way for my buddies car.

Also I want to confirm that the stock TA05 internal drive ratio is 2.25?

Running standard rubber tires.
Blacktiger355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 07:21 AM   #10349
Tech Adept
 
todd8603's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oshawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 248
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by padailey View Post
Got a question hopefully someone has run into and knows how to fix. I got my R used and went through it and tried to set it back to stock setup as best I could. It has the CF shock towers on it and when I try to put the shocks in the stock location the ride height is way up there. Like 6.5 if I remember correctly. The only way I can get the ride height down to 5 or 5.5 is to have the shocks mounted on the outer holes on both the arms and towers. I didn't measue the shock length but screwed on the end as much as I could. I wouldn't think I should have to put limiters in the shock but maybe I have to. Car works pretty good but I just don't have any adjustability. Is this common or do I have to just keep searching? What is normal shock length for those that have measured them?

Edit: Running rubber tire or VTA
Check the droop screws. They limit uptravel(unsprung ride height) and either are not installed or are adjusted incorrectly.
todd8603 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 11:43 AM   #10350
Tech Regular
 
Redwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto Ontario Canada
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Here are a link to get you going and will give you different FDRs.
http://www.gearmachine.net

If you don't know. the internial gear tario is 2.25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mash13 View Post
Hey guys,

I'm running a 05 that was origionally a IFS but I removed the IFS and added another shock tower at the front. Luckily the kit came with everything needed to swap out that IFS crap!
This has dramatically improved the performance of the car, now she handles like a dream, and managed to race ok a few days ago.
ok well anyways i'm running 70/35 gearing but I really need to lower my FDR to about 3 to 3.5 So I will need to run a 45T pinion gear (for 3.5 FDR).

My question is, will a pinion this size fit? I dont have any to test out so was wondering if any of you guys have run anything similar?
Redwings is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net