Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan >

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Like Tree25Likes

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Old 02-09-2008, 10:17 AM
  #8881  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
-KilleR-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 521
Trader Rating: 15 (94%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Drifting101 View Post
of what flex or just the chassis? and any angles in particular
Just the chassis of any angle you like.
-KilleR- is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 12:55 PM
  #8882  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

here go sorry for the bad qulity it was with my phone
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-dsc00402.jpg   Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-dsc00404.jpg   Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-dsc00406.jpg   Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-dsc00408.jpg  
Drifting101 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 07:19 PM
  #8883  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
-KilleR-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 521
Trader Rating: 15 (94%+)
Default

Nice. Thanks. It seems ver. 2 is much better than my ver. 1.
-KilleR- is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:34 PM
  #8884  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Can you tell us why the top-deck is stepped like that? I don't understand it since the rear bulk-head and front bulk-head should connect to the upper deck at the same level.

The Penguin upper deck goes straight across in one piece from front bulkhead, to motor mount, to rear bulkhead.
94eg! is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:44 PM
  #8885  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

well there are two top deck for some stupid reason (the reason that 3racing gives is to help minimise flex) and the bulk heads are the same size but in the front there is a spacer
Drifting101 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:45 AM
  #8886  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

the front topdeck is raised to clear the steering linkage.

The layshaft needs loads of shimming too....

The chassis handles better and is lighter too, I got one and it is fab.

Anyone want a converted TA05 with the V1 chassis conversion, LW suspension, CVD's all round, carbon fibre towers and TRF shocks?
DA_cookie_monst is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 02:14 AM
  #8887  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

me, but only few another 2 days
Drifting101 is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 10:50 PM
  #8888  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

How do you guys set ride-height and droop with the stock tub chassis? The edges are rounded making readings tough, and the front seems pretty badly tweaked making left & right droop terribly uneven...
94eg! is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 08:31 AM
  #8889  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
speedzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hi guys.

for those having the 3racing chassis V2.

is ur center shaft coming in contact with the battery ?

my center shaft seem be "rubbing" my cells slightly.

my batteries are side by side.

Thanks.

Last edited by speedzer; 02-11-2008 at 08:43 AM.
speedzer is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 08:36 AM
  #8890  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
speedzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

aniway. the v2 3racing chassis is great.. it may have two layer for the upper deck.. but tt does not seem to be at any disadvantage to me..

the onli problem is tt, it does not come witht he battery strap lyk the v1 dd.. and also it does not come with pre-drilled hole for the battery strap too.. haha.. but its fine.. not a big problem..



Lastly.. thx to you guys who replied and comment to my steering enquiry ! appreciated...
speedzer is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 10:35 AM
  #8891  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,640
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Smile

Originally Posted by 94eg! View Post
How do you guys set ride-height and droop with the stock tub chassis? The edges are rounded making readings tough, and the front seems pretty badly tweaked making left & right droop terribly uneven...
Is it the reinforced chassis? I had the same problem with mine. I put it in the oven at 350F. for about 30 min. of coarse lay it on a flat surface with it compleately disassembled in the oven and maybe put some weight on top to keep it flat. Let it cool down slowly still laying it on something flat and the tweek will be gone. As for setting droop and ride height, I check ride height just under the droop screws in 4 places and be consistant by always checking the same spots. Droop, I set by removing the tires and measuring the distance from the top of the wheel axle to the bottom of the set-up board. Doing it this way for me is working very nicely!
Just my 2$
maxepower is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:30 PM
  #8892  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

i heard that but i thought it was a mistake but that is what a dremel is for

oh i well see if the is any other way when i fit it and update you then
Drifting101 is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 10:58 PM
  #8893  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Drifting101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 2,199
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone else had the same problem of the shaft rubbing on the batteries?

Yay 100 posts
Drifting101 is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 05:28 AM
  #8894  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Northern & Central Illinois
Posts: 4,337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Drifting101 View Post
Has anyone else had the same problem of the shaft rubbing on the batteries?

Yay 100 posts
Shaft? What shaft is even near the battery other than the center one?
AreCee is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 03:57 PM
  #8895  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,936
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Ya, and even the center shaft does not protrude out more than the center motor mount bulkhead.
macnkitty2002 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.