Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan >

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Like Tree25Likes

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Old 10-01-2008, 08:20 PM
  #9706  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,640
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Parts for TA05

RC Guru,
This is my big secret website. So don't tell anybody!
www.ampdraw.com
They should have most of what your looking for. They are located in San Diego so you should get your parts in a couple of days!
maxepower is offline  
Old 10-01-2008, 09:42 PM
  #9707  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (117)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,542
Trader Rating: 117 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by maxepower View Post
RC Guru,
This is my big secret website. So don't tell anybody!
www.ampdraw.com
They should have most of what your looking for. They are located in San Diego so you should get your parts in a couple of days!
i found out about them a few days ago, and i have one problem with them, they dont take paypal! i got all my cash in paypal, and well, dont have a credit card (no checking account either...) so all i have is a savings (im 17, cut me some slack..lol). i emailed them to see whats up, and we'll see what they say....ya think the majority of online stores nowadays would accept paypal i mean, it is much safer than entering a credit card number manually at some store, ya never know who might be peeking @ your computer!!!!

im actually waiting on jeff of speedtechrc to get in some ta05 parts! i've been waiting for a long time for him to get in the parts because everytime i get an opportunity to order from jeff, people always snatch it up before i do! dang tcs. LOL.
Valentin.H is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 05:25 AM
  #9708  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
TwoTone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,002
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC Guru View Post
i found out about them a few days ago, and i have one problem with them, they dont take paypal! i got all my cash in paypal, and well, dont have a credit card (no checking account either...) so all i have is a savings (im 17, cut me some slack..lol). i emailed them to see whats up, and we'll see what they say....ya think the majority of online stores nowadays would accept paypal i mean, it is much safer than entering a credit card number manually at some store, ya never know who might be peeking @ your computer!!!!

im actually waiting on jeff of speedtechrc to get in some ta05 parts! i've been waiting for a long time for him to get in the parts because everytime i get an opportunity to order from jeff, people always snatch it up before i do! dang tcs. LOL.

Do you need the parts in a hurry? Some of the EBAY stores out of Japan have great pricing on the stuff and take PayPal
TwoTone is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 05:36 AM
  #9709  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Check out this ta05 wallpaper k_spec made me

Drifting101 is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:18 AM
  #9710  
DJ
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 47
Default

hi again, Whats the part # of spool for tamiya TA05R? and whats the "direct coupling" use for?
Im using Front 1way and want to try spool, But cant find the part number.
thanks
DJ is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:23 AM
  #9711  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 200
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

direct coupling is the spool
DirtyRacer is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:28 AM
  #9712  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

wont the regular '05 spool fit the R?

part number etc here: http://www.fusionhobbies.com/Tamiya-...-p/ta53877.htm
tc3team is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:33 AM
  #9713  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 200
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yep that's the one. It'll drop right in.
DirtyRacer is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:53 AM
  #9714  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

You'll get some shims too, they'll help get rid of any excess side movement where the outdrives go into the bearings.
tc3team is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 08:06 AM
  #9715  
DJ
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 47
Default

Originally Posted by DJ View Post
hi again, Whats the part # of spool for tamiya TA05R? and whats the "direct coupling" use for?
Im using Front 1way and want to try spool, But cant find the part number.
thanks
Originally Posted by tc3team View Post
You'll get some shims too, they'll help get rid of any excess side movement where the outdrives go into the bearings.
Thanks for the info.

Follow up question.
Im using 10.5t brushless motor is it advisable to chang my 1way to spool?
What will be the advantages and disadvatages for both?
DJ is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 08:50 AM
  #9716  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

in short, the spool is the most preferred option for a lot of racers. you loose some braking with a one way and you have to take a different line in general and sometimes you have to scrub some speed off as an extra brake.

hard to explain, but personally, i prefer the spool to the one way, one way is good for a fast flowing track, the spool is probably better on the twistier tracks.

it is just one opinion though... and opinions are like as*holes, everyone has one
tc3team is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:16 AM
  #9717  
Tech Rookie
 
JoeofLoath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Default

is there anywhere to get a separate belt tensioner? my front belt has about 3/4 of an inch vertical play on it. I could take the diffs out and change the tension there, but I don't want to.
JoeofLoath is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:26 AM
  #9718  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
reenmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,539
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JoeofLoath View Post
is there anywhere to get a separate belt tensioner? my front belt has about 3/4 of an inch vertical play on it. I could take the diffs out and change the tension there, but I don't want to.
Why not? It takes about 3 minutes to do and works perfectly.
reenmachine is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:36 AM
  #9719  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JoeofLoath View Post
... could take the diffs out and change the tension there, but I don't want to.
94eg! is offline  
Old 10-02-2008, 10:37 AM
  #9720  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JoeofLoath View Post
is there anywhere to get a separate belt tensioner? my front belt has about 3/4 of an inch vertical play on it. I could take the diffs out and change the tension there, but I don't want to.
You could try fitting one from some other car like an Xray or Corally but why bother, just use the tension adjustment built into the bearing holders to adjust the belt tension. It takes only minutes to do.
AreCee is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.