R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-11-2008, 04:07 PM   #9901
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

anyone having the static problem effecting their esc??especially the ezrun esc?
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 06:50 PM   #9902
mok
Tech Master
 
mok's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mok Send a message via Skype™ to mok
Default

That is a known problem with the stock tub chassis.

I believe Tamiya did at one point put out a bulletin that acknowledged this and recommended upgrading to the carbon reinforced lightweight chassis.
There was also a wiring solution, which pretty much earthed parts of the chassis to itself directing static away from electronics in the process.

Here's a link to Tamiya's TA05-R site which has their statement on it.
http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=49418

-Mark
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 07:29 PM   #9903
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Just curious what radio gear you guys are having problems with? 27MHz? 75?
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 08:01 PM   #9904
Tech Master
 
f1larry's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 1,785
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to f1larry
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guinnes.s View Post
anyone having the static problem effecting their esc??especially the ezrun esc?
What issues have you had with your ESC. My son's TA05 has had issues where the car just shuts down and not from a thermal shut down. I am now wondering if the static issue is what has been causing it.
__________________
Windy City RC Raceway & Hobbies, Arlington Heights, IL
Exotek F1R3|X-Ray T4 16|CRC WC-Xti|TT02|TA05|TL01|
f1larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 03:56 AM   #9905
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

yap it just stops ,10 seconds ,then it goes again,and sometime the esc reset himself,plus the driving become very poor,late erratic respond time in steering and throttle,the punch speed comes and go,i am using spektrum dx3.
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 06:13 AM   #9906
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by guinnes.s View Post
yap it just stops ,10 seconds ,then it goes again,and sometime the esc reset himself,plus the driving become very poor,late erratic respond time in steering and throttle,the punch speed comes and go,i am using spektrum dx3.
Which receiver?
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 07:07 AM   #9907
mok
Tech Master
 
mok's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to mok Send a message via Skype™ to mok
Default

i am guessing the spektrum sr3000 receiver that probably came with the dx3 he is using?

i have had glitchy throttle the first time i turn the car on as i head to the track to race, turn it off and on again to let it rebind and its ok..
no idea what that is, it doesnt happen very often but enough to notice
i think it might be similar thing to what guinnes.s describes?

edit: and i should say that this is in a TA05MS.. didnt happen in my TA05, but I did get lots of static zaps as I picked the car up after the race was over until I switched to the carbon reinforced tub (and everything else lol)
mok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 08:34 AM   #9908
Tech Regular
 
guinnes.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 341
Default

yes the sr3000!!!!i been suggested to add some isolation material under then speedo and rx.
next race will be on friday,i will report if problem went away.
what material u suggest?rubber?
guinnes.s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 04:23 PM   #9909
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Anybody using an Acer bearing kit? Opinions good or bad?

According to T*wer, it comes with with four 5x9 and eight 5x8. Shouldn't it be the other way around? (four 5x8 and eight 5x9 for the hubs)
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 04:47 PM   #9910
Tech Fanatic
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I'm about to drop in to me TA05 a ezrun 60A 5.5T brushless sytem, just for carpark bashing.....what would be a good starting point for the FDR for this?
__________________
Speed Passion F1.
Hobbywing ESC and Motor, SMC Batteries
Meakin Park Club Member
Team ARGO RC - Like us on Facebook
aussierevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 04:51 PM   #9911
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Just got an email reply from Acer to answer my own question, very quickly I might add:

Thank you for your inquiry. Tower's description is incorrect, we will let them know to correct that. THe TA-05 with reversible suspension comes with 8 5x9, 8 5x8, 2 4x8 and 4 10x15 mm bearings. If you like you can place the order through our site at:
http://www.acerracing.com/products/T...Kit-720-0.html


It is part CT009. We have free shipping too and it is in stock, or you can order through Tower as well. They have the right kit, just the wrong description. Either way, we back the kit up with our customer service so rest assured you will get the correct bearings.
Thanks!
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 07:10 PM   #9912
Tech Fanatic
 
aussierevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane Qld
Posts: 904
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
I'm about to drop in to me TA05 a ezrun 60A 5.5T brushless sytem, just for carpark bashing.....what would be a good starting point for the FDR for this?
no thoughts....any information would be appreciated.
__________________
Speed Passion F1.
Hobbywing ESC and Motor, SMC Batteries
Meakin Park Club Member
Team ARGO RC - Like us on Facebook
aussierevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 08:13 PM   #9913
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 538
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mok View Post
the spool and one-way use the same pulley.. the wide pitch one way pulley will most certainly fit the spool (have one in my hand right now).

-Mark
Thanks Mark. So do the wide pitch really matter? I've always had wide pitch on the diff, so I don't know.

Another thing, I had my belt tensioners at the stock position. I realised that my front belt is a lot looser than the rear one. I re-tensioned the front (about 1 or 2 notches) to about the same tension as the rear. Is it normal for the front to loosen up faster/more than the rear?
stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 02:40 AM   #9914
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stocker View Post
Thanks Mark. So do the wide pitch really matter? I've always had wide pitch on the diff, so I don't know.

Another thing, I had my belt tensioners at the stock position. I realised that my front belt is a lot looser than the rear one. I re-tensioned the front (about 1 or 2 notches) to about the same tension as the rear. Is it normal for the front to loosen up faster/more than the rear?
mine came like that, and would jump under heavy braking. well, as heavy as I CAN brake with my ESC...
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 05:36 AM   #9915
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

My front belt is looser than the rear, but doesnt make any difference to mine that ive seen.

Think of it this way, the front wheels are pulling the cars power first, so I suspect thats why the front belt stretches more than the rear
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:14 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net