Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan >

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Like Tree25Likes

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Old 11-18-2007, 02:17 PM
  #8581  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,936
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I am having problem with heat issue with my TA05R.
I was running a medium size carpet with 105t spur and 31t pinion, after 5 min race, motor gets bloody hot. Then I down size to a 28t pinion, still running very hot. Didnt measure the temp, but the motor + heatsink is hot enough that you cannot hold on to it for about 3-4 second.
My setup is GT7 esc, Epic 27t, EP4200.
make sure your pinion/spur gear mesh is not too tight. also make sure your belts are not too tight either. try to run them as loose as possible without experiencing belt skipping. i am able to push my belts down a good 1cm before they tighten up.

Try running a small receiver like the spektrum micro, small speedo and keep the wires real short and neat.

Have you tried aluminum and or titianium screws ?
i am already running a spektrum micro, and i have an XBR on the way to replace my IPC (ancient). i will try to make my wires shorter, especially my battery wires.

and i cannot find anywhere that stocks aluminum or Titanium hex screws for the 05 here in the states.
macnkitty2002 is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 02:40 PM
  #8582  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (105)
 
Core Creations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,991
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

I have all aluminum and titanium screws throughout and it shaved over 30 grams...that being said. I actually had no problems with my car being heavier than most at my local club. It handled better than 90% of them did.

Are you running rubber? I actually really like the stock 05 suspension over the lightweight suspension. Much more consistent and much tougher.
Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
how can i shave some weight off my 05R? i have gotten the LW molded chassis, and some CF parts here and there, but my car is still a good 60g overweight at my track. this gives me a big disadvantage to the guys who run T2s and TC4/5s who are able to make weight using lead weights. are there some low-stress areas on the car that can be dremeled away? i have seen in a magazine where they dremeled away some of the rear chassis braces. they removed one of the two "ribs" that span from the center to the outside of the chassis. what are some other ways i can reduce my weight?
Core Creations is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 02:44 PM
  #8583  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

funnily, the two fastest guys at my club are me with a TA05 and a guy with a xxxs, the extra weight does help in most places, and I do prefer the stock suspension.
DA_cookie_monst is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:43 AM
  #8584  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rtherbe View Post
Turbo Joe, I think I got it TWEAK doh.. Since the shocks were built by the first owner the shafts lengths were mismatched. I havent run her yet-Rain-but the right rear was lifting off 1/4" before the left. Makes sense Thanks for your input.
That'll do it...but don't you oval guys call that "stagger"?

Glad you got it sorted out!

I just went through a car my friend traded for. New car (two packs old), the ID is being withheld to protect the guy who assembled it -- but you would think he knew better...LOL...being in the business and all.

C-hubs were reversed (4* positive caster???) and he had it shimmed to add (some) negative caster (probably to make it less squirrelly??? ) and the rear shocks were mounted to the swaybar ballstuds.

So...positive caster and vertical rear shocks. You could have had worse, huh?
Turbo Joe is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 01:52 AM
  #8585  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
how can i shave some weight off my 05R? i have gotten the LW molded chassis, and some CF parts here and there, but my car is still a good 60g overweight at my track. this gives me a big disadvantage to the guys who run T2s and TC4/5s who are able to make weight using lead weights. are there some low-stress areas on the car that can be dremeled away? i have seen in a magazine where they dremeled away some of the rear chassis braces. they removed one of the two "ribs" that span from the center to the outside of the chassis. what are some other ways i can reduce my weight?
Does the TA05R come with lightweight hingepins? That could save a few g. My TA05 weighs in at about 1580g with IB4200, I really need to get the weight down but despite that I still managed 6th from 20 in stock, including breaking the stock plastic toe blocks...

I still put a very respectable qualifying time with GP3700s, and the car weighed in @ about 1530g with those strapped in. Lap consistancy is always your friend to a quick time I still need to work on the setup too, it was good, but there was something I couldnt quite put my finger on that didnt give it that 110% dialled in edge.
tc3team is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 02:18 AM
  #8586  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

best way to save weight is to swap out the steel screws for titanium, that will save a bit of weight. Outdoors the LW suspension saves a lot of weight to but indoors stick with the stock stuff.
DA_cookie_monst is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 07:00 AM
  #8587  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,936
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

where can i get a Titanium or aluminum hex screw set?
macnkitty2002 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 07:06 AM
  #8588  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

I would go for Titanium, and I think rc-mart sells a screw set- pretty cheap too
tc3team is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 07:29 AM
  #8589  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (105)
 
Core Creations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,991
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

RcChamp seels both all aluminum and aluminum/titanium sets. I have the mixed set...awesome quality.

http://sv09.wadax.ne.jp/~rc-champ-jp...14d0e817435cf7

Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
where can i get a Titanium or aluminum hex screw set?

Last edited by Core Creations; 11-19-2007 at 07:48 AM.
Core Creations is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 09:57 AM
  #8590  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,936
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

does anybody know if the Orion Platinum Lipo fits in the 05R chassis without modifications?
macnkitty2002 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:14 AM
  #8591  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
does anybody know if the Orion Platinum Lipo fits in the 05R chassis without modifications?
Nope.

The chassis has bumps that won't let it sit flat. You can install it for sure, but it sits unevenly.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 10:53 AM
  #8592  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,936
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Nope.

The chassis has bumps that won't let it sit flat. You can install it for sure, but it sits unevenly.
Will the uneven seating of the battery affect anything?
macnkitty2002 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 11:09 AM
  #8593  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
Will the uneven seating of the battery affect anything?
Looks goofy...

You could shave the bumps down. I don't think it would really cause any issues with standard batteries.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 11:28 AM
  #8594  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (105)
 
Core Creations's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,991
Trader Rating: 105 (100%+)
Default

With the battery scallops removed from the chassis (takes 5 minutes with a dremel) the 4800 fits perfect. Thats what I've run for 2 years.
Core Creations is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 02:13 PM
  #8595  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,936
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

With the battery scallops removed from the chassis (takes 5 minutes with a dremel) the 4800 fits perfect. Thats what I've run for 2 years.
will the battery strap still work with it, or will I need to put some sort of spacer between the strap and the battery?
macnkitty2002 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.