Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan >

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Like Tree2Likes

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Reply

Old 01-13-2009, 11:23 PM
  #10276  
mok
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
mok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by macscac View Post
forewarning.... the following pics are bad.

anyhow.... so here is my question.
using the 3racing conversion chassis. i ordered front and rear stiffeners on ebay but i dont think i need them.
is that correct?

ive included pics of where i think they'd go but i dont think they are necessary.

or am i missing something?
thanks
pretty sure that the ones that you have pictured are not required on the 3R TA05 conversion..
they would normally be used on a TA05R (they replace the front and rear plastic stiffeners that the stock TA05 comes with)
mok is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2009, 11:28 PM
  #10277  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

thats what i figured.
thanks!

guess its time to start thinking about electronics
macscac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:13 AM
  #10278  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

what bodies do you typically use with your ta05?

it seems that the IFS conversion is a really good idea.

i just cut the body post holes and wheels out of a dodge stratus and a mohawk body.
both of them, the hood sits on the suspension frame.

what works best for you??

macscac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:27 AM
  #10279  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

HPI '68 Camaro -- fits nice on a TA05-R chassis
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 11:28 AM
  #10280  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a tamiya mercedes C class (and it looks amazing) and an HPI Mustang GT-R, but the mustang needs 26mm wheels, otherwise the arches swamp the wheels.
joe of loath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 10:13 PM
  #10281  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

will this battery strap work for the 3racing conversion chassis?
http://www.3racing.hk/products.php?products_key=10

macscac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 11:27 PM
  #10282  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Renton, Wa
Posts: 177
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by macscac View Post
what bodies do you typically use with your ta05?

it seems that the IFS conversion is a really good idea.

i just cut the body post holes and wheels out of a dodge stratus and a mohawk body.
both of them, the hood sits on the suspension frame.

what works best for you??
I currently run a ProForm Mazda Speed 6 190mm body on my TA05. When I lower the body all the way down the mounting posts until it hits the shock towers the tires rub on the hood AND I would have to trim all of the front spoiler off the body so it wouldn't hit the track.

Question: How low are guys running this body, front and back? (In number of holes from the bottom of the mounting post.)
rknott is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 07:07 AM
  #10283  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 273
Default

Originally Posted by rknott View Post
I currently run a ProForm Mazda Speed 6 190mm body on my TA05. When I lower the body all the way down the mounting posts until it hits the shock towers the tires rub on the hood AND I would have to trim all of the front spoiler off the body so it wouldn't hit the track.

Question: How low are guys running this body, front and back? (In number of holes from the bottom of the mounting post.)
I ran mine in my parking lot last week for the 1st time, and w/ the factory droop settings the body sits about 1/2 inch off the ground. I can hear the bottom edges of the body bottom out, so I might monkey with the droop a bit.
dragnse7en is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 07:31 AM
  #10284  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rknott View Post
I currently run a ProForm Mazda Speed 6 190mm body on my TA05. When I lower the body all the way down the mounting posts until it hits the shock towers the tires rub on the hood AND I would have to trim all of the front spoiler off the body so it wouldn't hit the track.

Question: How low are guys running this body, front and back? (In number of holes from the bottom of the mounting post.)
I have the front spoiler intact. Front/rear 5th/4th hole form bottom.
stocker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:27 AM
  #10285  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Originally Posted by macscac View Post
will this battery strap work for the 3racing conversion chassis?
http://www.3racing.hk/products.php?products_key=10


that looks exactly what came with my V1 3Racing graphite chassis, so i'd be very inclined to say yes
tc3team is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 07:06 PM
  #10286  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,924
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hey all,

I'm selling my TA-05R. Fully RTR, lots of upgrade parts included. 4 motors, Novak XBR, Airtronics MX3S, Orion Platinum 4800 Lipo, and much more! Check it out.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...ml#post5315770

Last edited by macnkitty2002; 01-19-2009 at 07:32 PM.
macnkitty2002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 04:42 PM
  #10287  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

sometimes you finish your painting and are just very unsatisfied.
i could have done so much more.


macscac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 07:25 PM
  #10288  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

my naked chassis looks wistfully at the newly arrived goodies that showed up at my doorstep today


macscac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:48 PM
  #10289  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 280
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

so where do i put the receiver?
seems to be tight on space w/ the 3racing chassis

is there a receiver small enough to fit in that gap between servo and motor?
or do i park it on top of the servo?

macscac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 09:07 PM
  #10290  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northampton, MA
Posts: 273
Default

Originally Posted by macscac View Post
so where do i put the receiver?
seems to be tight on space w/ the 3racing chassis

is there a receiver small enough to fit in that gap between servo and motor?
or do i park it on top of the servo?

Mount it on top of the servo, otherwise the receiver will be too close to the motor and will cause interference. The general rule of thumb is to keep a receiver about 2 inches away from a drive motor or glow engine.
dragnse7en is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service