R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-09-2008, 09:33 AM   #9301
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

all belts must be broken in, and may appear too loose afterwards if still set at the factory tension. after breaking them in, readjust the tension.
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 10:45 AM   #9302
Tech Regular
 
majicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 374
Default

This is good advise and general info, however how do I as a first time belt drive user determine when the belts are "broken in"? Is there a fomula or general rule of thumb that says after X minutes of use a belt is considered broken in?

Thanks for your help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
all belts must be broken in, and may appear too loose afterwards if still set at the factory tension. after breaking them in, readjust the tension.
__________________
Majicman
SDRC RACEWAY - http://www.sdrcraceway.com/
majicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 12:46 PM   #9303
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I'd say after 5-7 packs your belts should be broken in. Once you think they are broken in, test the tension. Try to have the belts as loose as possible without allowing them to skip teeth on the pulleys. You should be able to press down on them and they spring back up.
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 12:54 PM   #9304
Tech Regular
 
majicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 374
Default

So that's 25-35 minutes of running @ 5 minutes a pack. Since track time is not generally availabe outside of race day, would I achieve the samething If I attached a dremel to the axle and ran it at around 2-3k rpm for the same time?
__________________
Majicman
SDRC RACEWAY - http://www.sdrcraceway.com/
majicman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 02:29 PM   #9305
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Heck, I just put mine on the track and let them break in on the fly. Check them when you recharge your pack and adjust accordingly if necessary. You better off with a loose belt than a tight one.

You should check them often for fraying anyway.
AreCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 03:01 PM   #9306
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

free [email protected]^&job for anyone who can accurately measure the distance "x" labled on the attached photo.

look, this offer won't be around forever.
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-ta05-x.jpg  
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 03:13 PM   #9307
Tech Addict
 
justin lessard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to justin lessard
Default

justin lessard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 10:16 PM   #9308
Tech Elite
 
Turbonium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Turbonium
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaball View Post
free [email protected]^&job for anyone who can accurately measure the distance "x" labled on the attached photo.

look, this offer won't be around forever.
sorry... trade secret!

my TA05 diffs measure 17.00 mm from shoulder to shoulder, where the bearing sits. is that the dimension you are looking for?

getting more exact, looks more like 16.95mm....
__________________
Wes

Team Novak

Last edited by Turbonium; 06-09-2008 at 10:21 PM. Reason: more accurate measure.
Turbonium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 10:38 PM   #9309
Tech Elite
 
Wicked-Wayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Do you feel you're a star?
Posts: 2,033
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Wicked-Wayz Send a message via AIM to Wicked-Wayz Send a message via MSN to Wicked-Wayz Send a message via Yahoo to Wicked-Wayz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaball View Post
look, this offer won't be around forever.
Stop lying to everyone. That is the only offer you ever do.

Peace Aaron(W-W)
__________________
Schacht Design Works Trackside Hobbies Dirtheaven CRC Hobbies MidWest Tri-Clone RC Scoring Pro LiveRc.com 92 Zero Designs
Wicked-Wayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 02:57 AM   #9310
Tech Adept
 
myan_gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, AUS
Posts: 121
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaball View Post
free [email protected]^&job for anyone who can accurately measure the distance "x" labled on the attached photo.

look, this offer won't be around forever.


Haha, thats my beast

I'd knew i recognised that dirty belt

19.1mm (between the bulkhead) is the measurement as described on ya diagram...
__________________
---Tamiya 416X---Tamiya TRF416WE---Tamiya TA05R---Tamiya F104 Pro ---Tamiya F103R 15th Anniversary ---Tamiya F103---Tamiya F103GT---Tamiya TL01---

www.brccc.org
myan racing (coming soon)

Last edited by myan_gsr; 06-10-2008 at 02:58 AM. Reason: More info
myan_gsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 08:07 AM   #9311
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myan_gsr View Post
Haha, thats my beast

I'd knew i recognised that dirty belt

19.1mm (between the bulkhead) is the measurement as described on ya diagram...
cool. thanks to you and turbonium for the dimensions. does that mean there is about 2mm of axial play in the diff (before using shims)? regardless, the 17mm is technically what i'm after.

thanks to both of you.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:06 AM   #9312
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Yes, ive noticed some sideways movement in the front gearbox, it doesnt matter if you use a diff or the tamiya spool, unless you use shims it is there.

I have raced for a year with and without shims, you can get a very fine white coating on the gearbox housing if you're unlucky so it does pay to use 1 or 2 shims on each output.

I believe from memory these come with the Tamiya alloy blue spool if you buy one.... I'm almost certain that the 415 outdrive shims will fit too as they are a similiar, if not identical diameter....

hth
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....

Last edited by tc3team; 06-10-2008 at 09:21 AM.
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:12 AM   #9313
Tech Fanatic
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

There is no way it's 1 to 2 whole millimeters of play. The included shims are only .1mm thick each, and they only give you 4 (with the TA05R). On my own car I was only running two as four made it overly snug for my tastes.

This was with the carbon bulkheads, so maybe the alloy ones are different, but I really doubt it. At most I would believe .5mm.
94eg! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:20 AM   #9314
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

brainfart, yes i admit ive not measured it but you can definately feel some moment there. it did get shimmed out with the shims that came out with the spool though
__________________
Fusion Hobbies / www.horshamrc.org

The wife stops me being sane and the r/c stops me from going insane....
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 09:26 AM   #9315
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

yeah, i imagine most of that 2mm is taken up by the flanges on the eccentrics. none the less, has there been any problem breaking diff screws? i think they are 2mm, no?
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net